We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Buffet was Average, Bennedict was Superb!!!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Kukui's Restaurant and Bar

Kukui's Restaurant and Bar
Kaua'i Marriott Resort & Beach Club, 3610 Rice St., Lihue, Kauai, HI
808/245-5050
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #25 of 98 Restaurants in Lihue
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $20 - $30
Cuisines: Eclectic
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Overland Park, Kansas
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Buffet was Average, Bennedict was Superb!!!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Don't bother with their pricey buffet = $25+ and not the greatest selection. We chose the buffet on our first visit, thinking it was more food for the money, especially since drinks (all fruit juices, tea, coffee, etc) were included. it was Average at best. We tried it again and ENJOYED their Eggs Bennedict. My Goodness, It was AWESOME!!! I love my Eggs Benedict, and their's did NOT disappoint! Actually some of the best I've ever had. Highly Recommend

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    62
    39
    14
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Melville, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Really good service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

I ate hear twice during my week stay at the Marriott, and I was thrilled with it each time. Let me start by saying the service is very good. Being a server myself I am very critical of restaurant service and the servers here were very good. They are very knowledgeable of their menu and very genuine in caring about your experience. The atmosphere is also excellent with the restaurant being located in a quiet space down by the pool which makes you feel very secluded.
The one critique I would have to say is that the menu is limited and a little pricey. If you are not interested in trying their fresh catch of the day you may not be thrilled with he menu, but with that you are in Hawaii and the fish is excellent, so I highly recommend giving it a try.
Also The dessert was the best I had on the island. Try the Macadamia cream pie it is really good.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Lived here my whole life, Best breakfast buffet I've had in a long time.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Came here on a random morning with my mom and was pleasantly surprised at how wonderful the food was, unique delicious dishes and made my mouth water and taste buds go crazy! Ambiance and wait staff was excellent. It was a beautiful sunny morning, very peaceful and relaxing listening to the water fountains spraying in the pool. Therapeutic actually. I really enjoyed the sliced seasoned scalloped potatoes, chicken chili, fresh fruits and omlet station. Everything was great, will definitely be back. Pricing was also good for the quality and options available at the buffet. :) server was really friendly, welcoming and funny.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Bar food at Kauai Marriott”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013 via mobile

I had two Mai tais which was average but the mushroom flatbread with mozzarella, feta cheese and garnish with fron mint leaves and arugula which was amazing !

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Can you say buffet”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

I have to say this is the best bruch my wife and I have ever had, the food is half the deal but the setting is the other.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kukui's Restaurant and Bar also viewed

 

Been to Kukui's Restaurant and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kukui's Restaurant and Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.