We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pretty nice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kauai Beach Villas

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Kauai Beach Villas to your Saves list
Kauai Beach Villas
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   4330 Kauai Beach Drive, Lihue, Kauai, HI 96766   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Lihue
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
37 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“pretty nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012 via mobile

we stayed in the F building on the 1st floor, our room was updated and had an ocean view room. not much to complain about:) my only issue is that the the resort pool next door that we are allowed to use (kauai beach resort) had pretty terrible customer service..once you were finally able to get some service they were friendly, but you practically had to wave them down to get any service at all..they pretty much just talk to each other hang out..I guess i'm just use to people in the serving industry wanting to get a big tip..I would say it was very hard for me to even give them a tip, because I don't think they deserved it!! also, the drinks were soooo over priced and happy hour was a huge joke! we got nachos and it literally only came with about 9 chips. But, as I said this was for the kauai beach resort pool. the pool that is actually part of kauai beach villas, is pretty much a joke. but, it really doesn't matter because most the time you'll be on the beach anyways. I would definitely stay here again though, it was in a great location, the room was very nice with a full kitchen.there was construction bring done, but didn't bother us at all, they only worked during the day, when you're not really in your room anyways. I saw reviews about the roosters, buy i thought they were sorta charming and they are literally everywhere on the entire island, and really no way to avoid them. luckily i'm a morning person, and couldn't wait to get out of bed, so they really didnt annoy me. oh and one more thing, make sure you bring your own laundry detergent, because you have to wash all of your own towels..but on the plus side your room comes with a washer and dryer.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    160
    60
    24
    8
See reviews for
109
171
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sac, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Not for singles, I complained about the lack of men to a friend and he laughed and said it was an intervention. Beautiful place dont care about any "dated" or "older" furnishings, thats not why I was there. The staff are amazing, at the Villas, the hotel is TERRIBLE for service and atitude of staff they "forget" a lot and never think to make it right. The hotel SUCKS the Villas Rock!!
If your a single woman, go see the local men working at the kyack rental w/guide Yummmmmm. Guy is a fox ask for him. Way fun to watch. Pillows Suck bring own if neck problems.

Room Tip: Third floor most breeze east and north east good for view, breeze
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mission, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

We stayed for a week. The grounds are well maintained and beautiful. The unit (we had a two bedroom) was spacious and light, however it was tired and could have done with some freshening up. However, the standard of cleanliness was below standard - grime on the baths, the bathroom laminate old and the counterpane on the king bed we used was stained. Towels are changed once a week, but bedding not at all - not up to industry standard. Car is defnitely needed at this location as it's set out about three miles away from Lihue and although on a bus route there is no stop nearby. If you want to eat away from the hotel or visit the attractions or even shop for food you will need to use a car. There is a race track next door which runs on weekends. Overall, we wouldn't return to the Kauai Beach Villas

Room Tip: A & B complex overlook poolhouse and toilets. C partial view of pool and grounds. D, E overloo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

The Kauai Beach Villas is a great place to stay. There are 8 three story buildings, most situated for maximum view opportunities, but be cautious of the ground floor units as some have very obstructed or no view at all.

We were in a 2 bedroom, 2 bath unit, upstairs, overlooking the on property lagoons, but with a nice ocean view as a bonus. The unit configuration is good for two couples, as the bedrooms are set up away from each other, offering plenty of privacy. There is a sleeper sofa in the living room, which although not used for sleeping, felt comfortable to sit on. Ceiling fans with open windows keep the unit cool. There is a window air conditioner in each bedroom.

The unit was very clean and comfortable. There was virtually no noise from adjacent units. Other than the roosters crowing, the grounds were quiet also.

The unit has a full kitchen with all necessary items to prepare most any meal. They supply coffee and filter starters so you can enjoy your first morning without having to make a supply run.

There are three flat screen televisions and dvd/cd players to enjoy. Time Warner Oceanic cable supplies a very good number of channels.

There is a large lanai off living room with chairs and a table and both bedrooms have smaller lanais but no furniture. The dining room is set for four and is a nice size.

Barbeques are located throughout the complex. The Villas have a small pool area, but access at the Kauai Beach Resort Hotel pool is available next door. The properties are actually one in the same. The pool at the hotel is quite large.

The office staff is very friendly and efficient. Our check-in process went very smoothly. The do have a concierge who will book activities for you, but her other purpose is getting you to take a tour of their other properties on island. The office also has a book exchange library and games. There is free Wifi in each unit and one computer available at the office for those needing to keep in touch.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Pros
1. Beach front location
2. Spectacular grounds for tropical flowers
3. Minutes from Kapaa and Poipu and only 30 min from Poipu
4. Great pool
5. Entrance has a tree-tunnel to rival that of Poipu

Cons
1. Rocky beach
2. Interior is only average
3. Will rain most mornings, but afternoons are typically sunny
4. Sun sets in Poipu, KBH can only offer sunrises

Room Tip: Only owners get ocean front rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
78 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

This property is nice and VERY low key. Good for families and those looking for a quiet resort. It is not in walking distance of any retail or restaurants. There is a tennis court,a pool and hot tub which are very basic and no frill. This resort does not have a bar/restaurant and does not appear to have a gym area (too busy hiking and kayaking anayway). Can walk to beach and to neighboring resort. Guests have access to the neighboring resort pool and hot tubs which are more fancy and seem more fun. The neighboring resort has a small restaurant/bar with some live music. We stayed in Building B, which was closest to the Office/check in. Guests on the 2nd and 3rd floor of any building can only get in and out of the building on the parking lot side. This means that to go to the pool/hot tub area central to all the Villas, you must walk out to the parking lot and all the way around the building. I thought this was annoying. There are activities at the resort which do have small fees. We were too busy running around to be at the resort for them.The rooms were clean and well set up. The kitchen was nice, clean and well stocked with equipment. I liked that the entertainment center was updated enough to have an ipod dock. As timeshare owners, we were asked to attend a presentaion for a property on the north shore but it was not at all high pressure. We did receive a nice discount on activities for attending. Yoshi the concierge was enthusiastic and great. She took the trouble to call to get a discount on a tour that we had already booked- so nice. Overall, we were satisfied, but didnt come away with a "that place was great!" feeling. Balance that with the good location that makes it easy to get to the airport, and also to other sides of the islands in about equal times.

Room Tip: Ask for Building G if you can get it- it is ocean front- but no swimming there. Building B is neares...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbert, Arizona
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

The last time we stayed, two years ago, we had a great time with a wonderful room. We were very disappointed with our stay in Sept 2012. We were given a bottom unit facing the busy parking lot. The unit was a handicap unit which we didn't request. We requested to be moved two times and were told they had nothing else. The unit was in disrepair and had a very strong MOLD smell. Bed was extremely hard. We asked for a mattress pad but they only had queen size for the king bed.

On our last day we hung out at the pool and spa. Shortly before leaving we jumped in the hot tub and found FECAL matter floating!!!! There were no attendants around, so we went inside to inform them. The attendants reaction was, "Again?" We won't be staying here again.

One positive about the resort is the beach access. It's very private; not good for swimming.

Room Tip: Request 2nd or 3rd floor and away from parking lot
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lihue
0.1 mi away
Kauai Beach Resort
Kauai Beach Resort
#5 of 11 in Lihue
4.0 of 5 stars 1,726 reviews
3.0 mi away
Aston Islander on the Beach
12.2 mi away
Koloa Landing at Poipu Beach Wyndham Grand Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Garden Island Inn
Garden Island Inn
#1 of 11 in Lihue
4.5 of 5 stars 511 reviews
3.4 mi away
Marriott's Kauai Lagoons
3.4 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Kauai at Coconut Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kauai Beach Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kauai Beach Villas

Address: 4330 Kauai Beach Drive, Lihue, Kauai, HI 96766
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Lihue
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Lihue
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Lihue
#5 Romantic Hotel in Lihue
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Kauai Beach Villas 3*
Number of rooms: 105
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, TravelClick, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Kauai Beach Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kauai Beach Villas Hotel Lihue
Kauai Beach Hotel
Kauai Beach Resort
Pahio Kauai Beach Villas
Kauai Beach Villas HI

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kauai Beach Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.