We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kalapaki Beach Hut

Kalapaki Beach Hut
3474 Rice St, Lihue, Kauai, HI 96766
808 246 6330
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 98 Restaurants in Lihue
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Takeout
Eagan
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Loved it”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Just came back and am already missing the breakfast..We ate here 3 of the 5 days we stayed on the island..
My husband had eggs, hashbrowns and bacon the plate was full of food and tasted better than a perkins or dennys according to him.. I had the breakfast sandwhich, hamburger bun, mayo, lettuce, tomato, egg and bacon wayyy good..
Also had the shaved ice one day also very good the ice was shaved very fine melted in your mouth :)

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

445 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    188
    191
    50
    12
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Best place in town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

This was my home but my wife wanted to cook for ourselves. I will bet we would have saved money eating here every day instead of cooking at the condo. Simple rib stickin' fare and a lovely upstairs, with an airy view. This is the place I miss the most.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benicia, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Wish I knew about this place earlier”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

After 16 days in both Oahu and Kauai and 5 tries, I finally found the absolutely best place for shaved ice. They have a wonderful variety of flavors and you can mix them as you please. I tried cherry/lime/coconut the first time. The coconut was the bomb! I went back again (since my companion kept wanting more of mine), this time with a mixture of vanilla and coconut--I think it's called "Blue Hawaiian. Yummy. They were generous portions and it didn't leave any type of aftertaste in your mouth like some of them do. II went back for breakfast the following morning and wasn't disappointed. They serve both American and Hawaiian type breakfasts. The bacon was delicious, meaty and done to perfection.This was a lot less expensive than other places located on the main thoroughfares for both the shaved ice and the breakfast. If you're looking for something casual and cheap, this is the place to go. They have picnic tables set up in both the front and back of the building as well as a bar where you can eat. I didn't try the lunch yet, but I'll be back next year.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Osos, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Lunch with a view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

Yes, the view from the tables is not so great SO we took our fish sandwiches and drinks and sat on the grass in the shade under a Palm tree in front of Duke's by the Marriott. Great view of the bay, surfers, paddle boarders. Bought a mat at ABC store to sit on, kicked off our shoes. Fries were hot and crisp. Fish was moist but could have used more seasoning. We come here every year. What's not to like?

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
New York
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Good breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Well, we visitede this place because we missed breakfast at the resort and since it was close to where we were staying we decided to go there. Pancakes were good, also coffee, fast service, sausage was a little greasy. We sat downstairs and everything was ok.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kalapaki Beach Hut also viewed

 

Been to Kalapaki Beach Hut? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kalapaki Beach Hut, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.