We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“have to agree with californiaislandboy unfortunately.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Kauai Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Kauai Beach Resort to your Saves list
Kauai Beach Resort
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4331 Kauai Beach Drive, Lihue, Kauai, HI 96766 (Formerly Kauai Beach Resort - an Aqua Boutique)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Now and Save 15%!
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Lihue
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“have to agree with californiaislandboy unfortunately.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

After travelling to four Hawaiian islands the standard of service was extremely poor, with a few exceptions. You would think that a group of islands that relied almost entirely on tourism would be a bit more friendly and polite. We, too, had a problem with rude staff at the front desk.No manners whatsoever! It was almost as if we were a nuisance. The pool staff took our order as well and it was only after inquiring, an hour later, that we realised that she had forgotten about us completely. Don't stay here if you have no car, either, as it is miles from anywhere and there is a charge of 13 dollars a day. The beach fronting the hotel is terrible, too. Stay closer to town...

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager808, Manager at Kauai Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Aloha and thank you for your review of the Kauai Beach Resort. We are disappointed to learn that you were not completely satisfied with the type of service you received from our staff. We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience this caused you and rest assured, we have reviewed your feedback with our managment team to understand this concern as it is certainly not the norm here. We take great pride in providing our guests with excellent service and warm aloha and we would hope that you would return and try us again to experience it first hand. With respect to renting a car on island, we do have rental cars on site and offer daily rentals as well as car packages included with room rate. This makes it easier on guests that decide that they would like to venture out of the hotel for a day or so. Again, thank you for your review and we hope to have the pleasure of your return visit. Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,701 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    693
    678
    248
    54
    28
See reviews for
319
985
72
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (549)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We had such a great time here. We rented through VRBO and the prices were great. We stayed for 6 nights in February for our honeymoon. We mostly kept to ourselves and were out and about exploring the island, but when we were on site at the resort it was so nice and quiet. Lots of space at the pool, plenty of chairs. Parking was never an issue for us. We really didn't care when we had to park on the dirt lot - not a big deal! The staff was nice and helpful. We had happy hour a couple of times at the bar - not the greatest value, but you can't beat the convenience!
It was really nice to not be staying in a big resort area, just Kauai Beach Resort tucked out of the way. We had such a fun time on Kauai, we are already planning a return trip!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager808, Manager at Kauai Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Aloha and thank you for your review of the Kauai Beach Resort. We are delighted that you chose the Kauai Beach Resort to enjoy your honeymoon and that you found our resort location to be convenient to island activities. We appreciate your kind comments on our staff and the excellent service you recieved. We look forward to your rerturn to the Garden Island in the not too distant future. Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here five years ago when it was the Hilton. I was pleased that when we stayed there this time it was even better. Great location for getting to the south shore quickly. Service was great because of the friendly staff across the board. Would definitely recommend to a friend!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager808, Manager at Kauai Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Aloha and thank you for your review of the Kauai Beach Resort. We are so pleased that you chose to return to our resort and that this visit was outstanding. We also appreciate your kind comments on our staff and the excellent service they provided you. We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future. Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Venetia, Ca, Us
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

We had booked a trip to Kauai, arriving May 1, before we found out that we had to be in Hilo (Big Island) by the evening of the 2nd. So our primary goal for a one-night stay was a hotel with free shuttle service. Second was a pool.

At the price we found, and the location, I don't think we could have done better. For starters, the van drivers, the front desk staff, the wait staff and even the two fellows who tried to fix our Internet service (and replaced the router) were all polite and friendly.

The grounds were lovely and the three pools just enough space that we never felt crowded. It was nice to be able to walk on the beach too. And since we were 'stuck' there, it was nice to have a few options for meals without having to leave the property. Most entertaining of all were the Kauai "birds of paradise" aka wild chickens that roamed the property with their chicks, making us constantly laugh.

All in all we were delighted with our stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager808, Manager at Kauai Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Aloha and thank you for your review of the Kauai Beach Resort. We are delighted that you found our resort to be in a convenient location for your travels and that our accommodations were clean and comfortable. We also appreciate your kind comments on our staff and the excellent service they provided you. We look forward to your return visit and hopefully for a longer period. Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

Just got back from a 4 night stay at KBR. Being from Oahu, this was my first time at this resort. The price we paid was very reasonable thanks to a promotional deal on TravelZoo. The biggest disappointment by far was the staff and service, in particular the front desk and poolside services - or more correctly, the lack thereof. Front desk staff was consistently not friendly, both at check in and check out, which is shocking for Hawaii. There was no "aloha" spirit there. Receptionists seemed bothered and annoyed with any questions. At check in, we were made to wait with our luggage while standing in front the the reception desk, then told were waiting in the wrong place after several minutes. The check in side is just around the corner of the same reception desk, but there are no signs and no one said anything. The check in receptionist never looked up and asked us to wait without any explanation once we got to her. Never apologized or said why, just "thanks for waiting." Also, be prepared for haole guests to simply walk up in front of you to ask for help or information while you're in line. Staff do not do a good job of prioritizing guests. Being a native and having been to many other HI hotels, this was very disappointing. During the few times we went out to the pool or bar areas, service was also poor. The pool area bar - Shutter Lounge - was open for only a small window, it seemed every time we tried to use the pool services before sunset, we were told it was last call or they were closing. One afternoon, they had only one server for the whole pool area, which is large. I went to her in the bar area and asked if we could order drinks. She told me it was last call and she was very busy and would stop serving, so I was better off getting my own drinks from the bar, which I did. Then we watched her continue to serve other guests around the pool for the next hour.

On the PLUS side, our room was clean and nice. The bed was comfortable. The ocean view was nice as I prefer facing the trade winds, which is a huge bonus. The location of this resort is a great starting point to get anywhere on Kauai, very easy to get to Poipu or north side attractions. Wailua river and activities and golf are very close by. Having a FoodLand near was also a plus. However, if you leave anything that looks like food out on your lanai, the local birds will attack it.

The physical accommodations and settings where all very good but the experience was definitely offset by the poor service and attitude of staff. If we had paid a higher price for our stay, this type of service would definitively have created a negative experience. Luckily, we spent a lot of our time around other parts of the island.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager808, Manager at Kauai Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Aloha and thank you for your review of the Kauai Beach Resort. Needless to say we are dissapointed that you were not completely satisified with your visit and we are very concerned with the type of service you received from our Front Desk and pool bar staff which is certainly not the norm. We will address your comments with the appropriate managers to ensure that our guests are provided with excellent service and aloha. We are pleased however, that you enjoyed your accommodations and that you found the resort to be in an excellent location for island activities. We hope to have the pleasure of your return visit to redeem ourselves and for you to experience the outstanding service we provide. Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

Hotel is not modern and service even is on Hawaii time, maybe we should slow down. Beautiful grounds, good location and nice food. Good for kids and will return. Nice pools and right at the beach. Decent breakfast buffet and some good dinner options. Room cleaning was good and the towel policy is just so people return the towels no big deal. Go on a Island helicopter tour from the airport. Get an ocean front room, so nice and quiet...if you like ocean sound.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager808, Manager at Kauai Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Aloha and thank you for your review of the Kauai Beach Resort. We are delighted that you found the resort to be in a convenient location and the faciliites to be clean and comfortable. We appreciate your feedback and we will share you kind comments with our staff. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Garden Island before too long. Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfside Beach, South Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Stayed here for six nights on my honeymoon. The highlights were the pools and the location. The bed was comfortable and always clean. The only thing that was a little disappointing was our complimentary bottle of champagne. We thought we'd be greeted with it in the room on the first night, but all we got was a coupon for a free bottle with the purchase of an entree in their restaurant. There were also a lot of families with small kids there, so it wasn't as romantic as some of the more expensive resorts probably are.

The view from the room was nice. The location gave us access to the entire island, so that was a plus, too.

Find a package that gets you a buffet breakfast. It was phenomenal.

Room Tip: Higher floors have views, south side rooms are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager808, Manager at Kauai Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Aloha and thank you for your review of the Kauai Beach Resort. We are so pleased that you chose our resort to celebrate your honeymoon and that you found the accommodations to be clean and comfortable. We appreciate your feedback and we will address the issues that you mentioned with the appropriate department. We look forward to welcoming you back to the beautiful Garden Island. Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lihue
Garden Island Inn
#2 of 11 in Lihue
4.5 of 5 stars 499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Koloa
Koa Kea Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kauai Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kauai Beach Resort

Address: 4331 Kauai Beach Drive, Lihue, Kauai, HI 96766 (Formerly Kauai Beach Resort - an Aqua Boutique)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Lihue
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Lihue
#3 Spa Hotel in Lihue
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Lihue
#4 Family Hotel in Lihue
#4 Business Hotel in Lihue
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kauai Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kauai Beach Resort is a beautiful Hawaiian plantation-style resort situated oceanfront on 25 lush acres of Kauai's longest exploring and strolling beach. This hotel features stylish vintage accommodations with modern day amenities and Hawaiian ambience and is conveniently located close to the airport, shopping, championship golf and more. The hotel also offers complimentary airport shuttle service, 2 restaurants, lounge, entertainment, 4 pools, 75-foot lava tube water slide, fitness center, spa, business center, meeting rooms and ballroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelsClick and Odigeo so you can book your Kauai Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kauai Beach Resort - An Aqua Boutique Hotel Lihue
Hilton Kauai Beach Hotel
Hilton Lihue
Hilton Kauai Beach Resort
Lihue Hilton
Kauai Beach Resort HI

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kauai Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.