We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nitro Beer and Food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kauai Beer Company

Kauai Beer Company
4265 Rice Street, Lihue, Kauai, HI 96766
808-245-2337
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 98 Restaurants in Lihue
Restaurant details
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nitro Beer and Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

We went the first Friday they serve food. Fantastic! Spent grain pretzels are the bomb! Tried the Nitro beer, beer will never be the same. Limited hours and parking

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    20
    4
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Redondo Beach, California
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Beer here is great, the food......”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

im not sure I didnt get to eat,but the homemade pretzels are rad...any way back to the beer..I did a sampling of thier beer and a few more pints of my favorites....I was a little buzzed when I left but there was a pale ale that had lots of floral notes and it was great as well as unique and memorable.....

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great beer!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

Had to stop in and try out the local craft beer at Kauai Beer Co. while visiting the island and was not disappointed. Enjoyed a yumm pretzel with a Tropical Armadillo (my fave). The decor was definitely lacking but who cares when there's great beer and friendly service?!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northville, Michigan
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent local restaurant - avoid the tourists”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

We recently visited Lihue and drove by Kauai Beer Co (in downtown Lihue). For whatever reason, this place has not received much press attention. This turned out to be a great little brew pub - good lineup of beers with knowledgable staff. Perhaps because it doesn't show up on the hotel concierge list of restaurants, it seemed to be mostly local customers. They do not serve food at this point, so if you are interested in food with your beer - look for one of the nights where they have 2-3 local food trucks. This was an awesome experience - great way to mix beer with some of the local food - note: it's quite crowded at these times.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Vancouver
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Beer-lovers Trifecta: Awesome Beer Flights, Great Growlers, and Truck Stop Thursday”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

We heard about the Kauai Beer Co.'s Truck Stop Thursday on Facebook, so made a point to be (very thirsty) in Lihue that day. We enjoyed chatting with personable and knowledgable Nate, the head brewer, and sampled a full flight of excellent beer... followed by "a couple" other tasters.

The Green Pig food truck was scheduled to be onsite at 5 p.m. (which was a good thing, because we were starving). What a fantastic food truck! I enjoyed the best burger I've ever eaten -- not to mention, the to-die-for, fresh-cut spiral fries. Kauai Beer + Truck Stop Thursday = Awesomeness.

We left with full bellies, two growlers, and great memories. Thanks, Nate!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kauai Beer Company also viewed

 

Been to Kauai Beer Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kauai Beer Company, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.