We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the island, loved the condo!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kauai Beach Villas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Kauai Beach Villas to your Saves list
Kauai Beach Villas
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   4330 Kauai Beach Drive, Lihue, Kauai, HI 96766   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Lihue
GreenLeadersBronze level
Edmonton
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Loved the island, loved the condo!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

We stayed in a 2 bedroom on the second floor with one other couple. Our room was in a great location overlooking the small pool, which we used almost every day. The pool at the hotel next door (which we had the use of) was gorgeous, with a waterfall and grotto, and pool service. We enjoyed our small pool and hot tub, and brought our own beer and snacks.
The previous post by Hopsing-NH pretty much says it all as far as the condo itself.
We went to the morning meeting (activity explanations) and ended up booking the Napali Coast Catamaran snorkel trip, the Tubing down the old sugar plantation Irrigation Canal with Back Country Adventures, and the Kayak, hike, and Secret Waterfall trip, and thoroughly enjoyed them all.

Room Tip: We liked our location on the second floor in C11. It overlooked the small pool, and we could see th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    142
    52
    21
    7
See reviews for
94
150
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Gorham, New Hampshire
Top Contributor
185 reviews 185 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Was of course like most folks, bummed that our unit wasn't oceanfront. We could see the ocean from our living room and the lanai, and it was cool to see the sunrise from there. We were on the 2nd floor in a 2 bedroom unit. It had everything we needed, including salt/pepper shakers, dish detergent/dish washer soap, coffee filters and 2 packs of laundry detergent. The place is a bit dated but very clean. I was happy to see that each bedroom had a TV as well as one in the living room. A/C's only in the bedrooms, ceiling fans and we used a stand up fan found in a bedroom closet to move air from one bedroom into the living room. One great feature we found was a small cooler in the closet. We used the ice maker in the fridge and had cold drinks everywhere we went. The beach was good to sit at and we didn't use the on site pool or spa. We did walk over to the adjacent property and their pool was pretty neat. We actually enjoyed the chickens, mynahs and doves. We had 2 chickens on our lanai every day...peeking in the windows. We found the noisy guests to be more annoying...loud with screaming children. I wish people would realize that other guests are trying to enjoy the peace and quiet of this property!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Oregon, USA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Get View Condo-amazing beach sunsets & walk to beach from your lanai. Close to Costco/Walmart. BBQ area, walk to beach, foot rinse at door. Fully equipped Kitchen, coolers for day trips. Concierge Yoshi is fun and very helpful in planning activities for the week. Construction during our visit will only make it better for our next visit :)

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Carrying our luggage up one flight was not a problem. My wife was still down by the rented car. My first words to her were, after I brought the suitcases inside, “You’re gonna LIKE this!!!” This certainly was even much nicer than our home resort. Very spacious and with well appointed décor, this apartment far exceeded our expectations. The place was big enough for maybe 6 to 8 people although a 6 person occupancy is probably more likely. Kauai Beach Villas is a good central location for doing day trips to visit this lovely island of Kauai. Having rented a car via KBV, we ventured north as far as we could on the east coast. The next day we did the trip on the west coast. Being an early riser I went to the beach, only a few hundred feet from our quarters, for some of the most beautiful sunrises ever. Small tidal pools provided safe walking in the water, but I wasn’t too sure I wanted to actually go into the ocean there. Evening dining was pleasurable at the adjoining Kauai Beach Resorts restaurant. Closely located to Kauai Beach Villas is the Lihue airport, with Kauai By Air. Flying in an Ultralight motorized hang glider is an exceptional experience, but that is another Trip Advisor review. Ellen and I are hoping for another visit to Kauai Beach Villas, perhaps in 2014 or 2015. Tom V E, NYC, NY

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Despite variable reviews, we really enjoyed our stay at the Kauai Beach Villas. The location right on the beach a short drive from the airport was excellent. While not a swimming beach it was rugged and great for walking. The expansive pool complex at the hotel that shares the property was available to timeshare guests as was all the hotel facilities, which was a real bonus. The office staff at the villas were very friendly and helpful. As a timeshare resort, we were invited to a sales pitch on the north coast at Princeville and we went primarily to take advantage of the many activity discounts and give-aways that you receive. As it turned out, we were able to purchase extra timeshare (something we had been planning to do for some time) at a reasonable price. If that's not your thing then simply decline the invitation.
The room décor may be a bit dated for some people's taste but we called it "classic Hawaiian" and loved it. The condo was well set-up, everything worked and was in good order, and the bedroom was air-conditioned, which we hadn't expected. We would definitely return to this resort.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubWyndham, CLUB WYNDHAM Social Media Team at Kauai Beach Villas, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Thank you for providing this great feedback. We are so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and had positive encounters with our friendly staff. We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vic, australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

after 2 flights from oz arriving at 1pm were a very tired family.. walked straight into the time share and trip lady who just went on and on .. in one ear and out of the other to tired to care!
told her we had prebooked all our trips online before we left home.

reception said room may be rady in an hour or so so gave us towels and told us to use the pool next door. the onsite pool for the villas was so small and not a patch on next doors , huge lagoons spa s, waterslide and view to the beach ( not swimable) good pool side bar not to bad price wise.

came back at 2 not room we were told which one it was and it was right opposite reception we could see inside all clean and ready.. so why no key!!!

3 pm came and finally got a key. so word is not a hope in hell no matter how far you have flown this timeshare will not let you in a minute before 3pm!!

room very 70's alot of the previous owners logo still on items. a little scuffed up and tired.

But hey not spending much time in there. good balcony to gardens. all other windows over the parking lot and reception so had to keep the bedrooms curtains closed all the time.
very noisy air com units strapped onto windows. couldn't sleep with them on at night so opened up all the slatted windows in the dining area and bedrooms to get some airflow.

great sided rooms. kids had twin beds and king size in main. two bathrooms were great.

good kitchen and washer/ dryer made things easy for us. although all appliances are very dated and so noisy try and put them on when your out.

as for the location for us we found it great. took less than an hour to go either end of the island. traffic a little busy getting in and out of the drive but nothing to worry about. easy to find at night look for the gas torches.
we did a few trips leaving local . tubing,kayaking, smiths laua all within a 5 min drive. kappa great for family meals = cheap area. good chicken in a barrel. olympic cafe. and the art walk evenings fab.
lihuie 5 minutes to supermarkets, macys etc and tip top bakery .

was a little surpised to get a note to say we were being fumigated for bugs on our 3rd day. between 10-5pm.. not something i was happy about sleeping in after that! why can't they do them whilst there empty. didnt sit well with me,, lucky for us he never came.

overall due to location , size of villa and use of next doors pool id stay again. if they lost use of the pool id be looking elsewhere.

Room Tip: stay away from b block
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

booked 3 nights at Kauai Beach time share resort using Orbitz. Check in is 3 pm, don't rely on earlier time. At check in, they will direct you to the activities desk for the time share talk. But we let her know that we were NOT interested, and that was the end of the discussion. Great 2 bed, 2 bath layout with furnished kitchen and even an ice chest for outings. Beach is only good for walking as surf was too rough and no swimming. They do have a separate pool for the villa patrons. the landscaping ponds were muddy brown and as with all islands, the ever constant roosters!

Room Tip: ocean front units are for timeshare owners only
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kauai Beach Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kauai Beach Villas

Address: 4330 Kauai Beach Drive, Lihue, Kauai, HI 96766
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Lihue
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Lihue
#6 Romantic Hotel in Lihue
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Kauai Beach Villas 3*
Number of rooms: 121
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Kauai Beach Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kauai Beach Villas Hotel Lihue
Kauai Beach Hotel
Kauai Beach Resort
Pahio Kauai Beach Villas
Kauai Beach Villas HI

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kauai Beach Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.