We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely resort in perfect Kauai location!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kauai Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Kauai Beach Resort to your Saves list
Kauai Beach Resort
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4331 Kauai Beach Drive, Lihue, Kauai, HI 96766 (Formerly Kauai Beach Resort - an Aqua Boutique)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Now and Save 15%!
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Lihue
Ottawa, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Lovely resort in perfect Kauai location!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

Our family of 4 (including our children ages 12 and 14) spent 5 lovely days at this resort over Christmas. It was a perfect location as a base for our touring of the beautiful garden isle - away from the hustle and bustle of Po'ipu to the south and Princeville to the north.

Upon arrival from our 17-hour travels from Canada, this resort is only 5 minutes from the airport so after picking up our car rental we were virtually there. The grounds are beautiful and well-kept. Great pool with various locations to suit all needs (including water slide for the kids). While the beach was not swimable at this time of year, the sunrises were gorgeous! Our oceanview suite was well-appointed and comfortable for our family. As an added bonus, the air-conditioning was efficient and ran quietly during the night for you light sleepers out there. Beautiful view of the ocean too!

Buffet breakfast was delicious and plentiful (recommend to get the bed and breakfast rate like we did as likely less expensive than paying for breakfast separately). Poolside food was just ok - only ate there once and wouldn't eat there again - expensive and not the best. All hotel staff were very helpful and friendly and the valet parking was great for the golfing days and days at the beach where we didn't want to lug our stuff to the parking lot. Same price as regular daily parking and we really enjoyed the convenience.

Overall it was a perfect spot for us and we would return if ever back on Kauai.

Room Tip: If you are in an oceanview suite or room, request a room closer to the beach, as the further away yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager808, Manager at Kauai Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Aloha and thank you for your review of the Kauai Beach Resort. We are delighted that you and your family thoroughly enjoyed your visit with us and found the resort to be in a very convenient location for all island activities. We also appreciate your kind comments on our staff and the friendly and helpful service they provided. We look forward to welcoming you back to the beautiful Garden Island. Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,489 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    618
    582
    217
    48
    24
See reviews for
268
867
65
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (464)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montoursville, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

We stayed 4 days/3 nights at KBB. The accommodations were very nice. We booked the breakfast package and the price for our room and daily buffet were very reasonable. The food at the buffet was good which included the omelet station for fresh eggs daily. We enjoyed sitting at the pool area and having happy hour at the pool bar. The resort also has access to tennis courts at the next door resort and as avid tennis players we were able to play on their courts free of charge which made us very happy. The only issue we had with this resort was tiny ants which we found in the bathroom on our first morning. Most at the desk when we complained were understanding about the situation; however, one attendant was quite rude. They sprayed a couple of times and did offer another room but with a short stay we did not wish to move. Upon checkout, we requested some type of compensation for the inconvenience of the ants but were offered nothing. This hotel is very nice and I would stay again however, I do believe that we should have been offered some type of compensation for having to put up with the ants and odor of the pesticide which did not even help as we found the ants again the morning we checked out.

Room Tip: Look for available packages. The breakfast package is well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager808, Manager at Kauai Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Aloha and thank you for your review of the Kauai Beach Resort. Needless to say, we are disappointed that you encountered some ants in your accommodations and we sincerely apologize any inconvenience this caused. It is the resort's practice to offer alternate accommodations so that we can address any issues of our guestrooms right away. We are however very pleased to learn that your overall visit with us was pleasant and that our staff provided you with excellent service. We hope to have the pleasure of your return visit in the not too distant future. Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

Although this hotel was very nice, and worthy of 4 stars in look and service, I won't return because I am a very light sleeper and did not feel rested despite moving my room a few times. One can't really blame the hotel for the type of people that stay there, nor can you blame the staff for the room walls being on the thin side. Probably the average sleeper won't mind, and experience can vary from one person to the next. Note that I stayed for a week.

Pros
-farther away from main tourist area, and the town of Lihue, which suited me fine but attracted some less quiet guests to my dismay(cheating me of enough sleep on more than a few occasions), so this fits into both pros & cons

-consistently good customer service over my week long stay

-looked like a resort and worthy of 4 star rating

-clean and very reasonable laundry room, surprisingly cheaper than the laundry-mat in town

-nice beach in front of hotel, but not for swimming in, too rough, and has Portuguese man- of-war (looks like a jellyfish, which can be harmful even when dead), so this fits into both pros & cons

-hotel is well marked on highway, which is very helpful when you realize how challenging driving in a new place with little signage and little to no night lighting is (try to arrive in the daytime)

-entertainment in the hotel; they have music in the bar a few times a week, and had the musical South Pacific performed in the hotel(not sure where as I didn't go)


Cons
-thin walls
-soft mattress
-see comment above about distance
-free wifi only in the lobby; can get plugged in Internet in your room for a fee, also there was a computer room available---not sure if had to pay as I never used it

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager808, Manager at Kauai Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Aloha and thank you for your review of the Kauai Beach Resort. Needless to say, we are disappointed to learn that you were not completely satisfied with your stay due to the lack of your ability to get quality sleep. We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience you experienced and we certainly will take your feedback into consideration. We do however, appreciate your kind comments on the consistency in excellent service you received from our staff and the convenience of the resort's location. We do hope that you will reconsider visiting with us again in the near future. Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langley City, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

My husband and I returned to the Kauai Beach Resort for a two week stay after enjoying ourselves so much there last April. We love this resort !! We find this resort very relaxing and quiet. The staff is always so friendly and helpful. We were upgraded to a pool view-ocean view room and it was fantastic. We had our daily walks on the beautiful beach that goes for miles. We took advantage of the free shuttle bus that takes you to the mall and returns to pick you back up.. We picked up a few groceries and snackes. The beds are so comfortable and they have lots of pillows. The grounds are beautiful and well maintained. Everything is so perfect and clean - The pools are sparkling clear and there are always lots of lounges around the pool. Hope to return to the Kauai Beach Resort soon.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager808, Manager at Kauai Beach Resort, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Aloha and thank you for your review of the Kauai Beach Resort. We are delighted that you returned to stay with us and that again, you found the resort to be very relaxing and the accommodations comfortable and clean. We also appreciate your kind comments on our staff and the friendly service with aloha they provided. We look forward to your return visit in the very near future. Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

A beautiful spot and a lovely resort. Delightful salt water pools and a great slide!!! Food was always excellent but the beach is only for walking along. Reef and coral and rocks you cannot sea swim.
The only problem is its relative isolation, you really need a hire car if you stay there for a few days. The mall is a waste of time who needs to see Macys? However it looks like anchor Village has more interesting shops and there is another shopping place but we never got there. Lovely island and lovely resort well worth a visit.

Room Tip: Ask for sea facing not lagoon
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager808, Manager at Kauai Beach Resort, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Aloha and thank you for your review of the Kauai Beach Resort. We are pleased that you enjoyed your visit with us and that you found the facilities to be delightful. The resort is isolated, however, we do have a rental cars on sight for our guests to enjoy a day use or longer. We appreciate your feedback and we hope to have the pleasure of your return visit in the not too distant future. Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

The service was great! The staff members were nice and helpful. They would always say ''Aloha'' to us. The cleaning lady made our room from messy to clean. Though, when we ate at their restaurant the price was pretty expensive. The food was good, but it was to expensive. So my advise to anybody who is going to Kauai is to dine at local shops. The biggest thing that upset me was the parking. The parking cost 10$ per night and staying 10 days would be a 100$. So, if you have a car your going to be paying some money right there. The pool was big and creative they had a spa and a little waterfall. This hotel was great, but needs some repairs.

Room Tip: All the rooms in this hotel are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager808, Manager at Kauai Beach Resort, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Aloha and thank you for your review of the Kauai Beach Resort. We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit and found the accommodations to be clean and comfortable. We appreciate your kind comments on our staff and the warm and friendly service with aloha they provided. With respect to your concerns on the parking fee, we apologize for any inconvenience you experienced. It is common for resorts in Hawaii to charge for parking and in comparison to other resorts on island, the Kauai Beach Resort has not resort fee and a low parking rate. Again, thank you for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back before too long. Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malibu, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

Just spent a great 5 days at KBR. Conveniently located near the center of everything on the Island. A REAL BARGAIN if you can get their package that includes a car, parking, breakfast and internet and a beach facing room! And, I live on the beach in Malibu.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager808, Manager at Kauai Beach Resort, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Aloha and thank you for your review of the Kauai Beach Resort. We are delighted that you thoroughly enjoyed your visit with us and that you found the resort to be of great value. We sincerely appreciate your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future. Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kauai Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kauai Beach Resort

Address: 4331 Kauai Beach Drive, Lihue, Kauai, HI 96766 (Formerly Kauai Beach Resort - an Aqua Boutique)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Lihue
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Lihue
#3 Family Hotel in Lihue
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kauai Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kauai Beach Resort is a beautiful Hawaiian plantation-style resort situated oceanfront on 25 lush acres of Kauai's longest exploring and strolling beach. This hotel features stylish vintage accommodations with modern day amenities and Hawaiian ambience and is conveniently located close to the airport, shopping, championship golf and more. The hotel also offers complimentary airport shuttle service, 2 restaurants, lounge, entertainment, 4 pools, 75-foot lava tube water slide, fitness center, spa, business center, meeting rooms and ballroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, BookIt.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Kauai Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kauai Beach Resort - An Aqua Boutique Hotel Lihue
Hilton Kauai Beach Hotel
Hilton Lihue
Hilton Kauai Beach Resort
Lihue Hilton
Kauai Beach Resort HI

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kauai Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.