We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not awesome” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sushi Katsu

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Sushi Katsu
3173 Akahi St, Lihue, Kauai, HI 96766-1196
(808) 246-0176
Improve this listing
Ranked #71 of 98 Restaurants in Lihue
Cuisines: Japanese
Restaurant details
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Not awesome”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

This is the same restaurant as the Tip Top Cafe, only add a few Japanese screens between the tables and some bad sushi. There was not much variety on the menu, and the sushi we had did not taste particularly fresh. Honestly, I've had better sushi from a Midwestern grocery store deli. The miso was good, the teriyaki chicken was ok, and our waitress was very nice, but I'll check this one off my list and probably not be back.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    10
    4
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Awsome Food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Don’t be distracted by the location of this place, the food is really amazing. My wife and I have spent time in Japan and this is the real deal. The prices were very reasonable and the service was very friendly.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Amazing sushi on Kauai”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Initially, we had trouble finding sushi on Kauai, and then when we found it, it was really expensive. We finally found Sushi Katsu our last night. It is located at the Tip Top hotel in Lihue. In the morning the place serves breakfast as the Tip Top restaurant but at lunch and dinner it becomes Sushi Katsu, serving TOP NOTCH sushi that any sushi lover should NOT miss. We had Salmon Ju, a garden roll, california roll and spicy ahi roll. They were all amazing!! The salmon ju was really out of this world. I would strongly and highly recommend this place to anyone one the island. Really wish we'd found it sooner. Prices were reasonable with rolls consisting of a large 8 pieces and the salmon ju had at least 14-16 pieces of sashimi on top. AMAZING!! Prices per roll were 6.50-7.75 and the Salmon Ju was 19.95 with miso soup. They don't serve alcohol but you can bring your own bottle of wine and they'll supply glasses and opener at no cost to you, which sweetens the deal. Environment is 50's diner style which just suits the fact you're in Hawaii. Lots of pictures of Lihue in the 20's on the walls. If it's telling, we were the only non-local in the place.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great value!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

To warn you - this is a very strange set up. It's in a strip-mall setting and you have to walk through a convenient store/motel check-in to get to the sushi restaurant (yeah, it's strange). Don't let that deter you! The food is really good and a good value (lots of locals, so it's got to be good).

First, it's BYOB, so BYOB. Second, we ordered sushi and everyone really liked what they got (ahi, yellow fin, soft shell crab, sea food roll). The fish was fresh and the rolls were really big. However, the rest of the locals were ordering noodle and other Japanese dishes, so those could be even better than the sushi.

Overall, stick out the weird location and eat here, you won't regret it!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Some quality Sushi!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012 via mobile

This place is great! The sushi is very good and it's actually BIG unlike most sushi places. Their California rolls are absolutely wonderful but I would recommend the spicy ahi tuna roll! The waitress we had was absolutely delightful and stayed and chatted with us for a while. Just note that they aren't open too late so make sure to go between 5-8pm for dinner. Definitely would eat here again!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sushi Katsu also viewed

 

Been to Sushi Katsu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sushi Katsu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.