We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Banyan Harbor Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Banyan Harbor Resort to your Saves list
Banyan Harbor Resort
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   3411 Wilcox Road, Lihue, Kauai, HI 96766   |  
Hotel amenities
Victoria
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Convenient location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2007

We have just returned from a week at the Banyan Harbour Resort. Negative reviews that I had read online beforehand made me unsure about the quality there, but it really is fine. Our unit was huge, and although older it was well maintained. Location is very good with shopping in Lihue very close and the Marriott just across the street. For me, ideal resorts have to have nice landscaping with pools and tropical plants. This you will not find here as the small balconies look out over lots of pavement. It can be noisy as well, partly from the rooster population but that takes place everywhere! Our favourite activity was the Na Pali Coast catamaran boat trip - so beautiful.
J

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — lack of tropical environment - too much pavement
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    59
    28
    14
    8
See reviews for
62
39
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Central New Jersey
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2007

After 2 years of trying, we were able to get a time share exchange in Hawaii at Banyan Harbor in Lihue,Kauai. We were a little aprehensive after reading some negative reviews but all was allayed when we arrived. Besides most of the negatives were from 2004. The staff were friendly and accomodating and while our unit was not exquisitely luxurious it was clean, practical and functional. The kitchen was well stocked with the necessary implements to prepare any meal. We only ate breakfast there. The dining/living area was cozy without being cramped.The two bedrooms had comfortable beds and were appointed nicely. One and a half baths were sufficient for a family of three. On vacation, who is in a hurry? Our air conditioners had 6 hour timers and handled the task at hand. Curtains had backers that blocked out the sun and helped keep things cool during the day when we were out the most. Just about all the upper floor units have a view of the bay from the balcony. Activities are limited however the resort can book you on any activity you may like. They do a fun presentation every Tuesday with several vendors explaining their offerings. We found the best value to be the Smith Family Luau which also includes a Hawaiian show. The best aspect of Banyan Harbor is it's central location. It is close to everything so you have more time to enjoy activities rather than wasting precious vacation time driving to them. While not on the beach, it is within walking distance to a beautiful sandy beach near the Marriott. A large mall with Sears, Macys, KMart and Costco is only 2 miles away. We would definately recommend it and go back there in the future in spite of a lot of stairs between our car and the unit.

  • Liked — It's close location to recreational activities.
  • Disliked — Being on a hillside, a lot of steps.
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elkridge, Maryland
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2007

I'm typing this from my balcony at the Banyan Harbor, yes they have wireless, but only really in the main office, and since I'm right behing the office I got the password from Ginger and am barely staying connected, but better than nothing!

I'm an RCI member and a timeshare owner, and this timeshare was the first and only one that came available in Kauai for my vacation time that we started planning well over a year. Once I started reading the reviews of Banyan Harbor I was, to say the least "a little apprehensive" about staying here. Once we arrived the staff that checked us in "Ginger" was fairly nice, a little stand-offish, but we were able to check in at noon because our unit was ready, which was a huge plus!! I can see where some of the other reviewers could have caught her on a bad hour, because she seems to be the type of person that could change her moods from minute to minute.

There was a cruise ship in port when we got here, which was ok and very visible from our unit. The views here aren't the best, we are in building I-106, and have a great view of the mountains and a limited view of the ocean, none of the beach.

Back to the unit, it's clean and livable, the kitchen is great, with the exception of some old pans that don't sit flat on the stove top, pet peeve of mine. :-) The bedrooms are very small, only 2 double-beds upstairs and 1 TV. We are travelling with 2 teenage boys (15 1/2 and 14), and they both want a TV. We let one stay in the "master" with the TV and we stayed in the smaller bedroom, same size bed so to keep the peace it worked out. The other stayed on the pull out couch downstairs. It would have been nice to have larger beds, since my wife and I are used to sleeping in a king, but we are surviving. The A/C on timers is a pain, but ok, the unit stays cool. The roosters outside start crowing at about 5:15. Seems these roosters/chickens are running wild all over the island, so I would imagine you would have a rooster somewhere close no matter where you stay.

The small pool is up the parking lot from our unit, it's clean has a few gas grills around and overall nice.

We are having a great time overall and the unit is nice and I would recommend it, especially if you are using RCI and this is the only one that comes available.

I hope this helps someone out there feel at ease with the Banyan Harbor Resort.

Don

  • Liked — it was available
  • Disliked — just location wasn't great, but overall a good value
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2007

July 1, 2007 - We just returned from a week on Kauai, our third visit. The island has so much diversity, we never run out of activities to do and spend very little time at our hotel. That being said, Banyon Harbor condos are a good home base. We had a 2 bedroom unit, and while a bit outdated, it was spacious and clean. We never used the airconditioning as the breeze blowing in from the harbor provided ample cool air through the sliding doors (and this was late June/early July). We were in building J (high on the hill towards the north end of the property), so our view was directly towards Nawiliwili Beach and was lovely. The traffic noises seemed to die down right around 10 p.m. or so, and then we could hear the ocean waves hitting the beach until around 7 or 8 the next morning.

The units are in Lihue, a good location to access both the extreme north and south sides of the island within 45 minutes. (Poipu is only 20 minutes away, Princeville was 45 minutes, Kapa'a is 15 minutes) Nawiliwili Beach itself provides for good beginner surfing, boogie boarding and has protected pools for the small ones. A small number of restaurants and shops hug the bay are about as good as anywhere else on the island.

Bottom line, if you're looking for a luxury unit with marble tile and a catering staff, you need to look elsewhere. If you want a clean, spacious unit providing the basics and the opportunity to make your own breakfasts, etc., then Banyon Harbor is a good option.

  • Liked — good location, proximity to ocean
  • Disliked — traffic noise in the day
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2007

Not the best place you could choose.

Its on the main highway across the street from the harbour.

It has roaches - lots of them

Report of rats

Front desk unhelpful

Air conditioners on timers a pain

  • Disliked — LOcation
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabaster, Alabama
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2007

We stayed at the Banyan Harbor Resort for two nights, three days in May 2007. Our choices were very limited as many resorts or condo rentals on the island required a minimum three night stay with a hefty cleaning fee. Banyan had neither and they offered a car rental package so we booked it. The condos were centrally located in Lihue, close to the airport and easy to find. We had a party of 4 adults and were happy to find a clean, spacious, 2 bedroom and 2 bathroom condo. The staff was exceptionally helpful and contrary to what another reviewer wrote, Ginger was courteous and extremely helpful. She mapped out three full days of sightseeing for us and made great restaurant recommendations. On our final day she allowed us to extend our checkout time (free of charge) as one of our party had been injured on a hike to the Na Pali Coastline. It was not a luxury suite by any means. It needed updating, the living room furniture needed a good cleaning and they are stingy with the towels and washcloths. There is only one wall unit air conditioner located in the living room so it took quite a long time for the entire place to cool down the first night. We solved this by leaving it running the following day while touring. The owners did provide fans and the unit included 4 ceiling fans so we were not uncomfortable. I might mention that many places on the island don't have air conditioning at all. The noise from the road can be a problem but I think that is probably the case for many places on Kauai. If you are looking for a beautiful view you might want to look elsewhere. We would not hesitate to stay here again though, as it was a good deal for the money.

  • Liked — The proximity to the airport.
  • Disliked — The Air Conditioning was inadequate.
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oregon
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2006

We stayed here during the "rainy season", but were lucky enough to have sunshine almost everyday. The rooms are clean and they are plenty big enough...you shouldn't be spending much time in your room anyway : ) The grounds are simple and maintained. Nothing showy, but a good place to lay your head at night all the same.

  • Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Banyan Harbor Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banyan Harbor Resort

Address: 3411 Wilcox Road, Lihue, Kauai, HI 96766
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Lihue
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Lihue
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Banyan Harbor Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on a hillside in Nawiliwili, the Banyan Harbor Resort is ideal for your next getaway. From the moment you set foot in our island-styled lobby, you'll feel the Aloha Spirit that has made Kauai the popular destination it is today. Your "Home away from Home" is a block from Kalapaki Beach, shopping, restaurants, activities and entertainment. Anchor Cove Shopping Village and the Harbor Mall are both within a short walk. Three golf courses, Kauai's largest shopping center, Kauai's largest movie theatre and world class ocean & air charters are available within two miles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Banyan Harbor Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banyan Harbor Hotel Lihue
Banyan Harbor Kauai
Banyan Harbor Resort Kauai, HI

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banyan Harbor Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.