We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Place, good location--RENTAL CAR A MUST” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kauai Beach Villas

Save Saved
You added Kauai Beach Villas to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Kauai Beach Villas
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   4330 Kauai Beach Drive, Lihue, Kauai, HI 96766   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 9 hotels in Lihue
Lancaster, Pennsylvania, United States
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Nice Place, good location--RENTAL CAR A MUST”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

We stayed in B-13 on the first level to avoid the stairs as there is no elevator. I didn't notice any construction and the chickens didn't really bother us since we are early risers anyhow.
There is no central A/C in the unit---window units in the bedrooms that worked really well. We were here in April and the temps were not too bad, so it wan't a big deal for us.....if it were July or August, that may have been a different story.

We typically stay in the Carribean and are able to utilize shuttles or taxi's---that is not the case here---you really need a rental car to get around.

Very aggresively tried to get me to do the time share presentation...

Room Tip: B-13 was not an ocean view---but had good access to the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

295 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    88
    132
    50
    19
    6
See reviews for
86
139
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Jonesboro, Arkansas
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

If you are into marble tiles and whatnot, this isn't for you. However, it was PERFECT for us. It is a nice clean and quiet villa. We stayed in F-16 and had a lovely view of the beach. It was peaceful and an easy walk to the ocean front. It is not a swimming beach but Lydgate is less than three miles away and you can snorkel/swim there. We saw whales breaching from beach.

The unit we stayed in had one bedroom, two baths, with a coffeepot, microwave, stove, dishwasher, washer/dryer, and lanai. It had an air conditioner in bed room (we never used), ceiling fans, and a floor fan. The roosters and the birds that nested above the bedroom window will likely wake you up if you sleep with everything open and no air on (which we did) but I don't mind getting up early here - too beautiful to sleep in anyway!!

You are allowed to use the resort facilities, though we really didn't. They have three pools and some hot tubs, a spa, lounge, restaurant (lavaflow drink is yummy but food is overpriced for how bland it is). There is a dirt track next door (rarely heard anything) and people drive up to the beach next door as well, but never bothered us.

We were asked to to go to a timeshare sales pitch, but when we declined, they didn't push us and were no less polite after we refused than before they asked. The concierge (Yoshi) was very pleasant and helpful. They have a breakfast where you can learn about things to do but we didn't go, as we already had reserved the few things we really wanted to do anyway.

I would stay here again in a heartbeat. It is centrally located, peaceful, and has everything you need to be comfortable. It's a five minute drive from airport. Housekeeping does towel changing and trash once a week but no other services. Parking was never a problem.

Bed is not very comfortable; we bought a memory foam mattress pad (2 inch) which helped a lot. Large flat screen tv in living room and smaller one in bedroom. Free wifi but rather slow so be patient. Place to rinse sand off feet just outside of stairwell before coming in to minimize sand tracking in to the unit.

Room Tip: We asked for ocean view. We were on second floor and had perfect view of ocean (F unit is a little...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We stayed at Wyndham Kauai Beach Villas in March, in F-5 - top floor. This unit has a good view of the beach, however not as overlooking the beach as in bldgs G and H. Bldg F is nearest to the dirt-bike track, however we never experienced any unusual noise or disturbance, as we read from other reviews. We were not there on Saturday, which may be the reason. Our one BR unit was adequately sized for us and there was even a pull-out couch for additional sleepers. The unit was fully stocked with the accessories needed, although we did relatively little eating in the unit. The views of the beach were very pleasant and alluring, but the actual beach was rocky and totally inappropriate for swimming. Morning walks on the beach were invigorating in the cool March air. (The ocean temperature is quite cool in March - probably about 65, and if you do not have a very warm day, the water can feel quick chilly.) The grounds were well kept and you can walk over to the hotel side to use the pools, and restaurants. We ate once at one of the restaurants and found the food to be mediocre. The resort itself provides minimal activities, but you have so many other options in Kauai that their lack was not missed. Yes, there was the ever-present option for the timeshare presentation, which we attended in Princeville. Although that may seem like a long drive and not worth your time, we combined it with our north island side adventure for that day and the actual presentation only consumed about 1 hour of our morning (first appointment slot of the morning) and provided $100 and discount coupons. By the way, there are no more new timeshares in Kauai so Wyndham is selling Oahu timeshare properties.
We would certainly go back. The location is central enough to let you cover the north side on some days and the west and south on other days. The Traffic through Kapaa was horrendous, because of the construction. Hopefully that should end soon.

Room Tip: Choose bldgs. H, then G, then F. Top floor for the views and to overall overhead noise from units a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

As the other reviews have indicated, the condos are outdated. However they are spacious (1 bedroom, 2 bathrooms) with all the amenities... lots of closet space and hangers, dishes, dishwasher, washer dryer, blender, wine opener, etc. We had a partial ocean view and a partial BMX motor Raceway view. You don't usually see the people racing, mostly just the dirt of the track.

The three best things about this hotel are 1. the location (easy drive to South or North part of the island, plus the towns nearby have great little restaurants; good hiking trails nearby like the "sleeping giant"), 2. the ability to walk for a great distance on the beach, 3. and the pool. The pool is equipped with a small waterslide, two hot tubs, three or four pools, and it is nicely landscaped. You can get drinks served to you and there's a tiki bar where you can order food. I recommend the Lava Flow drink...They've got the best one on the island.

One word of caution...The salespeople. They'll invite you to look at their Bali Hai location, but one thing they don't tell you is that the location is sold out. So the entire time that you are touring the Bali Hai condos and learning about how you can own property with celebrities like Will Smith, they're actually selling property on Oahu. I'm not sure at what point in the process (if any) that most people discover this. We found out because I asked to see the specific condo they were trying to sell us, and that's when they revealed that the property was in Oahu. We also got some pushback for not purchasing, but we would never purchase property sight unseen. Also, back at the hotel, we tried to book a helicopter tour. We had done our research in advance and knew the company we wanted to go with. When we tried to book that with the sales agent at the hotel she got very upset and tried to insist we use a different helicopter group. Even when I noted that the helicopter group she suggested didn't have tours w/out doors, which is what I wanted for photography purchases, she still tried to talk me out of it. I'm guessing she got a higher commission with the one company. So we booked our tour on our own.

Room Tip: Higher floors have better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane Wa
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

By reading some reviews of the KBV, we were a bit skeptical. However, upon entry into our unit, we were pleasantly surprised. We were in unit D1, which is a ground level, 1 bedroom unit facing Kauai Beach Resort. We had requested a ground level unit as we have toddlers who ike to climb and were concerned about the balconies. There's a large fountain between our unit and the resort, so it blocked the noise wonderfully. Our unit was nice, and clean with newer appliances, I even had to peel the sticker off of one of the range. The kitchen was stocked with everything we needed. We cook at least 2 meals a day in the unit, so a fully stocked kitchen is wonderful. There were also outside grills steps away from our lanai which was a bonus as we used them alot. We had an apartment size washer and dryer which was nice for washing our towels and dirty clothes for the trip home. I found nothing wrong with the furniture, it suited our needs quite nicely. My daughter and I slept on the sleeper sofa, which surprisingly was quite comfortable with a memory foam mattress.
We loved the pools at Kauai Beach Resort which we were able to use. There is a toddler pool filled with sand, a 4' pool with a slide and then a separate area with several pools including beautiful waterfalls. The pool at Kauai Beach Villas was rather small, but good for the older generation without kids as it was much quieter.
Kauai Beach Resort (right next door) has a restaurant which you can eat at if you dont want to cook or go anywhere.
The room had a blu ray dvd player, a stereo with an ipod/iphone docking station, and a large flat screen tv in the living area as well as the bedroom.
The location of the resort is great, centrally located on the island so you can go north or south without much hassle. It took us 30 minutes to get to Princeville and about 30 minutes to get to Poipu. Kapaa is a very close 5-10 minute drive north to shops, dining and groceries. Lihue is the largest town which is also a 5-10 minute drive south where you can find shopping, dining and groceries as well. We went to Walmart to get toiletries and Costco for our coffee in Lihue.

The only complaints we had were that the living area gets quite warm during the day even with all the windows open and fans on. There is a window AC unit in the bedroom, but it only seems to cool the bedroom area. It would be nice to have one in the living area as well. The roosters are also a nusiance with their 4 am wake up calls, but hey, you are in Kauai, what else would you expect?
We loved it at the Kauai Beach Villas, and would stay there again in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: buildings G, H and F have views of the ocean, buildings G and H are beach front. Ground floor units...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

This was our third stay at Kauai Beach resort over a period of about 10 years, and our first stay in a condo (these are now mostly owned by Wyndham).

The location is superb, both for the excellent (not safe for swimming, but great for walking) beach, and closeness to Lihue Airport (great if you need to catch an early flight out).

We stayed in a third-floor condo (one bedroom, two baths) with a superb ocean view. The condo was clean and generally well maintained, but long-term maintenance (like removing corrosion on the lanai doors caused by the closeness to the ocean) has been deferred due to the lagging tourism. There was no elevator (and no one to haul our luggage), so if you have physical limits, do ask!

Because we are Wyndham owners and this was a "free" four-day stay for us, we much enjoyed the view and also enjoyed not having to drive from more remote resorts to the airport. The somewhat aging aspects of the condo did not really bother us.

Our past two experiences had been with the hotel (formerly a Radisson), which seems in great shape and offers a lovely pool, and a very nice beach bar for enjoying small meals and drinks outside, overlooking the ocean. The staff there have been charming during every visit. The hotel amenities are available to condo guests.

In spite of the deferred maintenance issue, I do recommend the better room (that is, those with a good view) in the Wyndham resort, and I do recommend the hotel, which is well maintained.

This is a very good place to spend a few days before moving to another island or back to the mainland. It is very isolated, but still very close to Lihue.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WAUPACA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

The property is beautiful. Love that they keep smoking to very limited areas.
We stayed in a one bedroom condo on the second floor. No elevator. It was very comfortable and perfectly furnished. There is a separate bedroom and one large bathroom with a cubby which works well for a make-up station. An open concept full kitchen with all the gadgets with living room. Nice flat screen TV with DVD player. A well sized balcony attached. A nice washer/dryer is in the unit with laundry supplies!
We were near the office so did not have a view of the ocean but did have a pond with fountains view. The Kauai Beach Hotel pools and spa are available to the Villa's residents.
My only complaint is the cost to use the gym which very few used, why not put it to better use for overall wellness. For walking, the beach extends north about 4-5 miles to Lydgate Beach Park which is so convenient. There is a shallow water barrier you must cross to walk north so we used water shoes for walking on the beach. Also, a heads up to flying golf balls as the walk is adjacent to a golf course just north of the resort. No swim beach at the resort but you can swim in a protected by a reef area at Lyngate Park.
Farther north in Kapaa are two very nice grocery stores and an awesome approximate 6 mile walking/biking trail, "the Path that Goes by the Coast". It is beautiful and built entirely by the ocean where you can watch the whales play in season, approximately January and February.
The condo is located between the north end and the south end on the east side. Really splits up the drive in both directions. If you want sun, move and you shall find it, mostly on the south end. There was even a cooler supplied to take a picnic lunch!
Gas is cheaper on the south end.
Small town art show every Friday night in Hanapepe.
Kayak Kauai in Hanalei is awesome with 24 hour rental for stand up paddle boards/kayaks. There is stream from the facility to the river. No having to haul anything. Right takes you on a beautiful trip up the river with natural dropping hibiscus flowers. Left takes you out to Hanalei Bay. A highlight.
Always fun to take a snorkel/whale watch/dinner cruise out of Port Allen. We decided on which catamaran based on the dinner menu. We chose Kauai Sea Tours for the teriyaki chicken and mai tais! Heard Captain Andy's is awesome too.
We missed but should not have, the helicopter ride. Rave reviews from other vacationers. Pricey.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Kauai Beach Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kauai Beach Villas

Address: 4330 Kauai Beach Drive, Lihue, Kauai, HI 96766
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Lihue
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 hotels in Lihue
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Kauai Beach Villas 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Tingo, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Kauai Beach Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kauai Beach Villas Hotel Lihue
Kauai Beach Hotel
Kauai Beach Resort
Pahio Kauai Beach Villas
Kauai Beach Villas HI

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kauai Beach Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.