We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Holiday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kauai Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added Kauai Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Kauai Beach Resort
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4331 Kauai Beach Drive, Lihue, Kauai, HI 96766 (Formerly Kauai Beach Resort - an Aqua Boutique)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Now, Save up to 10%!
Ranked #3 of 9 hotels in Lihue
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Wonderful Holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

In our travels around the world my wife and I have stayed in some of the best and some of the worst. The Kauai Beach Resort falls into the former category. While not a 5 star Hyatt, or Marriott it is a close second and is excellent value for the money. First off, the staff were all very helpful and friendly and always a pleasure to deal with. The hotel itself is a four story structure designed in the shape of a "U" and all the rooms facing inward look out over the gardens, the waterfalls, the four pools, two hot tubs and the ocean. Facing inward on the fourth floor, we were the furthest from the ocean and could still watch the whales spouting at sea as they swam past the resort. The rooms facing outside the "U" look out over the surrounding hills and fields. Our room was spacious and clean with a chaise lounge, couple of chairs, a desk, large dresser with a 40" TV, a small fridge, coffee maker and a great little deck (all rooms have decks.) The king size bed was extremely comfortable with all new linens by the looks of it and the bathroom was clean with marble and granite. The beach, while beautiful, is probably dangerous for swimming but there are so many beautiful beaches nearby this is hardly an issue. No one should go to Kauai without exploring the beaches! The restaurant dinner menu is a little tired and unfortunately it is closed for lunch but one can enjoy beach fare and burgers from the poolside bar or drive out and explore the island - this location is about dead center. The main bar inside is full of activity in the evenings with live music and a party atmosphere - a good mixture of young and old. The gardens, lit by the tiki torches at night make for a wonderful stroll or just relax by the fire pit. In summary, we had a fun stay, look forward to going back again and would not hesitate to recommend this resort to our friends.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager808, Manager at Kauai Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Aloha and thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay at the Kauai Beach Resort. We are pleased that you found our resort to be of great value and that the accommodations were comfortable and clean. We take great pride in providing our guests with excellent service and we will be happy to share your kind comments with our staff. Again, thank you for taking the time to write. We look forward to your return to our beautiful resort on the Garden Island. Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,306 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    550
    506
    187
    45
    18
See reviews for
235
761
60
29
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (405)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

My husband and I booked this hotel through a beachdestinations.com package and stayed for three nights. After a three night stay at a large chain hotel in Waikiki just before coming to Kauai, this hotel and island had a completely different vibe. It took a little bit of a transition for us, but after about a day, this hotel and the beauty of the island of Kauai really grew on me.

I wasn't too happy with our room view when we checked in - it was technically ocean view, but I could mostly see dirt from the parking lot construction. However, I asked if any pool facing rooms were available and even though the hotel was mostly full, we were able to switch (thanks to Krystie at the front desk!).

We didn't eat in the main restaurant, but had drinks by the pool at Driftwood and in Shutter's Lounge. Prices were reasonable and what we expected. They have happy hour every night, live music, and on Tuesdays (at least the Tuesday we were there), they had live Hawaiian music and hula dancers out by the pool with complimentary mai tais! We heard multiple ads for Shutter's Lounge on the radio, so it must be a pretty popular place in Lihue.

Pros:
Nice pool area
Live music/happy hour
Pleasant staff, including Expedia guest services department
Location on the island is not only near the airport, but within reasonable driving distance to restaurants and beaches in Poi'pu and Kapaa, as well as sight-seeing locations
Nice rooms and bathroom - Hawaiian decor
Able to check in early

Cons:
Rather steep parking fee of $13.95 per day for self-parking, $16.95 for valet, BUT there's also no extra resort fee so it kind of balances out
No beach swimming or lounging - even though we know this when booking the hotel, it was still disappointing
Rooms that are not facing the pool may have bad view of parking lot/dirt
Lines at reception were long when large groups came in
No private pool or gym showers to use after checking out of room - we had a red-eye flight home and wanted to freshen up before traveling, after being at the beach during the day, but the only showers available were the rinsing ones by the pool
Roosters started crowing around 5 am - just the nature of the island and I'm sure this would be the case at any hotel!

Advice:
Ask for an ocean view room facing the pool. We were in building 3, which was nice. Building 2 also has good views on the pool side.
If you're looking for a bigger hotel with more resort amenities and are willing to pay more, recommend looking at other places on the island like the Grand Hyatt or St. Regis. If you're looking for a more low key resort with relaxing atmosphere, this is your place.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the pool on a higher floor (3 or 4) are the best - you can also see the ocean and watch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager808, Manager at Kauai Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Aloha and thank you for your review from your recent visit to the Kauai Beach Resort. We are delighted that you found the resort to be in a convenient location and that we were able to offer you the accommodations you prefered. We appreciate your kind comments on our staff and the excellent service you received. We will share your review with our staff and again, we appreciate your valuable feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back to the beautiful Garden Island soon. Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Am not usually a fan of big resort hotels, but we enjoyed this one very much. Upgraded to a super ocean front room in the central Kalihi Tower. Well worth it. Dead center beach views, swaying palms...quintessential Hawaii. Excellent beach & amenities. Food very pricey but that's HI. Great poolside bar. Don't miss their chili pepper cocktail! Older hotel, has been remodeled and had lush landscaping, beautiful koi pond, lots of lovely lanais. Would happily return here!

Room Tip: Go for the upgrades, ask for the central tower. Higher floor is better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager808, Manager at Kauai Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Aloha and thank you for taking the time to write your feedback from your recent visit to the Kauai Beach Resort. We are so delighted that you thoroughly enjoyed your accommodations and our beautiful faciities. Kauai is truly a magnificent place to experience and again, we are pleased that we you chose our resort to enjoy it. We look forward to welcoming you back! Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

We were booked at this resort as part of an Island Vacation Package from Island Air. I was delighted to find out how close it was to the airport! We had a lovely ocean view room on the fourth floor. The property itself is beautiful. Room was spacious and clean and even had a small balcony. There was a tiny crack in our bathroom sink and an old spot on the carpet, but everything else was top notch. Pools were gorgeous, although we did not take advantage of them because we were out sightseeing every day. One evening one of the two hot tubs was overheated (scalding) and could not be used, which caused the other hot tub to be crowded. The beach is not for swimming, but it is beautiful to walk along. Had the seafood buffet at the restaurant, but it was not exceptional. Front desk and housekeeping staff were friendly and helpful; wait staff at the restaurant not so much. Did not like paying for parking. All in all, it was a good experience, and I would definitely come back again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager808, Manager at Kauai Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Aloha and thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent visit to the Kauai Beach Resort. We are delighted that you found our facilities to be in a convenient location and that our accommodations were comfortable. We take great pride in providing exellent service to our guests and we will be happy to share your kind comment with our staff. We hope to have the pleasure of your return visit to the beautiful Garden Island in the not too distant future. Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nebraska
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013 via mobile

This resort has the most comfortable beds of any place that I've stayed. I actually slept well from the first night to the last. The grounds are very impressive and the beach is very nice for walking. A swimmable beach is not too far away, but not right in front of the resort. My only complaint is that you HAVE to pay for parking at $13/day. We found reasonably priced places to eat in Lihue so overall we didn't spend a lot.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager808, Manager at Kauai Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Aloha and thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent visit to the Kauai Beach Resort. We appreciate your feedback and we are delighted that you found our accommodations to be very comfortable and the property to be well maintained. We do charge a small parking fee, but unlike most properties we do not charge a resort fee. We hope to have the pleasure of your return visit to the beautiful Garden Island. Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013 via mobile

The front desk staff seemed Inflexible and unfriendly. They did not go out of their way to be accomodating on fairly simple requests like late checkout, apology for incessant construction, etc. rather rhan accomodate their guests, they seemed accusatory and punitive. Poorly maintained interior, for instance rusted elevator doors.
Now the bell staff were superbly helpful and willing to go out of their way. Why the huge discrepancy?

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager808, Manager at Kauai Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Aloha and thank you for your review of your recent visit to the Kauai Beach Resort. Needless to say, we are disspointed to learn that you did not recieve excellent service from our front desk and that your requests were not addressed to your satisfaction. This is certainly not the norm here and we will be be discussing your concerns with the appropriate management. We appreciate your feedback and we do hope that we may have the pleasure of your return visit to the beautful Garden Island. Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsford
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

We stayed for one night on January 18th. We were very happy with our choice, a really nice property. The pool looked great they had everything you could want. I would stay here again even longer. Airport shuttle was really nice.

Room Tip: We had a bottom floor room and it was nice. You could walk out your patio to the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager808, Manager at Kauai Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Aloha and thank you for your review of your recent stay at the Kauai Beach Resort. Although we wish your stay could have been longer, we are pleased that you found our property to be convenient and our accommodations comfortable for the one night. We look forward to welcoming you back so that you can truly experience all the wonderful amenities we have to offer. Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Kauai Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kauai Beach Resort

Address: 4331 Kauai Beach Drive, Lihue, Kauai, HI 96766 (Formerly Kauai Beach Resort - an Aqua Boutique)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Lihue
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 hotels in Lihue
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kauai Beach Resort 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kauai Beach Resort is a beautiful Hawaiian plantation-style resort situated oceanfront on 25 lush acres of Kauai's longest exploring and strolling beach. This hotel features stylish vintage accommodations with modern day amenities and Hawaiian ambience and is conveniently located close to the airport, shopping, championship golf and more. The hotel also offers complimentary airport shuttle service, 2 restaurants, lounge, entertainment, 4 pools, 75-foot lava tube water slide, fitness center, spa, business center, meeting rooms and ballroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Kauai Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kauai Beach Resort - An Aqua Boutique Hotel Lihue
Hilton Kauai Beach Hotel
Hilton Lihue
Hilton Kauai Beach Resort
Lihue Hilton
Kauai Beach Resort HI

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kauai Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.