We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst Stay Ever!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Castle Kaha Lani

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Castle Kaha Lani to your Saves list
Castle Kaha Lani
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   4460 Nehe Road, Lihue, Kauai, HI 96766 (Formerly Aston Kaha Lani)   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Honolulu, Hawaii
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Worst Stay Ever!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

This was by far the worst place I have ever stayed at. I paid for a one bedroom. It had 1.5 bathrooms, a kitchen, dining and living area, with a pull out couch and balcony. But all those frills did not make up for the room having lizard droppings all on the windows, dusty and dingy furniture, and curtains that could not close because it was rusty and old. In the bathroom, I had to shower with my bathing suit on because the window in the shower was broken and could not be closed. The room was so dirty, I couldn't relax at all.

I chose the Castle Kaha Lani Resort because the reviews sounded like it would be a great place to stay, but I was very disappointed. The management really should not be renting rooms out to guest at this standard. Management should be walking through each room making sure that rooms that are rented to guests are at least clean. If this is the quality Castle Resorts hold their standard to, I can confidently say I will never stay at a Castle Resort property.

Don't be fooled by the Excellent Reviews.
PS- Front desk agent and Security provided great service, too bad I can't say the same for the room.

Room Tip: Do yourself a favor and find somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    96
    19
    9
    15
See reviews for
96
119
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Southern Oregon
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

We stayed at the Kaha Lani for our honeymoon and found it to be a great choice. Our condo was spacious with a kitchen, 1-1/2 baths and balcony overlooking the pool and ocean. Wonderful trade winds constantly blow through the rooms with the windows open, so there was no need for air conditioning. Wireless internet was available, the staff was friendly and parking was right outside our room. The property was nicely landscaped with plumeria trees--each morning we'd find lovely plumeria flowers had dropped onto the sidewalks and our jeep. It was located close to shopping and restaurants and just a short drive to Kapaa town. All in all, the Kaha Lani felt like a home away from home.

Room Tip: Our room was located near the maintenance room and tennis court--the position allowed for wonderful...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

The condo was in total disrepair and extremely loud. The place looks like it has not been updated since the 80's. I have traveled all over the world and based on the money it is the worst place I have ever stayed!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodinville, Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

We have stayed at the Kaha Lani 8 times and have booked for next year. Even though we stay at our timeshare or with friends on the island it's where we always finish the last few days of our vacations. Love the location, the grounds and the beach. Staff is always friendly and our son needed a room at the last minute for his family and they gave him a great rate in a beautiful unit.
It is an older property but, we have always been happy and any problems have been taken care of quickly. LOVE IT!

Room Tip: call ahead
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012 via mobile

We chose to stay here on our two week honeymoon and found the lady's in the office to be very nice. Our room was very nice and clean the ocean kept a peaceful and cool breeze at night. The grounds were very clean and well kept. Very good location, right down the street from a ton of shopping centers, grocery stores, and restaurants. We will without a doubt stay here again!

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

I booked 5 condos for my group in May 2011. I called the hotel and cancelled 2 rooms. When we arrived they had cancel all of our rooms. If we had arrived 5 minutes we would have been in the lurch with no rooms and no reason as the office closes at 6pm. I had to argue with the manager to get our rooms and our lower rates.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Kaha Lani for one week in May, 2012. Our view was beautiful, the room was clean and we enjoyed the location. We had an ocean view on the third floor and couldn't have been happier! This hotel is within walking distance to beautiful beaches. Aside from the hotel room needing some updates we have no complaints. We will definitely return to Kaha Lani and we hope it is soon!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Castle Kaha Lani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Kaha Lani

Address: 4460 Nehe Road, Lihue, Kauai, HI 96766 (Formerly Aston Kaha Lani)
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Lihue
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Lihue
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Castle Kaha Lani 3*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kaha Lani Resort features oceanfront condominiums adjacent to Lydgate Beach Park and playground, with a walking path along the coast. Centrally located, the resort offers a variety of one-, two-, and three-bedroom suites, all oceanview or oceanfront. Amenities include a pool, tennis court, barbecues, and a putting green. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Castle Kaha Lani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Kaha Lani Hotel Lihue
Kaha Lani
Castle Kaha Lani Kauai, HI

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Castle Kaha Lani, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.