We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A chance to relax” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kauai Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added Kauai Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kauai Beach Resort
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4331 Kauai Beach Drive, Lihue, Kauai, HI 96766 (Formerly Kauai Beach Resort - an Aqua Boutique)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Now, Save up to 10%!
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Lihue
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A chance to relax”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

After previous trips to Oahu, we decided to branch out and visit a couple of the other islands. Kauai had been on my list after several people I know mentioned how they loved the island. Not knowing too much about what was on offer or where to stay I decided to book at Kauai Beach Resort.

For the type of stay we were planning on, Kauai Beach Resort was a very good choice. Staff were helpful, the rooms were clean and the pools were fantastic. We loved being able to have the option of lazy days of either sleeping in or lounging by the pools.

Being without a rental car for part of the stay meant that at times we only had the resort restaurants on offer. We found their meals rather inconsistent in sizing which was our biggest complaint about our whole stay in the resort.

The Resort also has free roaming chickens, which will come up close to humans without issue. We found it amusing to see the small chickens running after their parents. The roosters seemed to like making a lot of noise more in the afternoon than early morning which was a blessing.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager808, Manager at Kauai Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Aloha and thank you for your review of the Kauai Beach Resort. We are delighted that you were happy with the choice in staying with us and that you found our resort to be in a convenient location. We appreciate your feedback on our food outlets and will take your comments into consideration. With respect to the chickens around the resort, we do our best to keep them at a minimum in our guest areas with a program that places them outside of the resort. Again, thank you for your review and we look forward to your return visit to the beautiful Garden Island. Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,387 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    582
    539
    199
    45
    22
See reviews for
255
803
61
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (427)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

My husband and I chose the Kauai Beach Resort for our recent 10th anniversary trip to Hawaii. We looked everywhere from Princeville to Poipu, but since we wanted to see things that were on both sides of the island, a central location was important. This hotel was perfect. We drove 8 minutes from the airport and turned into the beautiful, tree lined drive. Check-in was quick and friendly, and included a free upgrade to ocean view. The room was clean, spacious, and well appointed. Over and over again, we were impressed with how kind the staff were. They went out of their way to make sure we had everything we needed, knew where we were going, gave suggestions for restaurants or attractions, and were generally gracious in every way. The grounds are beautiful, as well, and even though the beach isn't for swimming, it's so nice to be able to open your lanai doors and hear the waves crashing as you fall asleep. We would highly recommend this hotel to others, and hope to stay again!! Mahalo!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager808, Manager at Kauai Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Aloha and thank you for your review of the Kauai Beach Resort. We are so pleased that you chose our resort for your anniversary celebration and that you found our location to be convenient and our facilities to be comfortable. We also appreciate your kind comments on our staff and the friendly and helpful service they provided. Thank you again for taking the time to give us your feedback and we look forward to the pleasure of your return visit. Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, Idaho
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

The Kauai Beach Resort seems to have just about everything you would like in a Hawaiian vacation hotel. The property is in a great location, well maintained, very reasonable in price, and centrally located on the most beautiful of all of the Hawaiian islands. It also boasts a truly friendly, outstanding staff. The rooms are fairly good sized, clean, and comfortable. The hotel restaurant is a wonderful place for a leisurely breakfast, or a good dinner, the pools are beautiful, and the beach is about a three minute slow walk from the hotel lobby.
I spent almost thirty years in the airline/travel industry and have been to all of the Hawaiian islands many times, including many of the very high end ($400.00 a night) hotels on Waikiki. I believe that the Kauai Beach resort is probably my favorite of all the hotels, on any of the islands, in terms of value per dollar spent. I like the place so much that I've even put together a small, informal, group of close friends to stay at the place this coming winter.
Great place ! Highly recommend !

Room Tip: Spend the few extra bucks, and get a Pool View or Ocean View room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager808, Manager at Kauai Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Aloha and thank you for your review of the Kauai Beach Resort. We are delighted that you found the our resort to be in an excellent location and that our facilities and accommodations exceeded your expectations. We appreciate your kind comments on our staff and we will be more than happy to share your review with them. We look forward to welcoming you and your group back to the Garden Island next year! Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

This place has everything a family would need or want. The service was amazing, everyone was kind and very helpful with whatever we needed. We originally booked a cottage elsewhere then soon asked ourselves "What were we thinking?", and rebooked here. We have a four year old son who was in heaven in the lovely swimming pools here. There is a children's pool with a shallow side so the kids can safely play while the parents enjoy actually having a conversation with a drink from the poolside bar! There is a great slide ( open 9-5) that we wish was open after 5 pm as that was when we usually returned from the days adventures. The room was clean and nice, and very comfortable with a private lanai. We took advantage of the restaurant in the evening which has good food (with some lighter veggie options) and is not too expensive. The beach is steps away, although is not recommended for swimming, its great for walks or runs and you can walk to swim-able beaches such as Lydgate, which is one of the island's safest beaches for kids. While many days we had adventures booked (which they will gladly do for you at Guest Services) we really enjoyed the time just hanging around the resort with no agenda! You will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager808, Manager at Kauai Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Aloha and thank you for your review of the Kauai Beach Resort. We are so pleased that your visit to our resort exceeded your expectations and that our location was perfect for your day trips around the island. We also appreciate your kind comments on our staff and the excellent service the provided. We look forward to welcoming you back to the beautiful Garden Island in the very near future. Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

The hotel was very good located, calm, by the beach and clean.
For me the only problem was the humidity in the room. Even with if my cloth where in the luggage which was closed all my cloth where humid and I really don't like that feeling so for that reason I wouldn't go back to that hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager808, Manager at Kauai Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Aloha and thank you for your review of the Kauai Beach Resort. We are pleased that you found the resort to be in a convenient location and the facilities to be clean. With respect to your experience with the humidity in your guestroom, we certainly would have addressed that concern as most times it could be the setting of the air-conditioning. We apologize for any inconvenience this brought you and we would hope to have the pleasure of your return visit. Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful view, friendly staff, beautiful island. Nothing negative stands out in my opinion because the opportunity to visit paradise is one that I greatly appreciated! I highly recommend the Blue Dolphin sunset cruise with captain Christian and his crew Matt and Ben, well worth the time! I also recommend Keokis Paradise as a nice restaurant to wind down. This resort is a prime location no matter where your trying to go so its highly recommended on my behalf not only for saving money but also time!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager808, Manager at Kauai Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Aloha and thank you for your review of the Kauai Beach Resort. We are delighted that you found the resort to be in a convenient location to all island activities. We also appreciate your kind comments on our staff and the friendly service they provided. We look forward to welcoming you back to the beautiful Garden Island before too long. Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

We wish that we had planned more of our time on Kauai at this hotel. Very professional staff, very friendly and helpful. Great location, close to the airport. Beautiful hotel experience. The restaurant was very good, also.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager808, Manager at Kauai Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Aloha and thank you for your review of the Kauai Beach Resort. We are so pleased that you found the resort to be in a great location and that our staff provided you with professional and friendly service. We hope to have the pleasure of your return visit and for an extended period as well. Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kauai Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kauai Beach Resort

Address: 4331 Kauai Beach Drive, Lihue, Kauai, HI 96766 (Formerly Kauai Beach Resort - an Aqua Boutique)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Lihue
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Lihue
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kauai Beach Resort 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kauai Beach Resort is a beautiful Hawaiian plantation-style resort situated oceanfront on 25 lush acres of Kauai's longest exploring and strolling beach. This hotel features stylish vintage accommodations with modern day amenities and Hawaiian ambience and is conveniently located close to the airport, shopping, championship golf and more. The hotel also offers complimentary airport shuttle service, 2 restaurants, lounge, entertainment, 4 pools, 75-foot lava tube water slide, fitness center, spa, business center, meeting rooms and ballroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Tingo, BookIt.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Kauai Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kauai Beach Resort - An Aqua Boutique Hotel Lihue
Hilton Kauai Beach Hotel
Hilton Lihue
Hilton Kauai Beach Resort
Lihue Hilton
Kauai Beach Resort HI

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kauai Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.