We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Owners need a trip to Arizona and Texas” 2 of 5 stars
Review of La Bamba Mexican Restaurant - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
La Bamba Mexican Restaurant
4901 Kuhio Hwy, Lihue, Kauai, HI 96746
808.245.5972
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Kapaa, Hawaii
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Owners need a trip to Arizona and Texas”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

This was one of the worst excuses for Mexican Food I have ever had no matter where I have been in the world.The service was good and a great beer selection but they really need to go get educated on real Mexican Food.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    10
    7
    7
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Agoura Hills, CA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Good food - slow service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

I've had lunch and dinner at this restaurant and I always enjoy the food. Personnel are very friendly but the service is slow. Recently went for lunch and again the food was good but it took almost 30 minutes to get served. Having to rush a meal at that point to get back to work wasn't what I had in mind.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lihue, Hawaii
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best authentic mexican restaurant on the island!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2012

This is my favorite mexican place to eat! They have great food, large portions, and affordable prices. My favorites are the chimichanga bamba, nachos, and veggie burrito. Honestly, everything on the menu is good so you cant go wrong here!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lihue
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great Mexican food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2012

Lots of space and a light Mexican atmosphere and the food always fresh & hot!

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eden Prairie
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Some of the best food we had.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2012

Dining room is so-so. No views of water or sand, but this place had wonferful food! In fact, some of the best we had in a week on the island. Take out orders make so much sense!

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Bamba Mexican Restaurant also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Bamba Mexican Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.