We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kauai in May” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kauai Beach Villas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Kauai Beach Villas to your Saves list
Kauai Beach Villas
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   4330 Kauai Beach Drive, Lihue, Kauai, HI 96766   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Lihue
GreenLeadersBronze level
Portlland, OR
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Kauai in May”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

We had been to Kauai several times but have never stayed at the Villas. We have stayed on the North Shore (Princeville), and we have stayed in Kapaa in the past. We have 2 kids (5 and 3), so a nice pool and easy beach access was important to us.

First, the location is great. 5 mins from Lihue airport, grocery stores, etc..

Second, the amenities: although the beach is not the best beach and the water is a little rough, there is enough sand, and in front of G "block" there is a small part that is protected that was big enough for our kids to play safely.

Although the pool at the resort is adequate but small. However, if you stay at the Villas you are able to use the AMAZING pools at the Kauai Beach Resort next door. Several great pools, a large water slide, a large sand bottom pool for younger kids, and a place to order food and drinks next to the pool. We spent a lot of time here!

We were in a 2 bedroom, and the unit was nice. Free internet, well "stocked" and nicely furnished.

The staff was great.

Great time in May. Kids loved it! More importantly, my wife loved it and the kids were entertained with the pools and the beach..

We plan on staying here again!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    139
    52
    21
    7
See reviews for
93
147
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
oklahoma
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

Stayed here last week had an ocean front villa and it had everything we needed. They even had coolers in the closet. The rooms are a bit dated but if your coming to Kauai your not spending much time in the room if your doing it right IMO. It was our first time on the Island and this was a good home base on the east side. We ended up on the north shore most days so would probably stay there next time but The hotel employees were friendly and not pushy about the timeshare side of it and we had a great time here

Room Tip: buildings F G and H our ocean front. I would prefer g or h for sunrises from the lanai. F is good v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

We were very blessed to have the wonderful staff and management grant us our request for a third floor ocean view 2 BR unit. This was our first time to the island and we were celebrating our 30 year wedding anniversary and using part of some bonus points awarded to us by our Hilton timeshare on Oahu. G17 unit is fabulous! No A/C needed with all the great ocean breezes! Our bedrooms did have window A/C units, but we didn't even need them. As the owner in another review described it, we were about 75-100 feet from the waves. We had a large private patio and ate every meal possible outside, just taking in the view and listening to the ocean. There is a mountain view to the left and various coconut trees and beach grass in front of our unit. Many couples enjoyed walking on the beach. Some waded into the water. It is a great central location. The hotel pool next door was beautifully landscaped with waterfalls, and we enjoyed swimming in both of their pools during our 7 day stay! We highly recommend this place! So Relaxing!

Room Tip: G and H Buildings have great ocean views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

This resort is located on the eastside of the island, half way between the wonderful beaches on either side of the island. Also, this resort is about 5 minutes from the airport in Lihue. We enjoyed walking on the beach each morning and swimming in the resort pool daily. We requested and received a ground floor unit, which had a nice patio where we spent many evenings watching the birds and having a cold beverage. The unit was furnished well, adequate for our needs. The grounds are beautiful and well cared for. I recommend this resort to all.

Room Tip: We stayed in C-14. Ground level about 20 steps to the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, Virginia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

We stayed in a two bedroom unit here and it was great - two large bedrooms, two large bathrooms, fully equipped kitchen and spacious living area. However, this is definitely not a resort -NO restaurants at all and the only pool bar service was a soda machine. So depends on what you are looking for. We spent little time there except evenings because there is so much to do in Kauai so it was fine. The location is very central which is also good.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, Washington
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

This resort is located very close to the Lihue airport. In fact, it is centrally located in Kauai which was great whenever driving to excursions. It's on the beach, but you can not swim in the water and there is no lifeguard on this beach. The closest nice, beautiful, swimmable beach is located in Kalapaki in front of the Marriott resort. I had a 2 bedroom, 2 bathroom condo for 6 which was very spacious, but the air conditioning was only in the bedrooms. So, the living room which faced east was warm most of the morning. The staff is very responsive to whatever you need and offer good discounts on many excursions. The Kauai Beach Resort is next door and you are allowed to use the pools in the resort next door. The restaurant in the next door resort has a great soup and salad bar for $18.00 per person. The bar called Shutters is very nice and has live music every night. It also has a coffee bar and muffins every morning. There is also a coffee bar/sundries located next to the gift shop. Overall, I really enjoyed staying at this resort. It wasn't expensive and it was a great location.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

We stayed at the Kauaii Beach Villas in building H from April 12-25, 2013. We wanted to get a condo as we had family with us and wanted to accommodate a big group and be able to cook meals in. We had a top floor 2 bedroom corner unit which was very nice. As I understand it, most if not all of the units are privately owned, and some have been renovated and others not. So a lot will depend on what unit you get. The unit we had(H-12) had been renovated recently and was clean and modern and was rented through Kauaii Beach Vacations. The unit looked directly out at the ocean and it appears that buildings G & H have the best views. Our building is located right next to the resort which made it very convenient to use the pools, hot tubs etc at the resort and noise was never an issue. The view from the lanai was great and we got to see many whales breaching.

Others have said that the beach is not swimmable and for the most part that is accurate. However, with water shoes you can navigate your way in. And we swam further down the beach to the north without a problem. The beach itself is great for long walks, if that is something you like to do.

The location is also great if you want to explore the whole island as it is pretty much in the middle. Princeville/Hanalei Bay to the north was about 45 minutes and Poipu was about the same to the south.

You definitely would need a car as all restaurants, shopping and grocery stores are about 10 minutes away in either Lihue or Kapaa.

Its not the St. Regis(nor is it priced like that) but all in all we were very happy with the unit we had as well as the Kauaii Beach resort and would not hesitate to recommend it and would definitely stay there again if we wanted to stay in the middle of the island.

Room Tip: Rooms on the top floor will have the best views. Buildings G & H will have the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kauai Beach Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kauai Beach Villas

Address: 4330 Kauai Beach Drive, Lihue, Kauai, HI 96766
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Lihue
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Lihue
#6 Romantic Hotel in Lihue
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Kauai Beach Villas 3*
Number of rooms: 121
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, TravelClick, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Kauai Beach Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kauai Beach Villas Hotel Lihue
Kauai Beach Hotel
Kauai Beach Resort
Pahio Kauai Beach Villas
Kauai Beach Villas HI

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kauai Beach Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.