We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“dinner” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Portofino

Cafe Portofino
3481 Hoolaulea Way, Kauai Marriott, Lihue, Kauai, HI 96766
808-245-2121
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Cafe Portofino is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #30 of 90 Restaurants in Lihue
Price range: $12 - $100
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Marriott Way
Description: True Italian fare, but also specializing in Seafood and Steaks! Cafe Portofino overlooking the Pacific Ocean near the Marriott hotel has been called "A honeymoon destination' by Martha Stewart, and 'one of the top 10!' by Gourmet Magazine. Please come and enjoy the gentle tradewinds and enjoy a classic dining experience.
Los Angeles
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Located right next to Dukes. It has live harp music and the service is very good. Nice Italian dishes as well as fresh fish. Wine prices are a little heavy, but your in Hawaii

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

400 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    142
    89
    67
    59
    43
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Terrible service, good location, hit or miss food.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013 via mobile

Ate there twice while staying at the Marriott. The first night went pretty well - one of our fish dishes was very good, the other ok, the pasta was good and service decent. The 2nd night we got food to go and that's when things went downhill. The mushrooms were very good, fish was ok, and fettuccine was very bland. However, the pasta had a hair in it which made it inedible. When I called to ask for just that portion of our meal refunded they refused. They wanted us to walk back and give us more pasta. We had spent over $200 on two dinners and they refused to refund $20! To top it off the next night I called in an order of mushrooms to go and they refused to take phone orders. Myopic management. Dukes next door is a much better bet.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cody
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
“italian cuisine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

how nice to go to a nice restaurant were the staff appreciates the customer. top class place, good food enjoyed the music witht the harp. started with appetizers they didn't rush us to finish so it gave us time to enjoy the talk and enjoy.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“a little Italian...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Cafe Portofino was close to the Marriott so we thought we would try it. It wasn't bad but I have had much better. Maybe because I am Italian but the ravioli and lasagna and fettuchini alfredo were just lacking something...we all agreed...Should have tried somewhere else.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Very accommodating”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

We stayed at the nearby Marriott and ended up eating here 3 nights with our 3 young children. The ambiance on the outdoor porch is fabulous, great view of the ocean. They were willing to accommodate changing sauces for my picky son. They seemed to take his severe, life-threatening allergy to nuts seriously and we had no problems. When they brought out the gelato, on 2 of 3 nights the cookies were removed from his, but not the other kids. When I asked why, they said they were concerned there may be almonds in them (most places wouldn't think of that, as they look like just plain wafers, and I'd be asking them to go back and read the label). The 3rd night was busier, and the waitress was from Eastern Europe, so they didn't catch it. But the first two waitresses seemed very aware of this issue.

Speaking of wait staff - all were very attentive and we were never lacking for anything. One overheard us talking about wanting to see sea turtles, and told us where to go and even drew a little map. We used it and spotted 5 in Poipu the next day, right where she said they'd be.

The music on one night was very nice - quiet, background Hawaiian music that did not at all interfere with our meal or ability to talk. One night a wonderfully nice woman came through selling leis. She made herself available but was not at all pushy. It was all very tactful.

We've eaten at many high-end Italian restaurants and have relatives in Italy. We consider ourselves foodies :-0 I would say the food here is certainly good, and all in all, you will have a very nice meal, but as high-end Italian goes, it's average. You won't be blown away, but it is very good and the ambiance makes it all worth it. At the end of a long day in the sun, it was simply our favorite option to walk to, and a lot nicer than trying to navigate the VERY DARK island by rental car at night! Bottom line, you probably can't go wrong here!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Portofino also viewed

 

Been to Cafe Portofino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Portofino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.