We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A week in paradise” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kauai Beach Villas

Save Saved
You added Kauai Beach Villas to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Kauai Beach Villas
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   4330 Kauai Beach Drive, Lihue, Kauai, HI 96766   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 9 hotels in Lihue
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“A week in paradise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

This resort is located on the eastside of the island, half way between the wonderful beaches on either side of the island. Also, this resort is about 5 minutes from the airport in Lihue. We enjoyed walking on the beach each morning and swimming in the resort pool daily. We requested and received a ground floor unit, which had a nice patio where we spent many evenings watching the birds and having a cold beverage. The unit was furnished well, adequate for our needs. The grounds are beautiful and well cared for. I recommend this resort to all.

Room Tip: We stayed in C-14. Ground level about 20 steps to the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    92
    135
    50
    20
    6
See reviews for
89
143
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Chesterfield, Virginia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

We stayed in a two bedroom unit here and it was great - two large bedrooms, two large bathrooms, fully equipped kitchen and spacious living area. However, this is definitely not a resort -NO restaurants at all and the only pool bar service was a soda machine. So depends on what you are looking for. We spent little time there except evenings because there is so much to do in Kauai so it was fine. The location is very central which is also good.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, Washington
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

This resort is located very close to the Lihue airport. In fact, it is centrally located in Kauai which was great whenever driving to excursions. It's on the beach, but you can not swim in the water and there is no lifeguard on this beach. The closest nice, beautiful, swimmable beach is located in Kalapaki in front of the Marriott resort. I had a 2 bedroom, 2 bathroom condo for 6 which was very spacious, but the air conditioning was only in the bedrooms. So, the living room which faced east was warm most of the morning. The staff is very responsive to whatever you need and offer good discounts on many excursions. The Kauai Beach Resort is next door and you are allowed to use the pools in the resort next door. The restaurant in the next door resort has a great soup and salad bar for $18.00 per person. The bar called Shutters is very nice and has live music every night. It also has a coffee bar and muffins every morning. There is also a coffee bar/sundries located next to the gift shop. Overall, I really enjoyed staying at this resort. It wasn't expensive and it was a great location.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

We stayed at the Kauaii Beach Villas in building H from April 12-25, 2013. We wanted to get a condo as we had family with us and wanted to accommodate a big group and be able to cook meals in. We had a top floor 2 bedroom corner unit which was very nice. As I understand it, most if not all of the units are privately owned, and some have been renovated and others not. So a lot will depend on what unit you get. The unit we had(H-12) had been renovated recently and was clean and modern and was rented through Kauaii Beach Vacations. The unit looked directly out at the ocean and it appears that buildings G & H have the best views. Our building is located right next to the resort which made it very convenient to use the pools, hot tubs etc at the resort and noise was never an issue. The view from the lanai was great and we got to see many whales breaching.

Others have said that the beach is not swimmable and for the most part that is accurate. However, with water shoes you can navigate your way in. And we swam further down the beach to the north without a problem. The beach itself is great for long walks, if that is something you like to do.

The location is also great if you want to explore the whole island as it is pretty much in the middle. Princeville/Hanalei Bay to the north was about 45 minutes and Poipu was about the same to the south.

You definitely would need a car as all restaurants, shopping and grocery stores are about 10 minutes away in either Lihue or Kapaa.

Its not the St. Regis(nor is it priced like that) but all in all we were very happy with the unit we had as well as the Kauaii Beach resort and would not hesitate to recommend it and would definitely stay there again if we wanted to stay in the middle of the island.

Room Tip: Rooms on the top floor will have the best views. Buildings G & H will have the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania, United States
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

We stayed in B-13 on the first level to avoid the stairs as there is no elevator. I didn't notice any construction and the chickens didn't really bother us since we are early risers anyhow.
There is no central A/C in the unit---window units in the bedrooms that worked really well. We were here in April and the temps were not too bad, so it wan't a big deal for us.....if it were July or August, that may have been a different story.

We typically stay in the Carribean and are able to utilize shuttles or taxi's---that is not the case here---you really need a rental car to get around.

Very aggresively tried to get me to do the time share presentation...

Room Tip: B-13 was not an ocean view---but had good access to the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonesboro, Arkansas
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

If you are into marble tiles and whatnot, this isn't for you. However, it was PERFECT for us. It is a nice clean and quiet villa. We stayed in F-16 and had a lovely view of the beach. It was peaceful and an easy walk to the ocean front. It is not a swimming beach but Lydgate is less than three miles away and you can snorkel/swim there. We saw whales breaching from beach.

The unit we stayed in had one bedroom, two baths, with a coffeepot, microwave, stove, dishwasher, washer/dryer, and lanai. It had an air conditioner in bed room (we never used), ceiling fans, and a floor fan. The roosters and the birds that nested above the bedroom window will likely wake you up if you sleep with everything open and no air on (which we did) but I don't mind getting up early here - too beautiful to sleep in anyway!!

You are allowed to use the resort facilities, though we really didn't. They have three pools and some hot tubs, a spa, lounge, restaurant (lavaflow drink is yummy but food is overpriced for how bland it is). There is a dirt track next door (rarely heard anything) and people drive up to the beach next door as well, but never bothered us.

We were asked to to go to a timeshare sales pitch, but when we declined, they didn't push us and were no less polite after we refused than before they asked. The concierge (Yoshi) was very pleasant and helpful. They have a breakfast where you can learn about things to do but we didn't go, as we already had reserved the few things we really wanted to do anyway.

I would stay here again in a heartbeat. It is centrally located, peaceful, and has everything you need to be comfortable. It's a five minute drive from airport. Housekeeping does towel changing and trash once a week but no other services. Parking was never a problem.

Bed is not very comfortable; we bought a memory foam mattress pad (2 inch) which helped a lot. Large flat screen tv in living room and smaller one in bedroom. Free wifi but rather slow so be patient. Place to rinse sand off feet just outside of stairwell before coming in to minimize sand tracking in to the unit.

Room Tip: We asked for ocean view. We were on second floor and had perfect view of ocean (F unit is a little...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We stayed at Wyndham Kauai Beach Villas in March, in F-5 - top floor. This unit has a good view of the beach, however not as overlooking the beach as in bldgs G and H. Bldg F is nearest to the dirt-bike track, however we never experienced any unusual noise or disturbance, as we read from other reviews. We were not there on Saturday, which may be the reason. Our one BR unit was adequately sized for us and there was even a pull-out couch for additional sleepers. The unit was fully stocked with the accessories needed, although we did relatively little eating in the unit. The views of the beach were very pleasant and alluring, but the actual beach was rocky and totally inappropriate for swimming. Morning walks on the beach were invigorating in the cool March air. (The ocean temperature is quite cool in March - probably about 65, and if you do not have a very warm day, the water can feel quick chilly.) The grounds were well kept and you can walk over to the hotel side to use the pools, and restaurants. We ate once at one of the restaurants and found the food to be mediocre. The resort itself provides minimal activities, but you have so many other options in Kauai that their lack was not missed. Yes, there was the ever-present option for the timeshare presentation, which we attended in Princeville. Although that may seem like a long drive and not worth your time, we combined it with our north island side adventure for that day and the actual presentation only consumed about 1 hour of our morning (first appointment slot of the morning) and provided $100 and discount coupons. By the way, there are no more new timeshares in Kauai so Wyndham is selling Oahu timeshare properties.
We would certainly go back. The location is central enough to let you cover the north side on some days and the west and south on other days. The Traffic through Kapaa was horrendous, because of the construction. Hopefully that should end soon.

Room Tip: Choose bldgs. H, then G, then F. Top floor for the views and to overall overhead noise from units a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kauai Beach Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kauai Beach Villas

Address: 4330 Kauai Beach Drive, Lihue, Kauai, HI 96766
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Lihue
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 hotels in Lihue
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Kauai Beach Villas 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Kauai Beach Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kauai Beach Villas Hotel Lihue
Kauai Beach Hotel
Kauai Beach Resort
Pahio Kauai Beach Villas
Kauai Beach Villas HI

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kauai Beach Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.