We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still the most romantic place on Kauai” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gaylord's at Kilohana

Gaylord's at Kilohana
3-2087 Kaumualii Highway, Lihue, Kauai, HI
808-245-9593
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Gaylord's at Kilohana is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 90 Restaurants in Lihue
Price range: $12 - $30
Cuisines: Pacific Rim
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Nuhou
Description: Gaylord's offers one of Kauai's most beautiful settings for lunch, dinner or Sunday brunch. Located on the ground floor of the historic Kilohana Plantation home, diners are seated around an open-air courtyard with views of the plantation grounds and Mt. Waialeale in the distance. Our kitchen uses only the freshest, seasonal ingredients supporting our local farmers and fishermen. Our 67-acre sustainable farm provides much of the produce and herbs used in our dishes and cocktails. Menu items include starters like fresh Ahi Poke, Seafood Spring Rolls and Organic Greens Salads; Local Fish, Meat and Vegetarian Entrees; and Banana Cream Pie for Dessert! After your meal take a walk around the Kilohana grounds, shop in our assorted boutiques, visit the rum shop or take a ride on the plantation train. Join us at Gaylord's to enjoy the best of what Kauai has to offer in island food and experience. Call for reservations and details on weekly entertainment. Memorable by day...Unforgettable by Night.
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Still the most romantic place on Kauai”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

We love Gaylord's! This is one place you don't want to pass up if you are visiting Kauai. The Sunday brunch still remains quite nice and relaxing, although, it seems the buffet offerings have changed over the past several years. They used to have oatmeal, smoked salmon and more salads and breakfast breads. That has changed and now there are more hot dishes geared to mainland visitors. They do have specials that can be ordered in addition to the buffet at no extra cost. We each ordered the Ahi Tuna Benedict which was quite tasty, but our poached eggs were too well done and were more like soft boiled eggs. That was unfortunate. All in all, it is still a beautiful way to spend a Sunday morning. The coffee is good or you can get a breakfast mimosa or Bloody Mary and you won't ever feel rushed. Aloha at its best.

For dinner, you can't do much better. The atmosphere is romantic and beautiful. The Caesar salad with smoked salmon was very good and quite generous. The Ahi Tuna dish was beautiful but unfortunately the inside of the fish was still cold. We ordered it rare, but the inside should have been warm. The fried chicken and waffles plate was very generous and filling and quite tasty, although it is not a crispy fried chicken presentation, but more like a breaded oven baked version. The atmosphere is wonderful and the piano player will delight. Be sure to stop in the bar lounge area and have a drink, relax in a nice soft couch and enjoy the beauty and hospitality of Hawaii.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric H, Manager at Gaylord's at Kilohana, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Aloha Vheckler,

We are very pleased that you enjoyed your visit to Gaylord's at Kilohana and the Kilohana Plantation. We strive at bringing the very best to our guests and it sounds like in this instance we succeeded. We want to thank you for the kind words you have expressed in this excellent 5 Star review and for your continued patronage in years to come.

Mahalo Nui Loa,
Camille Parr
Manager for Eric Hanson GM
camille.gaylords@gmail.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

535 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    322
    136
    46
    21
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Food very overpriced!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

The tour of the plantation was severely dampened by the downpour of rain! The car we were in on the train did not have windows so needless to say we got wet. The vendors at the mansion had nice products but they were a bit overpriced. We chose the the sit down dinner instead of the buffet so that we could get the reserved sitting for the Laua. I do not consume large quantities when I eat so for me to say the portions of food were very small, means there was not alot of food on our plates! Having the reserved sitting for the Laua was the high point of the evening. We were all the way at the front which allowed us to have a great view of the show.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric H, Manager at Gaylord's at Kilohana, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Aloha AKLDallas,

The meals served are not Gaylord's choices or sizes. This is a Luau option of a 4 course plated menu meal. I do apologize about the sizes, which are out of our control and based on customer reviews in the past 7 years of doing the Manor House dinner. We do value your comments and I will relay this to the Luau Chef.

Mahalo,
Camille Parr
Manager for Eric Hanson GM
camille.gaylords@gmail.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Decent food, overpriced ”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

The atmosphere was a bigger win than the food. The plantation is beautiful and the covered outdoor dining adds to the experience. It's very serene. Appetizer portions are large and our crab dip was VERY good. However, entrées are very expensive and do not deliver on quality. Ahi tuna was good, but nothing special. Spare ribs were tough. Overall, food quality could use some work. Service was timely and friendly.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric H, Manager at Gaylord's at Kilohana, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Aloha KYCowgirl91,

Here at Gaylord's at Kilohana we strive to bring the very best to our guests. It seems that your dining experience was not our best and I do apologize for that. I do hope that you will be able to join us again and you will have a more memorable experience. Thank you for taking the time to write your review.

Mahalo,
Camille Parr
Manager for Eric Hanson GM
camille.gaylords@gmail.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great place to end our wonderful trip!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

This place came highly recommended to us and it did not disappoint.It is a very charming old plantation estate that must have been something in its time.We dined outside on the patio and had great service and a fabulous fresh ono for dinner.The ambiance here is so charming you do not even miss the ocean.Upstairs were art galleries and a fantastic women's clothing boutique with gorgeous apparel. All and all a great experience.!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric H, Manager at Gaylord's at Kilohana, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Aloha Barbara S,

Thank you for your kind words expressed in your 5 Star review. Here at Gaylord's at Kilohana we strive at bringing the very best to our guests. We are glad that you had a memorable experience at both our restaurant and throughout Kilohana Plantation. We look forward to your return and would like to thank you again for your continued patronage.

Mahalo,
Camille Parr
Manager for Eric Hanson GM
camille.gaylords@gmail.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga Springs, New York
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Absolutely delightful experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

My husband and I visited this restaurant for the first time and it was so great there was no discussion we went back the second night. Great food, service and atmosphere. The Sashimi Plate was the best I have had anywhere in Hawaii. At the other end of the spectrum the Spareribs were "lick your fingers" good. Music each night with the attentive staff. Can't wait to return.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric H, Manager at Gaylord's at Kilohana, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Aloha Darny7,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to write your 5 Star review. Here at Gaylord's at Kilohana we pride ourselves in bringing the very best to our guests and are very pleased you had a memorable experience. We look forward to your return and continued patronage.

Mahalo,

Camille Parr
Manager for Eric Hanson GM
camille.gaylords@gmail.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gaylord's at Kilohana also viewed

 

Been to Gaylord's at Kilohana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gaylord's at Kilohana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.