We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Koloa Rum Company

Koloa Rum Company
3-2087 Kaumualii Hwy, Lihue, Kauai, HI 96766
(808) 246-8900 ‎
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 36 things to do in Lihue
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
Raleigh, North Carolina
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Fun!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

We went to a rum tasting here. The staff was very friendly and eager to answer questions. The rum cake is really good!

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    117
    48
    8
    5
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, B.C.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Fun & informative rum tasting but beware of inflated gift shop prices.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

Stopped at the Koloa Rum store this past September, 2012. I would recommend the rum tasting, which is informative, and lets you sample their product range. The rum is very good, and apparently their dark rum wins awards. I enjoy their dark rum and buy a bottle or two every time I visit Kauai.

I was dissappointed that their gift shop appears to gouge tourists with high prices for their product. HINT: Don't buy the dark rum from their shop, buy it for $5 cheaper per bottle at the Costco in Kauai. Small Kauai businesses love to push the "buy local Kauai" line, and I love to oblige them, but you should be able to go directly to source for the best price - anything less is just taking advantage of tourists, and the "buy local" line rings hollow.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
44 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Once is enough”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

When we arrived we walked into an empty tasting room, we were directed to sign in at the cashier's counter in the gift shop. We had a twenty minute wait and were told that only people on the sign-up list were allowed into the tasting. However other people had gathered in the tasting room, as the bartender was checking off people from the list she allowed those who 'crashed' the tasting room to join us. Not a huge deal, except they indicate that the tasting room only holds 10 people. Well we had 8 in our party and another couple who were on the list, plus the additional 5 people she allowed in. We were elbow to elbow in the tasting room, not exactly comfortable even when you know the people you're squeezed in with--tasting was good. Seems like they try to push the rum sales at the end, which is typical I suppose. We drove out of our way to come here, probably wouldn't make a special trip back--once is enough.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Canaveral, Florida
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“No Aloha spirit here”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

We had stopped by at 2:30pm during the week and was told that we had "just missed" the last flight tasting of the day. Spoke to several other tourist that got that message (at other days and times). We figured out that if you don't look like you can afford to purchase anything, you're not going to get to sample any of their products. The "gate keeper" was sure wrong about us and a couple others but now I'll boycott them (even though I do like their rum) just on principle.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delta, Canada
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Award winning rum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

Located in the Kilohana Plantation, this rum company is collecting awards from around the world. Their tasting room holds about 20 people and the 'rum-tender' carefully explains the difference of light to dark rums. You carefully build your own Mai Tai on the spot.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Koloa Rum Company also viewed

 

Been to Koloa Rum Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Koloa Rum Company, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.