We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wish I could have kept eating here!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kalapaki Grill

Kalapaki Grill
3610 Rice Street, Kalapaki Beach, Lihue, Kauai, HI
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 90 Restaurants in Lihue
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Ramstein-Miesenbach, Germany
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Wish I could have kept eating here!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Our casual stop here, while we decided to pick up a quick bite to eat, ended up being our favorite food of the trip! We ate here twice, and were sad when it was closed the other 2 times we tried. We had the fish tacos, shrimp tacos, fish on pita, and pork tacos. All of us LOVED the food, and the price was well worth it! Convenient of you're staying at the Marriott in Lihue, but you could also park nearby and walk over. They serve food 11 am - 4pm. Seriously, I wish I could have dined here every day and tried all their dishes.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    42
    25
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, UT
Top Contributor
387 reviews 387 reviews
206 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 117 cities Reviews in 117 cities
375 helpful votes 375 helpful votes
“A small, but nice, poolside eaterie”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

The place is a small square hut, poolside at the Marriott. There is counter seating on 2 sides, several tables with umbrellas and they also have wandering servers around the pool and the lounge chairs on the beach. We had the turkey sandwich ($11) there twice because it was so good the first time. It was just for a light lunch, so my husband and I split it. You could choose white or wheat and it came with a good amount of turkey, cheese, lettuce and tomato. There were small packets of mayo and mustard included in the serving basket, also a slice of dill pickle and a small bag of chips. Very tasty.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great poolside bar and grill”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

The poolside grill helped make our vacation experience fantastic. The servers were friendly and came around often. The menu included healthy options as well as some more filling items. The chicken tenders were great. Sandwiches and veggies were perfect.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Fish pita sans pita mmmmmmm good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Service was fast and friendly and the fish was almost 6 oz and delicious
My fish pita came with chips and hummus (hummus so so) and the fish great

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis Park, Minnesota
Top Contributor
301 reviews 301 reviews
142 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 108 cities Reviews in 108 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
“Not Bad”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

It had pretty good food and really good specialty drinks. Everyone was happy with the food just not blown away.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kalapaki Grill also viewed

 

Been to Kalapaki Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kalapaki Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.