We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The old Hilton” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kauai Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Kauai Beach Resort to your Saves list
Kauai Beach Resort
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4331 Kauai Beach Drive, Lihue, Kauai, HI 96766 (Formerly Kauai Beach Resort - an Aqua Boutique)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Now and Save 15%!
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Lihue
Federal Way, Washington
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“The old Hilton”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

We were upgraded upon arrival to a pool/ocean view room. The bed was comfortable and the room was spacious. The a/c could be more efficient if the seal around the front door had been better. The shower had great water pressure and the maid service was good. I enjoyed the entertainment in the lounge in the evening, the menus were pricey. The grounds are well kept and the pools refreshing. Was dissapointed that the beach was not usable for swimming, especially since this was a beach resort.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager808, Manager at Kauai Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Aloha and thank you for your review of the Kauai Beach Resort. We are pleased that your overall stay was enjoyable and you found the accommodations to be spacious and comfortable. With regards to your concern of the guestroom door seal, we will certainly address that issue with our Maintenance Department and we appreciate you bringing it to our attention. Although the ocean fronting the resort is not always swimmable, there are several excellent areas to enjoy swimming just a walk north of the resort. Thank you again, for taking the time to write and we look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future. Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,452 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    610
    563
    211
    45
    23
See reviews for
265
844
63
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (451)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

I just returned from a 10 day stay at this resort. It was exactly what I expected and consistent with the majority of reviews on this property. For the money I don't think you could do better. For $230 a night I had an ocean view room, a car for the entire trip, free parking and daily breakfast.

I was in building 3 on the 3rd floor. My lanai faced the ocean and was with no other buildings or structures outside. It was very peaceful sitting on the lanai with the just the waves and a field to look out on. It was very quiet. With the slider closed I was never woken up by the infamous roosters.

The grounds are very pretty and the pools were never crowded though the resort seemed full. I wish there were more umbrellas but that wasn't a big deal. The pools definitely cater to different types of swimmers with small children and families enjoying the beach like pool, older kids liking the pool with the volleyball net and the rest of us could enjoy the other two pools without dodging lots of kids.

Every member of the staff was lovely and friendly. Not one individual in any area of the hotel was less than kind, each of them greeting each guest with an "aloha" and a smile. Service in the restaurants was friendly and timely.

The area that was the most disappointing to me was the food. The breakfast buffet was actually quite good for what I like in the morning. The rest of the food at the resort in all of the eating venues was mediocre at best. I kept hoping by ordering different things the food would be better but that didn't happen. The prices of the food are consistent with other resort prices but when I spend that much money on food I expect it to be good. My pizza was burned, my steak had no flavor and my fries (which cost $8!) were the same frozen ones I would get at any diner. The worst offense was paying $23 for a fresh tomato and mozzarella pasta that had 4 grape tomatoes cut in half, and three grape sized pieces of mozzarella,

My last complaint involves outdoor seating area by the Shutter's Bar. This is a wonderful place to sit at the end of the day and enjoy a drink or have something to eat. I was frustrated that on the last two nights of my stay the entire area was closed off for a private reception. There are plenty of outdoor areas where a reception like this could be set up without causing the rest of the guests to miss out on the opportunity to enjoy a drink outdoors. One of my greatest joys of vacationing in Hawaii is being outside as much as possible. Having the outdoor bar area cut off from most of the guests, (the only one available this time of the day) was very frustrating for me.

Finally, the resort is very well situated for exploring the entire island, but you'll need a car. In general I was happy with my stay. I think that dollar for dollar the Kauai Beach Resort is a tremendous value, especially for families.

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms in Buildings 3 and 4 are on the quietest side of the resort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager808, Manager at Kauai Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Aloha and thank you for your review of the Kauai Beach Resort. We are pleased that you found the resort to be of tremendous value and that exactly what you expected. We also appreciate your kind comments on our staff and the friendly service they provided. Your feedback on the quality of the food in our restaurant will be addressed. We do apologize for any inconvenience you experienced the evenings that we hosted a private even at the fireside lounge. Again, thank you for taking the time to write and we look forward to welcoming you back to the beautiful Garden Island. Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

As we had a deal including the car we used it to check out all the areas in Kauai. We loved our stay at Kauai Beach Resort as we felt it was very central to go either direction. We opted to pay for a beachfront room which was wonderful. Only downside was the fact that we had an adjoining room and we could hear the couple next door at the early hours of the morning! Thought they were going to end up on our bed! We used our onboard trolley case to shuttle our purchases from the car to our room so no hassle there! Pools n entertainment was great although the menu was very limited ! Loved our stay 5nights n wud stay there again! The staff were wonderful

Room Tip: Ground floor beachfront worth the extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager808, Manager at Kauai Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Aloha and thank you for your review of the Kauai Beach Resort. We are so pleased that you found the resort to be in an excellent location for all island activities and that you enjoyed our facilities and accommodations. With respect to your concerns of the noise you experienced from the guestroom adjacent to yours, we apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused you. We appreciate your feedback and we hope to have the pleasure of your return visit in the not too distant future. Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburg, Kansas, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We stayed here July 1-6th for our honeymoon and we would gladly go back in a heartbbeat. it was amazing from start to finish. we loved everything about this place. From the beautiful pools to the amazing staff. Big shout out to Paul and Des at Driftwood. they were very friendly and made sure we were taken care of everytime they saw us. Even though we were here on a major holiday you really couldnt tell by how calm it was. we will for sure be back because of how amazing this trip was!

Room Tip: We called ahead and made sure we had a great view of the pool. was worth the call, room 2314 was pe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager808, Manager at Kauai Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Aloha and thank you for your review of the Kauai Beach Resort. We are delighted that you chose to spend your honeymoon at our resort and that you thoroughly enjoyed your visit. We also appreciate your kind comments on our staff and in particular Des and Paul who provided you with outstanding service at Driftwood Bar & Grille. We look forward to welcoming you back to celebrate your anniversary! Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Springs, Florida
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

The Kauai Beach Club is a nice place to stay. In order, the best things are it's proximity to the airport (only 5-7 minutes). It's central location to the rest of the island (45-55 minutes in either direction will take you everywhere you want to go north or southwest). Only 10 minutes from Costco (money saver on gas 40-50 cents cheaper!). Nice beach views, but cannot swim there (that's okay). Nice pool area! Nice sitting for eating inside or out. Room was nice, however our view was of the roof of the convention area (really no biggie because we are out exploring the island or at the pool). The concierge's desk was incredibly helpful as they booked two top self excursions (helicopter and dinner cruise). Price of the room was acceptable but it was part of a package deal with car, etc, so not quite sure the breakdown.

Okay, the two disappointments of the hotel was paying $15 a day to park in the red dirt! I'm not one that likes to pay for parking and the other hotels on the island (like the Marriott) didn't charge for parking. Red dirt all over your shoes and suitcases, etc. Secondly, the internet often did not work on many different days during many different times of the day.

Would I stay her again, yes! The positives outweigh the negatives! They have to work on the parking situation and not charge for it!

Room Tip: Nice place to stay, but try to avoid paying to park in the red dirt!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager808, Manager at Kauai Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Aloha and thank you for your review of the Kauai Beach Resort. We are pleased that you found the resort to be in an excellent location and that our facilities and accommodations suited your needs. With respect to your concerns of the resort's daily parking fee, we charge a flat fee of $16.95 per day with the option to park in the paved covered parking area or have your vehicle valeted at no extra charge. Most resorts in Kauai charge a resort fee of $30 and up which includes parking. We sincerely appreciate your feedback and we look forward to your return visit to the beautiful Garden Island. Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

This resort has 3 pools, restaurant, bar area for lunch, and a lounge that serves quick breakfast foods. It's very close to the airport. Staff is extremely friendly and accommodating.
Down side is although the ocean is right there, you can't swim due to the wild conditions.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager808, Manager at Kauai Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Aloha and thank you for your review of the Kauai Beach Resort. We are pleased that you found the resort to be in a convenient location and that you enjoyed the facilities and accommodations. We appreciate your kind comments on our staff and the friendly service they provided. With respect to your concern of the ocean swimming conditions fronting the resort, although that area is not recommended for swimming, there is a three mile stretch of beaches of just north of the resort where swimming and strolling is accessible. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to your return visit in the not too distant future. Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

This was our third time staying at the resort and we will definitely be back! The pools are awesome and my 3 year old son loved playing in the kiddie pool (1.5 feet deep with sand at the bottom). There was an outdoor guest reception with free drinks on Tuesday night and live music by the pool on Saturday night. The staff is friendly and you can't beat the location. Another bonus: there is a coffee shop located in the hotel gift shop. Try the macadamia nut latte!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager808, Manager at Kauai Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Aloha and thank you for your review of the Kauai Beach Resort. We are delighted that you returned for a third time to the resort and that you enjoy the facilities and our location is ideal for all island activities. We also appreciate your kind comments on our staff and the friendly service they provided. Again, thank you for your feedback and we look forward to your return visit in the very near future. Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kauai Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kauai Beach Resort

Address: 4331 Kauai Beach Drive, Lihue, Kauai, HI 96766 (Formerly Kauai Beach Resort - an Aqua Boutique)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Lihue
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Lihue
#4 Family Hotel in Lihue
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kauai Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kauai Beach Resort is a beautiful Hawaiian plantation-style resort situated oceanfront on 25 lush acres of Kauai's longest exploring and strolling beach. This hotel features stylish vintage accommodations with modern day amenities and Hawaiian ambience and is conveniently located close to the airport, shopping, championship golf and more. The hotel also offers complimentary airport shuttle service, 2 restaurants, lounge, entertainment, 4 pools, 75-foot lava tube water slide, fitness center, spa, business center, meeting rooms and ballroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Agoda, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Kauai Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kauai Beach Resort - An Aqua Boutique Hotel Lihue
Hilton Kauai Beach Hotel
Hilton Lihue
Hilton Kauai Beach Resort
Lihue Hilton
Kauai Beach Resort HI

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kauai Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.