We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We love KBV!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kauai Beach Villas

Save Saved
You added Kauai Beach Villas to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Kauai Beach Villas
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   4330 Kauai Beach Drive, Lihue, Kauai, HI 96766   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 9 hotels in Lihue
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“We love KBV!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2008

We booked KBV via RCI using our timeshare points for a family vacation. The rooms at KBV aren't luxurious, but they're well maintained and clean. The grounds at KBV are well kept. We were in room B9 during our stay, and the only problem we had was the water heater was on the fritz. It took them 3 days to get it resolved, and it was easy each day to "temporarily" fix it by just pushing a reset button. Eventually they had to drain the tank and replace the thermostat, which fixed the problem. There is wireless internet available for guests, which is helpful for keeping in touch with family and friends back home. The pool is small, but again, it's clean and well maintained. There is a nice beach on property. The property is about 5-10 minutes from the Lihue Airport, but there is little if any noise from aircraft. There is air conditioning in the bedrooms but not in the common areas. It's not a uber-fancy, luxurious property, but I would recommend KBV as a comfortable, central place to stay on Kauai, and plan on staying there again many times on future visits to Kauai.

  • Liked — Central location.
  • Disliked — Nothing negative to comment on.
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    87
    131
    50
    19
    6
See reviews for
86
137
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2008

Booked our stay through Kauai Vacation Rentals, so I didn't deal with the booking office.

E-5 is a top floor unit which looks like it's been cared for by the owners, with good clean bathrooms (2 full) and kitchen (with tons of dishes & glasses) plus good quality linens. The carpet is stained from guests who don't take their shoes off, despite all the signs requesting that they do so. The furniture is typical Hawaiian rental unit stuff, not good or bad. The balcony overlooks the lagoon with a peek toward the ocean. Nice for morning coffee.

The pool and spa are small and you'll probably get run over by some obnoxious kids. I stayed away.

Tennis courts are a plus, and I used them daily. Nets are a little tattered, oh well.

Beach is not swimmable, but few on Kauai are. The sound is nice and it's good for walking.

Toward the end of my stay someone moved in downstairs who smoked like a chimney, then burned incense to cover it up, so I had to keep my windows closed and it got stuffy. You can't control your neighbors, can you?!

Location is great, central on the coastal road, easy to go north or south. You'll need a car to see anything.

Bottom line - if you want perfection, you may not be happy here. It worked well for me and my husband for a week over Christmas. We went out all day adventuring, then came back for meals and/or sleeping.

  • Liked — Location
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wasington, DC
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2008

We stayed at the Pahio Kauai Beach Villas at the end of December 23 thru 30. Booked through RCI about 1 year in advance and requested beach view/front 1 BDR unit. On Arrival we had a brief argument with the front-desk in-charge about not getting what we requested. First given option to stay building A first floor. Very horrible place. Later given D21 on the second floor [total 3 floors]

Place was much better that the option given earlier. The motocross track and the chickens were very load. The motocross not an issue on the weekdays.

The resort location is great. The central location and the close proximity to the airport. Two beautiful waterfalls very close to the resort. Interior was quit specious but old. A/C only in the bedroom.

The beach in front of the resort is not swimmable or even worth sitting at, but there are plenty of great beaches close by.

Building F, G and H are ocean front or ocean view. If you select this resort to stay ocean front and book through RCI than there is chance that you will get disappointed. But if booked directly thru owner or exchange it with the owner than you'll know which unit you will stay in advance. All The Best !

  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alaska
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2008

We stayed in E-10. This place was horrible. The carpet was badly stained. The furniture was stained. There was dust everywhere. Half the light bulbs were burnt out. The kitchen appliances still had food on them. The shower curtain was moldy. The bathroom fixtures had rust on them. For something listed as a Gold Crown Resort this place was not it.

  • Disliked — Dirty - The pool was the size of a sauna pool.
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington state
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2007

We stayed 2 weeks in unit G-6. it was newly done and was very clean. Decor was great, especially enjoyed the up-graded patio
furniture. A great location to be in, all the island is easy to get to from here. Beautiful view from the patio, enjoyed breakfast every morning there.Great beach with hardly any one on it. We have been to the islands over 25 times and this is one of the best condos we have stayed in. We give it an A+++. PS-the rental office is nice to work with.

  • Liked — newly redone
  • Disliked — needs a new washer and dryer
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Fargo, North Dakota
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2007

We stayed at the Pahio at Kauai Beach Villas w/o 12/15/07. We booked the unit through a timeshare exchange. The complex is located on the East side of the island making it centrally located but that was part of the problem. It actually is not located close to very many things except the airport which makes it necessary to do a lot of driving.

Be forewarned the units are very old with little money being spent on them. The unit we were in had a nice family area but that was where it ended. The bathrooms where small with combination tub/shower arrangements. ( rarely do I see timeshare units without walk in showers) The bathroom fixtures and chandeliers were old and rusty, bathrooms had no fans, some of the screen doors were falling off and you couldn't close them, and the tv's are old. Like I say this place is spending very little money!

The place is overrun with chickens and the damn roosters start crowing at 4:30 am. ( I counted as many as 8 roosters at one time) I don't expect them to exterminate the things but they sure could live trap them and remove them.

The staff is friendly and adequate. I believe Wyndham purchased the property earlier in the year and you can get a timeshare presentation if you like. They are not pushy about taking the presentation.

  • Liked — Family arae
  • Disliked — lack of maintainance
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2007

We stayed in G-6 for 7 days the first part of December 2007. I would definitely recommend staying here. There is ample information already about the remodel on the owner’s website so I won't go into that. Yes, the remodel results are great. Contact the owner directly for all the info you might need as he is very helpful. The actual renting is done through Kauai Vacation Rentals & Real Estate where there will be a non-refundable $110 cleaning fee so no need to wash the linens before departure. The unit was for sale but that did not impact our renting. However, I would advise asking about the sale in case it would impact you. The AC set a 72 in the bedroom was very nice if your used to sleeping at cooler than Hawaii temperatures. Also has a washer and dryer, TV with VCR/DVD, and high speed cable internet. The entire grounds of the complex, pool, etc. are well kept and taken care of. For example, our neighbors’ refrigerator broke and someone from “housekeeping” was there to haul it away fairly quickly. I don’t know how soon they got a replacement. The patio looks out north down the coast which is very picturesque. The location is central for dining, shopping and exploring. It is a few miles north of the airport along Hwy 56 sharing the stretch of beach with the Hilton. Lihue is 5 miles south and Wailua/Kapaa are less than 10 miles north. There were maybe a handful of people on the beautiful beach (idyllic) that stretched for miles at any given time. The water/currents here are dangerous so if you want to swim, travel a few miles north to Lygate park.

The patio does look out to a dirt track along side the beach. We were at the condo maybe half the week and during that time there were maybe 4 hours total of motor escapades. It looks like a track where locals stop by now and then to run their dirt bikes and three wheelers and not a scheduled big event racing thing. When someone did show up, there were maybe 1-2 people. Not a big deal.

You can easily walk south down the beach but that side is more rocky than going north. The beach going north has a larger expanse of sand and visual appeal. However, to go north on the beach you must traverse a shallow “stream / pool” a few yards wide. The water was not even moving and depending on the tide was up to your knees. Only a problem if you’re handicap.

One last thing concerning Kauai’s weather and not the condo itself: Understand the weather before you go and set reasonable expectations. If you think you’re going somewhere to escape the mainland winter and only sun-bake for a week, you don’t know Kauai. The island has many other sites to see other than beaches; things you can do in the rain. Kauai gets as much rain as the Pacific Northwest and if you hit a Kona storm in the winter you may get a few washed out windy days, a few mostly sunny days and some in-between…like we did.

  • Liked — remodeled, clean
  • Disliked — price
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Kauai Beach Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kauai Beach Villas

Address: 4330 Kauai Beach Drive, Lihue, Kauai, HI 96766
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Lihue
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 hotels in Lihue
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Kauai Beach Villas 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo and Travelocity so you can book your Kauai Beach Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kauai Beach Villas Hotel Lihue
Kauai Beach Hotel
Kauai Beach Resort
Pahio Kauai Beach Villas
Kauai Beach Villas HI

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kauai Beach Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.