We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay Mexican, they get you in and out quick” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mariachi's Authentic Mexican Restaurant

Mariachi's Authentic Mexican Restaurant
3501 Rice Street, #205 in the Harbor Mall, Lihue, Kauai, HI 96766
(808) 246-1570
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #52 of 90 Restaurants in Lihue
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Top Contributor
165 reviews 165 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Okay Mexican, they get you in and out quick”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014 via mobile

Nothing special Mexican, but attentive staff and quick service makes it a good place to grab a bite after the beach. They will also validate parking, not that it really matters, the parking gate is usually unmanned and you just kind of throw your ticket in there as you leave the lot.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    61
    43
    17
    38
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Castle Pines, Colorado
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Pretty Good Mexican Fare”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

Service is great, view is great, food is pretty good. We eat Italian in Mexico so why not Mexican in Hawaii? The menu is fairly traditional. If you want Mexican in a casual setting, you won't go wrong here. Sitting out on the deck offers a decent view of the bay.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lihue, Hawaii
2 reviews
“Great food and service!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

Great food and service, nuff said! Got to try the Kalua pork, super moist and tasty. So often Kalua pork is dry and tasteless.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon City, Oregon, United States
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Good food but beware of paying for extra salsa. ”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

The food was pretty good. I would recommend the Mahi Mahi fish taco. But the rice was far from authentic and you have to pay for extra salsa. I can understand paying extra for chips but not slasa.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Fantastic food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

We visited several times on each of our Kauai trips...and I know good Mexican food! My husband ordered the burrito and I had the chicken tacos. The chicken tacos were so good! My husband said that the meat in the burrito had a very good flavor and was seasoned perfectly. We ate out on the patio and enjoyed the nice breeze. The only con was the strawberry margarita I ordered. It really did not taste good. It seemed watered down. Next time I'll stick to a soda. I know people think it's strange to go to Hawaii and eat Mexican food but don't let that stop you from eating here. You'll be glad you stopped in.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mariachi's Authentic Mexican Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Mariachi's Authentic Mexican Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mariachi's Authentic Mexican Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.