We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Casual, Good Eats, Fast Service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Duke's Canoe Club

Duke's Canoe Club
3610 Rice St, Lihue, Kauai, HI 96766
(808) 246-9599
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Duke's Canoe Club is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #7 of 98 Restaurants in Lihue
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Seafood, Contemporary, Pacific Rim
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Scenic view, Entertaining clients, Large groups, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dessert, Dinner, Delivery, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Shoreline Access
Transit: Bus stop on Rice Street
Description: On the sand at Kalapaki Beach, Duke’s is dedicated to legendary surfer Duke Kahanamoku, Hawaii’s Ambassador of Aloha. The restaurant’s open-air design offers stunning, sweeping ocean views while the 30 foot waterfall plunges into a koi pond below that meanders through the tables. Enjoy a leisurely lunch, romantic dinner, or tropical cocktail in a fun, friendly atmosphere.
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Casual, Good Eats, Fast Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

We had fish and steak tacos here followed by signature dessert and coffees. Service was fast, food was great. Simple, casual experience. Would recommend steak tacos over fish.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,849 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    860
    644
    255
    64
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manteca, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Restaurants”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

We eat at Dukes three or four times every time we stay here. Downstairs, the food is maybe a little better than average but the location is fantastic. Upstairs, the food is generally a little better but also a good deal more expensive.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anahola, Hawaii
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Thanks Dante for being a cool guy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

Now I'll be honest I don't go here to often and for as long as I can remember the salad bar here at dukes is epic. Epic it was. Nice addition of some fresh kale to the s bar oh and of course the sweet potato. Purple sweet potato that is. Very cool. The appetizers were sweet, the dinner was freaking epic. Opakapaka, hawaiian snapper. Sooooo good. But you know what made this dinner really cool? Our waiter Dante. So thanks for everything man. Great service... But this visit to dukes could not be complete without ordering the most extreme of all ice cream pies! Duh Hula Pie! Icing on the cake baby.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Pineapple Rum. Yum yum yum. ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

The only problem with this place is that every rum appeared so damn tasty on the menu we had to try them all. And they were actually that tasty. Best was the La Piña - served in an actual pineapple. Visually appealing and tasty. Mmmm mmm.

From what I can recall the food was also really good. I think I had the chicken teriyaki. Whatever it was, it was great. My girlfriend had the fish of the day which was Opa. She has better memory of the occasion (she had fewer Mai Tais).

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
L.A.
Top Contributor
180 reviews 180 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“Good for a touristy place on the beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

We were able to walk here from our cruise ship. We spent some time sunning & swimming on the beach and figured we needed a snack and some "Umbrella drinks" the place is popular and I think at times you might have to wait, but we did not. Food was decent and the drinks were pretty. If you are in the area and need something to eat or drink it is fun with good service.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Duke's Canoe Club also viewed

 

Been to Duke's Canoe Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Duke's Canoe Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.