We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best pie ever!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Right Slice

The Right Slice
1543 Haleukana St, Lihue, Kauai, HI 96766
808-212-8320
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 92 restaurants in Lihue
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Bakery
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery
Description: The Right Slice is Kaua'i's only specialty pie shop. Featuring fresh local flavors in hand rolled butter crusts. Pot pies also available for lunch and dinner, 1 hour pre-order requested. Open M-Sat, 11-6.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best pie ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

we were lucky enough to enjoy the Blueberry Pina Colada Pie and the Macadamia Nut pie not once but twice on our recent trip to Kauai. We enjoyed it at a two different farmers markets and it was so much fun. Lines are always long so if you're at the farmers market get your pie first so you can get a good selection. I only wish we could have it here on the mainland!! So worth the calories

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

88% Recommend
    107
    27
    14
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Wake Forest, North Carolina
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“So much pie, so little time!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

We sought the location where these delectable pies emanate after seeing the lines at the local Poipu farmers market. Turns out the location is only about 100 yards from another Trip Advisor top choice--Mark's. after eating at both, I'm surprised I haven't seen a review that recommends following up a plate lunch at Mark's with a slice of pie at The Right Slice. We tried a slice of the all-time favorite, mango and passion fruit, at the store (2 yumms up) and then took a slice of the blueberry, goat cheese, glazed macadamia nut concoction home to eat later. This latter pie was an interesting blend of favors--the goat cheese not making an appearance on the taste buds until late on the palate, more of an aftertaste. This was my wife's favorite, but not so much for me. Unfortunately we won't have a chance to try more of their delicious fares since we leave for home in two days. Oh BTW, on Saturday, they discount their whole pies and slices by 20% after 5:00pm.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cowtown, TX
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“The Right Slice of Heaven!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

We look forward to our time in Kauai not only for its natural beauty but also for great foodie scene! At the top if this culinary group is Sandy Poehnelt's Right Slice gourmet pies which she sells by the slice at farmer's markets as well as Hanapepe's Friday Art Walk and her own bakery in Puhi (by KCC)
1543 Haleukana
M - Sat 11-6
Puhi‎ HI‎ 96766
My husband's fav is chocolate ganache & macaroon; mine is caramel apple. We buy several slices and hoard them in our refrigerator. We try to get at least 2 days' worth decadent delight.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A Small Island in the Northwest.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Hard to find, but worth it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

We had read a review of The Right Slice in a magazine, earmarked it for reference, and promptly lost the magazine. That's ok, just ask any local where to find the Lihue pie lady, and eventually you'll get there. Tucked away in an industrial part of town, The Right Slice is located in a small, tidy and very thrifty bungalow. The daily offerings are presented in a miniscule case, and sometimes the counter help can be slow to give you attention but hang in there, they're too busy making pies! Boasting all butter crusts, the Kauai Lemon, and the Chocolate coconut macaroon pies were...simply...to die for! Really some of the best pie I've had in a long time! The C/C/M pie was a tad too rich for me, but holy hell, I scarfed down that lemon pie like it was my last meal on earth! Good job, ladies!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avon, Connecticut
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Outstanding pie”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

Anyone looking for some of the best pie on the planet has to visit this unique restaurant. We only had pie but the stop was well worth it.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Right Slice also viewed

 

Been to The Right Slice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Right Slice, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.