We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unexciting train ride” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Kauai Plantation Railway

Kauai Plantation Railway
3-2087 Kaumualii Hwy, Lihue, Kauai, HI 96766
808-245-7245
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 17 attractions in Lihue
Type: Scenic Railroads
Activities: Group tours/train
Attraction Details
Encinitas, California
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Unexciting train ride”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2012

I did this with my two small children. The train was nice looking but the ride was very dull. The guide was texting on his phone the first half of the trip so would continuously get distracted while talking to us. Thank goodness my kids had some animals to feed at the end as they did enjoy this part. This was a pricey way to feed some livestock.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    38
    12
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
“Don't waste your Money!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2012

If you are traveling with young kids they would enjoy it but for adults this tour is a ridiculous waste of time and money! My wife and I were there in Dec '11 and took this tour as a Cruise Ship excursion (Oceana), what a joke and a ripoff!!!

Our's was evidently the "standard tour" lasting an hour or so (beware of the mumbo-jumbo description of their other offerings). In accordance with the tour's description we were expecting to see an operating plantation with multiple crops but instead the train did a double-loop of what I would call a visitor's botanical garden. Boarding the train consumed 15-20 minutes and half of the remaining time on the train was spent on a stop to feed heard of corralled wild pigs - what fun!

The train consisted of three cars; all with roofs, one with windows and two offering an open view. The tour guide was in the front car, shouting descriptions of the vegetation and pointing, but by the time the second and third cars got to that location we had no idea of what he was describing.

After the train ride our cruise ship excursion bus then waited for 20-30 minutes for people to roam the gift shop - what fun!

When visiting Kauai I recommend not falling for this tourist trap.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idaho Falls, Idaho
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Expensive Ticket to Nowhere”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2011

Pretty expensive ride ($18/adult) - see typical Hawaiian plants and groves -. Fun part was getting off the train and feeding bread to the pigs and goats midway through the ride.
If you've done the Pineapple Express at Dole Plantation on Oahu, don't waste your time and money here.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown, Texas
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Train”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2011

I enjoyed the train but I really feel it is for kids with families but the grounds were very nice.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cabo San Lucas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Awesome & so unexpected!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2011

This was another cool surprise at Kilohana!! Great history and amazing scenery..... I highly recommend!

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kauai Plantation Railway also viewed

 

Been to Kauai Plantation Railway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kauai Plantation Railway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Kauai Plantation Railway to your Saves list