We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very average Mexican food” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mariachi's Authentic Mexican Restaurant

Mariachi's Authentic Mexican Restaurant
3501 Rice Street, #205 in the Harbor Mall, Lihue, Kauai, HI 96766
(808) 246-1570
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #51 of 92 restaurants in Lihue
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Parker, Colorado
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Very average Mexican food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Maybe it is just Hawaii, but we foundf the service to be very slow almost everywhere. This place was slower than average - one servcer for the main dining area.. Food was not at all spicy. However, the fish tacos were tasty and the guacamole was above average.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

56% Recommend
    48
    49
    30
    12
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fairfield, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Excited to see an authentic Mexican restaurant”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

We all four ordered taco salads, ground beef were terrible, cold meat, few black beans, mainly lettuce and some sour cream and guacamole on top. Same for chicken and shredded beef. Will it have that again, also refills on soft drinks were extra and also extra for additional chips and salsa.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avondale, Arizona
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Serviceable Mexican fare”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

If you're jonesing for Mexican food in Kauai, this is place to go! We stopped in for lunch after taking our helicopter tour of the island. Great value, and really good food.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Finally!! Tasty Mexican Food in Hawaii”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

We have been to Oahu, Maui, The Big Island and now Kauai. This is the ONLY place we have found food that resembles actual Mexican food. Now mind you, we are from San Diego, I grew up less than 5 miles from the Tijuana border so I realize I may be a little biased, but I can honestly write and recommend Mariachi's. My husband had the Chili Relleno combination plate and ate all of it. I had the Chicken Fajitas. There was so much food I couldn't eat all of it. We sat talking with a gentleman that now lives on the island that is orginally from Los Angeles and he said the same thing about this place being the closest he has come to actaul Mexican food. We have eaten at other Mexican places in Hawaii and left completely dissatisfied and hungry only to eat something when we got back to the vacation rental. Great Place to eat!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Abundant, good food ,friendly service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012 via mobile

We are not big fans of Mexican food. However Mariachi delivered tasty enchiladas and fish tacos , large portions, and the waitress was very friendly and helpful. I saw no negatives in the meal. We took back the leftovers for a snack this morning.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mariachi's Authentic Mexican Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Mariachi's Authentic Mexican Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mariachi's Authentic Mexican Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.