We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Local and super tasty!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Garden Island BBQ & Chinese Restaurant

Garden Island BBQ & Chinese Restaurant
4252 Rice St., Lihue, Kauai, HI 96766
808-245-8868
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 90 Restaurants in Lihue
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Entertaining clients, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Takeout
Kansas City
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Local and super tasty!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

Before our respective flights out of Kauai, 7 of us got seats in a crowded, recommended BBQ place...not fancy...local and popular! Didn't want McD's...soon enough on that! Hubby had delish seafood stir fry on noodles! Oh my! Large and scrumptious!!
BBQ at first different than expected, but won us over!!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    70
    11
    1
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Super service, super food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

We had a 9:50 pm flight and arrived after 8 pm so we needed to eat quickly! The place was packed but they managed to seat us, take our order and serve, and have us out of there in great speed and with great attitude.

The food was the best we ate on the island of Kauai. Absolutely delicious

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco, ca
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“big portions of food here”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

This restaurant offers quick service with very large portions of food. The orders have lots of fresh ingredients in them - such as vegetables, char sui (bbq pork), mushrooms, chicken, beef, etc. Had the War Won ton soup and beef cake noodle which were excellent choices for lunch. Plenty of parking on the side streets and it is easily reachable as it is in central Lihue. Definitely recommend Garden Island BBQ & Chinese Restaurant if you are in this neighborhood and hungry for a big meal! Also, very reasonable prices for the big portion orders!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Maybe the barbecue, but not the Chinese...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

I'm giving 3 stars for our waitress and busboy as well as the great, affordable prices (hard to find on Kauai!). But the food was mediocre at best and the place is not so clean.... We ordered a few Schezuan Chinese dishes, so maybe they don't specialize in that. Although, even their white rice was not the best. Probably won't be back.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Local Favorite and inexpensive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

We have had 4 meals here in the past 2 weeks, both lunch & dinner. This restaurant is hopping busy and among our favorite for Asian as well as American fare. Service is excellent. On Rice St. in Lihue, easy to find. A MUST if you're in Kauai.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Garden Island BBQ & Chinese Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Garden Island BBQ & Chinese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Garden Island BBQ & Chinese Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.