We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average Food with Above Average Staff” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Portofino

Cafe Portofino
3481 Hoolaulea Way, Kauai Marriott, Lihue, Kauai, HI 96766
808-245-2121
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Cafe Portofino is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #31 of 98 Restaurants in Lihue
Price range: $12 - $100
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dessert, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Marriott Way
Description: True Italian fare, but also specializing in Seafood and Steaks! Cafe Portofino overlooking the Pacific Ocean near the Marriott hotel has been called "A honeymoon destination' by Martha Stewart, and 'one of the top 10!' by Gourmet Magazine. Please come and enjoy the gentle tradewinds and enjoy a classic dining experience.
Hilton Head Island
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Average Food with Above Average Staff”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

We have been coming to the Marriott Resort for 16 years as owners and have eaten at the various restaurants within walking distance many times. We brought some guests and they asked for Italian so we went the Cafe. It is always quieter that Duke's next store which I like. The harp player is first rate. The waiter Patrick was welcoming and very helpful describing the various fish specials. Service was above average.

I think the owner/manager needs rethink the approach. The food is average. Veal, my favorite food was burnt and the linguini cold. However, our friends loved their fish. The view is terrific and the wine selection was good. I think we are paying for the whole deal with view and great food in addition to nice staff. It just feels like something is wrong.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

453 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    164
    101
    79
    62
    47
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Palmetto, Florida
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Italian food with a beach view.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014 via mobile

We were seated promptly and service was good. Our complaint was that the potatoes served with our veal dishes were exceptionally salty, and the vegetable medley was mushy and bland. Pasta dishes were good and of amply size. They have a great view of the harbor. They had live harp music. Which would have been lovely except we could also hear the music from the restaurant next door.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ohio
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Good Italian Food with very Poor Owner attitude”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

Staying at Marriott Resort, the choice of restaurants is limited, especially if you have not rented a car. We ate there three times, since we like Italian food and have some but very limited choices of vegetarian dishes. At our ages,we also like to take light dinner and avoid drinks at night. The food has been good and swerved hot. Service was also excellent. However, the attitude of the owner, who greets and seats customers, was awful and very unfriendly and became worse each succeeding day. Finally, we have decided not to go back there and have looked for an alternate place to eat. If I were the owner and my manager showed this attitude towards a customer, I would not tolerate it.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonnyville
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Lovely atmosphere.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

I especially enjoyed the romantic atmosphere with the harp player. Food was great but the service was nothing special. We felt somewhat neglected.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Texas
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Decent Italian food; great view and service ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

It's best to make a reservation, but we arrived at 5:30, so didn't have any trouble getting a table. Our waitress was attentive and polite, making good recommendations on wine and food. My shrimp pasta with pink sauce was lacking in flavor but decent. The specialty salad with goat cheese was outstanding and I wish I had just had that for my meal. My partner had the fish special and said it was delicious but the portion was quite small. We really enjoyed the view of the bay and would recommend coming for that reason alone.
enjoyed

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Portofino also viewed

 

Been to Cafe Portofino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Portofino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.