We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cant wait to come back” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kauai Beach Villas

Save Saved
You added Kauai Beach Villas to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotels.com Orbitz.com
and 5 more sites!
Kauai Beach Villas
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   4330 Kauai Beach Drive, Lihue, Kauai, HI 96766   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 9 hotels in Lihue
Spokane Wa
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Cant wait to come back”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

By reading some reviews of the KBV, we were a bit skeptical. However, upon entry into our unit, we were pleasantly surprised. We were in unit D1, which is a ground level, 1 bedroom unit facing Kauai Beach Resort. We had requested a ground level unit as we have toddlers who ike to climb and were concerned about the balconies. There's a large fountain between our unit and the resort, so it blocked the noise wonderfully. Our unit was nice, and clean with newer appliances, I even had to peel the sticker off of one of the range. The kitchen was stocked with everything we needed. We cook at least 2 meals a day in the unit, so a fully stocked kitchen is wonderful. There were also outside grills steps away from our lanai which was a bonus as we used them alot. We had an apartment size washer and dryer which was nice for washing our towels and dirty clothes for the trip home. I found nothing wrong with the furniture, it suited our needs quite nicely. My daughter and I slept on the sleeper sofa, which surprisingly was quite comfortable with a memory foam mattress.
We loved the pools at Kauai Beach Resort which we were able to use. There is a toddler pool filled with sand, a 4' pool with a slide and then a separate area with several pools including beautiful waterfalls. The pool at Kauai Beach Villas was rather small, but good for the older generation without kids as it was much quieter.
Kauai Beach Resort (right next door) has a restaurant which you can eat at if you dont want to cook or go anywhere.
The room had a blu ray dvd player, a stereo with an ipod/iphone docking station, and a large flat screen tv in the living area as well as the bedroom.
The location of the resort is great, centrally located on the island so you can go north or south without much hassle. It took us 30 minutes to get to Princeville and about 30 minutes to get to Poipu. Kapaa is a very close 5-10 minute drive north to shops, dining and groceries. Lihue is the largest town which is also a 5-10 minute drive south where you can find shopping, dining and groceries as well. We went to Walmart to get toiletries and Costco for our coffee in Lihue.

The only complaints we had were that the living area gets quite warm during the day even with all the windows open and fans on. There is a window AC unit in the bedroom, but it only seems to cool the bedroom area. It would be nice to have one in the living area as well. The roosters are also a nusiance with their 4 am wake up calls, but hey, you are in Kauai, what else would you expect?
We loved it at the Kauai Beach Villas, and would stay there again in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: buildings G, H and F have views of the ocean, buildings G and H are beach front. Ground floor units...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    83
    125
    49
    19
    6
See reviews for
84
131
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

This was our third stay at Kauai Beach resort over a period of about 10 years, and our first stay in a condo (these are now mostly owned by Wyndham).

The location is superb, both for the excellent (not safe for swimming, but great for walking) beach, and closeness to Lihue Airport (great if you need to catch an early flight out).

We stayed in a third-floor condo (one bedroom, two baths) with a superb ocean view. The condo was clean and generally well maintained, but long-term maintenance (like removing corrosion on the lanai doors caused by the closeness to the ocean) has been deferred due to the lagging tourism. There was no elevator (and no one to haul our luggage), so if you have physical limits, do ask!

Because we are Wyndham owners and this was a "free" four-day stay for us, we much enjoyed the view and also enjoyed not having to drive from more remote resorts to the airport. The somewhat aging aspects of the condo did not really bother us.

Our past two experiences had been with the hotel (formerly a Radisson), which seems in great shape and offers a lovely pool, and a very nice beach bar for enjoying small meals and drinks outside, overlooking the ocean. The staff there have been charming during every visit. The hotel amenities are available to condo guests.

In spite of the deferred maintenance issue, I do recommend the better room (that is, those with a good view) in the Wyndham resort, and I do recommend the hotel, which is well maintained.

This is a very good place to spend a few days before moving to another island or back to the mainland. It is very isolated, but still very close to Lihue.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WAUPACA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

The property is beautiful. Love that they keep smoking to very limited areas.
We stayed in a one bedroom condo on the second floor. No elevator. It was very comfortable and perfectly furnished. There is a separate bedroom and one large bathroom with a cubby which works well for a make-up station. An open concept full kitchen with all the gadgets with living room. Nice flat screen TV with DVD player. A well sized balcony attached. A nice washer/dryer is in the unit with laundry supplies!
We were near the office so did not have a view of the ocean but did have a pond with fountains view. The Kauai Beach Hotel pools and spa are available to the Villa's residents.
My only complaint is the cost to use the gym which very few used, why not put it to better use for overall wellness. For walking, the beach extends north about 4-5 miles to Lydgate Beach Park which is so convenient. There is a shallow water barrier you must cross to walk north so we used water shoes for walking on the beach. Also, a heads up to flying golf balls as the walk is adjacent to a golf course just north of the resort. No swim beach at the resort but you can swim in a protected by a reef area at Lyngate Park.
Farther north in Kapaa are two very nice grocery stores and an awesome approximate 6 mile walking/biking trail, "the Path that Goes by the Coast". It is beautiful and built entirely by the ocean where you can watch the whales play in season, approximately January and February.
The condo is located between the north end and the south end on the east side. Really splits up the drive in both directions. If you want sun, move and you shall find it, mostly on the south end. There was even a cooler supplied to take a picnic lunch!
Gas is cheaper on the south end.
Small town art show every Friday night in Hanapepe.
Kayak Kauai in Hanalei is awesome with 24 hour rental for stand up paddle boards/kayaks. There is stream from the facility to the river. No having to haul anything. Right takes you on a beautiful trip up the river with natural dropping hibiscus flowers. Left takes you out to Hanalei Bay. A highlight.
Always fun to take a snorkel/whale watch/dinner cruise out of Port Allen. We decided on which catamaran based on the dinner menu. We chose Kauai Sea Tours for the teriyaki chicken and mai tais! Heard Captain Andy's is awesome too.
We missed but should not have, the helicopter ride. Rave reviews from other vacationers. Pricey.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sumner Washington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

We stayed in building H-4, second floor facing the ocean. 2 bedroom very nicely furnished. Sat on our deck and watched Whales leap in the distance. This is a beautiful resort and well maintained. We had use of the pools next door at the Hilton and they are very well kept. Enjoyed the evening music there and the "South Pacific show" I would give the show 3 1/2 stars just so-so, but a nice evening out. We booked thru Kauai Vacation Rentals and I would use them again. Only down fall is that it is not a swimming beach, but made for lovely walks.

Room Tip: would upgrade to ocean front. Have to be on upper floor to view the ocean. Ground floor cannot see...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

The Kauai Beach Villas in Lihue, HI is a secluded oceanfront property connected with the Kauai Beach Resort. Staying in the condos gives you the best of both worlds with the conveniences of a condo, i.e. seperate bedroom/bedrooms, full kitchen, washer/dryer, BBQ's with the extra amenities of a hotel. The pools, one with sand surrounding it with a full poolside bar along with a large traditional type pool. There is also a water slide on property. Lots of extra activities with live entertainment nightly in the Shutters Lounge, a complimentary hula dance program including mai tais, a for fee wine tasting along with a Broadway version of The South Pacific.

Room Tip: Buildings G & H are oceanfront - F is the next best location. All 1 bedrooms face over the park...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013 via mobile

Previous reviews are pretty accurate, beautiful pool area, gorgeous beach but outdated units. The facility itself is fine, good central location and easy to access from the airport. Our main challenge here is that after staying at 3 other Wyndham properties on Kauai, this one is set apart by the rudest, most unhelpful and frankly bullying timeshare staff we've encountered. Halfway through our stay they left a message saying we'd have to move from our unit 3 days before our departure date, although the day we checked in we were told by the representative that we were confirmed in this unit for our entire stay. Only after we declined to attend a second timeshare presentation did our room reservation suddenly become a problem. When we called to get to the bottom of the issue, we were told it came from Wyndham corporate and we'd have to call them ourselves and the resort rep promptly hung up. We called Wyndham corporate and they said it had to be dealt with at the resort. Unhelpful, rude and insulting staff all around. A disappointing way to spend our family vacation.

Stay elsewhere. Even if you have your reservation details confirmed in writing, this resort operation is shady and does not live up to Wyndham's reputation.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, MI
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
192 helpful votes 192 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

This complex has been owned by Wyndham Resorts for maybe 2 years or so. It used to be called the Pahio Beach Villas and a lot of things around the resort and in the units still say Pahio. That is only relevant because it is a hint that Wyndham isn't ready to put their name on this place and I can see why.

We stayed in a 2 bedroom unit over Christmas break. We started out in a ground floor unit in the C building which I do not recommend if you want to use your lanai. Every time I stepped outside a dozen or more chickens and other birds came running onto the lanai. The chairs and table had to be washed off a twice in just one day due to bird droppings. It would have been funny (if it hadn't been so annoying) to see all the birds running from around the grounds when my husband came out with his morning coffee. This unit was updated, but smelled very mildewy.

The staff at the resort was not surprised by our request to move after only 1 night and they were able to accommodate us by moving us to the B building, on the second floor. Our unit had been updated so it was functional, but not luxurious by any means. It was pretty well equipped for a timeshare unit with ample gadgets and dishes in the kitchen (including new appliances), 2 bathrooms, and a washer/dryer (that were ancient, with the dryer taking over an hour to dry a load).

This unit had an odor as well, that I can only describe as old food and/or old socks. We kept the doors/windows open at all times and this smell was always there. It was an unpleasant welcome every time we came back to the unit.

The bedrooms had window air conditioners that were old and loud, but kept the rooms cool. I would have much preferred to keep the windows open all night, but with bedrooms overlooking the parking lot and the dirt bike racing area through the trees this was not a good option.

The pool and hot tub located just outside our building were clean, but needed maintenance. Spigots on the hot tub were broken off, paint was peeling from the edge of the tub and pool, and there was just a worn look to everything. If we'd wanted more than a quick dip we could have walked over to the adjoining hotel. We did this once and those facilities were decent, but definitely not what we'd expect from a Gold Crown Resort (RCI's designation for the best timeshare resorts in its system). The BBQ grills in the pool area were fairly new and functioned well.

We borrowed tennis rackets to play (for free) on their courts. This was a good hour of fun for our family, but if you were serious about tennis you'd need your own racquet. We noticed a lot of beach equipment and toys that you could also borrow for free, though we never needed any of it.

The beach you can access from the resort is not a swimming beach, but it is beautiful for walking or relaxing at. Only a few of the buildings had ocean views and we knew we wouldn't be in them given we were doing a timeshare exchange. It was nice to walk out to the beach though, without needing to drive anywhere.

The best thing about this resort is its location. First of all, it is on Kauai and with our timeshare exchange it is very, very inexpensive to stay there. Second of all, it is well located to head either north or south. This is important in the winter since most of the sunshine and calm beaches are south, but once in a while you can hit it lucky and head north for a great day too.

This resort would be a huge disappointment if we wanted a place where we could hang out and not leave very much. It also would have been a huge disappointment if we'd payed a rental rate for it. Neither of those things were true for us, so while we weren't thrilled with the place, it functioned well as an inexpensive home base to enjoy our second week on Kauai.

I do want to note that the staff at the resort were exceptionally friendly and helpful. We travel a lot using our timeshare points and it is rare to find a staff that really cares about your stay. I don't think we've ever encountered people this friendly working at a timeshare resort. Usually their main mission is to get you to agree to a timeshare presentation and then they give you the cold shoulder for the rest of your stay, whether you attend the presentation or not. We were only asked once about the presentation and when we said no, that was accepted graciously. All of our interactions with the reception area, cleaning staff, and maintenance workers were great.

I don't know what else Wyndham plans to do with these units as they update them. For me, the number one concern would be the smells in the rooms. How can newly updated units smell so bad? I will keep an eye on this resort for future exchanges, but it definitely would NOT be my first choice for return trips to Kauai.

Room Tip: I wouldn't choose a ground level room if you want to sit outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Kauai Beach Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kauai Beach Villas

Also Known As:
Kauai Beach Villas Hotel Lihue
Kauai Beach Villas Hotel
Kauai Beach Hotel
Kauai Beach Resort
Pahio Kauai Beach Villas
Kauai Beach Villas HI
Address: 4330 Kauai Beach Drive, Lihue, Kauai, HI 96766
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Lihue
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 hotels in Lihue
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Kauai Beach Villas 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Kauai Beach Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kauai Beach Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.