We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You get what you pay for” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Kalapaki Beach Hut

Kalapaki Beach Hut
3474 Rice St, Lihue, Kauai, HI 96766
808 246 6330
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 90 Restaurants in Lihue
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“You get what you pay for”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

Black Hut is an alternative to the expensive breakfast you get at the next door Marriott.
It’s truck Stop style fast food. Coffee is good, service is very friendly and the atmosphere is OK.
I will probably not go back there simply because I like my hash browns as pan fried shredded potatoes and not as deep fried fritters.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    163
    169
    43
    12
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Boulder, Colorado
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“First visited in 2013, still great in 2014!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

Kalapaki Beach Hut is the place to go to have an inexpensive, yet delicious, meal while on Kauai. It's tucked away within walking distance of the Marriott. We've tried their hamburgers, fish-of-the-day sandwich, french fries, and taro fries...all recommended.

There is a small dining open-to-the-air dining room upstairs that feels like you're in a treehouse. It's a great place for a family to dine.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centerville, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Nice beach side lunch spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014 via mobile

This was a nice inexpensive place to get a good lunch with fast service and an ocean view of Kalapaki Bay. The fish and chips with homemade tartar sauce were delicious. It was within walking distance of the Marriott Beach Side Resort.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utah
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great food and shave ice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

Visited on a couple of different trips to Hawaii. Very convenient from Marriott and/or Kalapaki Beach. Good burgers, fries, taro fries, and GREAT shave ice. Shakes are yummy too.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, CA
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

My husband and son say the french toast was awesome. My breakfast eggs were tough and toast was untested, but the portuguese sausage was tasty.

I gave it a four because of the french toast. Still, we enjoyed sitting out looking at the bay.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kalapaki Beach Hut also viewed

 

Been to Kalapaki Beach Hut? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kalapaki Beach Hut, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.