We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“experience in Kaha Lani” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Castle Kaha Lani

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Castle Kaha Lani to your Saves list
Castle Kaha Lani
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   4460 Nehe Road, Lihue, Kauai, HI 96766 (Formerly Aston Kaha Lani)   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Hsinchu, T'ai-wan, Taiwan
1 review
“experience in Kaha Lani”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

We (a group of four) really enjoyed our stay at Kaha Lani. Our ocean-front condo (with two bedrooms and two bathrooms) was super beautiful and wonderful. The kitchen facility is something really surprised me. It has a big fridge, stoves and oven, toasters, plates, cups, cooking pots, etc. Basically, it is as comfortable as a typical American home.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    96
    19
    9
    15
See reviews for
96
119
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu, Hawaii, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

We didn't know anything about the property when we booked the reservation, so it was a surprise to learn that it was more of an extended stay place, with a full kitchen, etc. But if that's what you're going for, it's nearly perfect. The walls are a little thin though. It seemed like a friendly, worn-in, family-type place. It's not a high-end luxury suite. Otherwise it was a nice peaceful retreat & we could see ourselves staying for many more days than the 3 nights we passed in Jan. 2013.

Room Tip: I'm sure the quieter units are on the end.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bc
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

First of all be aware that there are owners and renters; and some units in these economic times have not been kept up. Our first unit was TIRED(kitchen utensils so-so, carpets very sad, some rot in bathroom) , and was recently sold. Others like the one we moved to, are nicely maintained and the kitchen and contents up to snuff. Even our new unit was not properly cleaned - bottle under the bed, toilet unclean, and bathtub stopper was moldy.

Noise is a potential issue... Some renters are just downright inconsiderate - a group of 5 or 6 youths were at it late, then started up before 8:00 am on our second night. Other renters have voices that carry from balcony to other units ... who wants to shut windows to shut out noise in this climate!; and we could distinctly hear conversations, fthumping ootsteps, etc from the folks above us. So if you want quiet, think twice.

Warm pool, easy parking, security until midnight weekdays. It's a great location for touring the island and most, but not all, staff are helpful. Having seen other condo outfits on Kauai this is pretty good if you don't mind the odd LOUD party in Lydgate Park or inconsiderate condo dwellers. Just be aware of noise issues and that not all units are equally maintained. INSIST on an up-to-date unit on the top floor when you book and be sure you get it!

Room Tip: Top floor in buildings 5 or 6 or not at all!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOUNTAIN
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

The best part of our vacation (January 2013) was our stay at Kaha Lani. The ocean-front condo was super; the whole property and staff are wonderful!! We especially enjoyed walking on the very long beach. Swimming is not recommended as the surf was pretty high but the state park beach is nice and close. Wish there had been some snorkeling equipment in the condo but there are rental places close by. Thanks to Diane and staff for getting us ocean-front (#130). We'll be back.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

We stayed here in January. It was last minute because we moved from a place where we were greeted with construction. We drove out to Kaha Lani to see if they had a condo available and immediately had one of the best customer service experiences ever. April in the office helped us by giving us one of the two condos available for a reasonable price. Our condo was clean. We had a view of the pool and ocean from our ground floor lanai. 102. The condo needs a small amount of maintenance but nothing critical. Anything that could be fixed was fixed immediately. The staff were polite and pleasant...again very good at service. The grounds and pool area are fantastic. There is a walking path for exercise and beach you can walk on. What made this special was the customer service experience. Will definitely stay here again. I have found a favorite new place to stay on Kauai. Thank you April!

Room Tip: Loved being by the pool in bottom floor condo. No a/c but ceiling fans. Well stocked with cooking s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013 via mobile

We spent a week at the Kaha Lani in early January. The location was great for us,quiet and non touristy. We had a two bedroom condo, waterfront (225) and it was spacious and well equipped for our family of 4. Grounds are beautiful, small pool. You do need a car as there is nothing in walking distance. The water is rough out front -we also had a winter storm -but having Lydgate Park close with its sheltered pools meant kids could swim no matter what the waves were like. Would recommend for families, but if you are liking for tourist buzz and nightlife (not that there is much on Kauai), this is not the place for you.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

We recently stayed at Kaha Lani in Lihue. The resort has beautiful grounds right on the beach with most condos having beach views. There is a nice pool and a large lawn as well, fronting a walking track to beaches (Lydgate Park) and childrens playground.
We stayed in #324 which had exceptional views (and sounds!) of the ocean, and was tastefully furnished.
The resort was in a quiet area but well located for exploring the island. As it was our first time, the location suited us - wanting to explore the different parts of the island.
Also, as a family, we like the ability to cook meals, and typically stay in condos rather than hotels.
Would recommend for families and first timers to the island. It wont be suitable for those who want lots of restaurant options in walking distance, or high end shops/ golf resorts.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Castle Kaha Lani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Kaha Lani

Address: 4460 Nehe Road, Lihue, Kauai, HI 96766 (Formerly Aston Kaha Lani)
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Lihue
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Lihue
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Castle Kaha Lani 3*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kaha Lani Resort features oceanfront condominiums adjacent to Lydgate Beach Park and playground, with a walking path along the coast. Centrally located, the resort offers a variety of one-, two-, and three-bedroom suites, all oceanview or oceanfront. Amenities include a pool, tennis court, barbecues, and a putting green. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Castle Kaha Lani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Kaha Lani Hotel Lihue
Kaha Lani
Castle Kaha Lani Kauai, HI

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Castle Kaha Lani, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.