We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't bother” 2 of 5 stars
Review of JJ's Broiler

JJ's Broiler
Anchor Cove Shopping Center, 3416 Rice St., Lihue, Kauai, HI 96766
808-246-4422
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #24 of 98 Restaurants in Lihue
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $5 - $25
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse, Seafood, Hamburgers
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Alberta, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Don't bother”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014 via mobile

Although the service was good, the meal we had wasn't. We ordered the cowboy steak which was a slice of prime rib which was broiled to our liking. I couldn't find much meat for all the fat on the steak. Cutting was a challenge too. Maybe other items on the menu would have been a better choice but we wont go back to find out.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

474 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    163
    149
    90
    38
    34
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denton, Texas, United States
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Laid Back Atmosphere Good Food and Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

This restaurant is on Kalapaki Beach about 1/8 mile from the Kauai Resort Marriott. It is an easy walk. You can sit in the fresh air with a great view of the beach and resort. The menu offered more variety on sandwiches than the others around here. The waiter was great and the food was very good at reasonable prices. Overall a great place to chill out and have a bite.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Texas
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Completely ignored ”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

We went here on our first day in Kauai since it was next door to our hotel and seemed to have
decent reviews. We were seated outside. There were very few people here, but it was 430,
so we figured it was just an odd time. After waiting almost 10 minutes and listening to the bartender shoot the breeze with one employee drinking at the bar and another waiter, we decided it was time to go. What a shame that our first experience in Kauai was such a negative one. Needless to say,when we left, no one even noticed. We will not return and certainly don't recommend this establishment.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto Alegre, RS
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“GREAT choice for a GOOD meal with friendly services”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014 via mobile

Great food, great service, sweet beach view, good prices. Can't ask more from a leisurly joint. Fish, shrimp and crab dishes are very good and the hawaiian chowder positively delicious. Not a chef's cuisine to never be forgotten but a place offering meals and moments to me fondly remembered.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Good Dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

We ate at JJ's in mid-January, my wife had the ribs and I had fish &chips, lots of food. Both meals were tasty, place was not that full but when looking for somewhere to eat the maitre'd shared the menu with us and offered other suggestions in the mall, we looked around but came back and was happy with our choice.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed JJ's Broiler also viewed

 

Been to JJ's Broiler? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage JJ's Broiler, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.