We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food - Good Outdoor View - nothing special” 3 of 5 stars
Review of JJ's Broiler

JJ's Broiler
Anchor Cove Shopping Center, 3416 Rice St., Lihue, Kauai, HI 96766
808-246-4422
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #29 of 90 Restaurants in Lihue
Price range: $5 - $25
Cuisines: American, Hamburgers, Seafood, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Doing business, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Akron, Ohio
Top Contributor
190 reviews 190 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
221 helpful votes 221 helpful votes
“Good Food - Good Outdoor View - nothing special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2011

We stopped here for an early dinner on the way to the airport. We sat outside and enjoyed the view on the deck overlooking the ocean. The food was good and the service was good as well. I really have no complaints, but probably wouldn't go there again as it wasn't anything special. It didn't seem to have the same outdoor fun vibe as Duke's , which is right around the corner.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    131
    121
    79
    33
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fish Tacos gave me food poisoning”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2011

Horrible experience all around, my stomach is still not right three weeks later.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“I would never go back to this restaurant”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2011

We went before picking up family at the airport and chose JJ's because the review in
Frommer's made it sound go good. It wasn't. Old, no one there, unfriendly staff,
so-so service. I ordered the house special based on what Frommer's said and it
was horrible. Looked like someone threw up on my plate. Total waste of money.
Don't go here.

  • Visited August 2010
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bayarea
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Our first Stop Every Visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2011

We always stop at JJ'S for lunch right after landing at the Lihue airport. It is close by and is the perfect place to start a vacation. JJ's has a great view of Kalapaki beach from its patio. the menu has something for everyone and very generous portions. It would be easy to split a sandwich, salad or entree. On our two recent visits we had the Kahlua pig and cabbage with rice, a cheeseburger and the crab cake wrap. Everything was delicious and served promptly. The desserts look fabulous, but we've always been too full to try them. The staff is friendly and we have never had a long wait. We have never eaten dinner here, so cannot vouch for that, but we will keep coming back to JJ's for lunch!

  • Visited June 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
So Cal
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Enjoyed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2011

Wow, I can't believe all the awful reviews for this joint. We had time to kill before getting to the airport our last day, and drove down to the bay in Lihue. A few years back we had been to Duke's which is right there and that place was pretty bad. So we saw this JJ's Broiler there and decided to go there for lunch. Our server was really, really nice and attentive to us. We had a great outside table under an umbrella in the shade and we could watch the surfers and boats in the bay. We all enjoyed our lunch, my other half loves reuben sandwiches and said it was one of the best he has had. I had fish tacos, and being from California, where they have the best, it was just ok. One negative was there seemed to be lots of flies swarming around.

  • Visited May 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed JJ's Broiler also viewed

 

Been to JJ's Broiler? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage JJ's Broiler, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.