We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Between bad and good” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Kauai Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added Kauai Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kauai Beach Resort
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4331 Kauai Beach Drive, Lihue, Kauai, HI 96766 (Formerly Kauai Beach Resort - an Aqua Boutique)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Now, Save up to 10%!
Ranked #3 of 9 hotels in Lihue
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Between bad and good”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

What makes this hotel good is that they have three pools, one with a slide, and two Jacuzzi. On another note their service is one of the best in the world. The cleaning is also good. But what was disappointing is that their gym equipment was mostly rusted. The most agitating part is that they provide a car rental service but are unable to provide for the demand of people. So they have a list of people waiting for a car. Every day they call people at their rooms and if they are not there, they skip them and give the car to who ever answers first. I could not believe what few cars they have. Because the car company they are connected to is 15 min away in the airport. I found other tourist so desperate for a car that they road a shuttle to the airport instead to rent a car.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager808, Manager at Kauai Beach Resort, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Aloha and thank you for your feedback from your recent visit to the Kauai Beach Resort. We are pleased that you found our facilities to be very nice and our staff provided excellent service. We apologize for any inconvenience that you experienced in the rental car service. The holiday season is especially busy for the Garden Island with visitors and it's not unusual for the entire island to sell out of rental cars. Being that we are a sattelite office for Dollar Rental Car, we can only hold a certain amount of vehicles on our property and we make every effort to keep them stocked. We hope however, that you were able to utilize our complimentary shuttle to shopping centers and to and from the airport. We look forward to welcoming you back to Kauai in the near future. Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,326 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    557
    515
    190
    45
    19
See reviews for
242
771
60
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (410)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Magnolia, Kentucky, United States
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

Stopped for lunch with a car full of hungry people. Was told to go around the pool to a restaurant. Walked around place was closed til 11:30. Other restaurant on property was also closed.
Strange. Won't be back.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager808, Manager at Kauai Beach Resort, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Aloha and thank you for taking the time to write about your visit to the Kauai Beach Resort. We apologize that our food and beverage facilities were not open as they were in between breakfast and lunch service when you arrived. We would be happy to have you return to experience the excellent food and service that we provide. Please contact the resort directly to make your reservation. Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

Great value. Hotel was beautiful, nicer than the pictures. We went for our honeymoon and received an upgraded room and free parking. The staff was really friendly. Only grip was that Hotwire classified this as a 4+ rated hotel..but this is a Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline rating, not the KBR. Rooms were really nice but probably more a 3.5 if the highest rated hotels in Kauai are pretty much a 4. Great value and gorgeous ocean views. Probably one of the best beaches in Kauai. Would definitely say here again!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager808, Manager at Kauai Beach Resort, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Aloha and thank you for your feedback from your recent visit to the Kauai Beach Resort. We are pleased that you found our accommodations comfortable and our location to be ideal. Your kind comments will be shared with the staff and we look foward to welcoming you back to the beautiful Garden Island. Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Niguel, California
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

Very nice hotel, great value for the money. Large pool area, slide for kids. Couple of things, if you want to have breakfast at the hotel, buy the package with breakfast included. you'll save $5 per person per day and it's a good buffet breakfast. The parking lot is under renovation so depending on where your room is it might be better to just pay the extra $3 per day for valet parking. But overall nice hotel, close to Kihue and Kaapa restaurants and attractions and a great value. Beach right in front of hotel has quite a bit of coral rocks, but just a short walk, to north end of hotel is a wide beach. Would definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager808, Manager at Kauai Beach Resort, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Aloha! Thank you for taking the time to write your feedback from your recent visit to the Kauai Beach Resort. We are delighted that you found our facilities and accommodations to be excellent and a great value. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Garden Island in the very near future. Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

Danny and the front desk staff found us a beautiful one bedroom condo when we left our booked hotel because it was so bad. We found KBR by fluke, but it saved our vacation. Our room was so comfortable and super clean, the whole area was lovely, and the pool area spotless and lots of space. Heated pool was nice as the weather was a bit iffy. Super friendly front desk staff, on the ball and happy. We loved every second. Thanks Troy and Danny for our best vacation, you made our special time wonderful. Love the effort to Go Green too....and the bed was comfy too....

Room Tip: Don't think you could get a bad room here, well situated, so each room has a view...lovely. Nice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager808, Manager at Kauai Beach Resort, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
Aloha and thank you for taking the time to post your review about your recent visit to the Kauai Beach Resort. We are pleased that we were able to turn your vacation around when you chose to stay at our facility. We will share your kind comments with our staff and we look forward to welcoming you back to the beautiful Garden Island. Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayward, California, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

This resort might not have been the most updated place, BUT the service definitely made up for WE had a blast!!! the views are incredible the food was great and the nightly entertainment was a nice treat very relaxing just an overall greaT TIME

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager808, Manager at Kauai Beach Resort, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
Aloha and thank you for your feedback on your recent visit to Kauai Beach Resort. We are delighted that you found our facilities to be comfortable and that our staff provided you with excellent service. We hope to have the pleasure of your return in the not too distant future. Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtenay, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Visiting Kauai for the first time, we chose the KBR for location, amenities and value. We were not disappointed! From the shuttle bus driver who delivered us late in the evening, to Christina who checked us in, to the lovely, pristine room with the sound of the breakers as we sat on the lanai we were delighted from the get- go. We had chosen the fall car promotion and added the breakfast buffet which was a great price for such a beautiful resort- we were greeted warmly by the breakfast staff each morning for 14 days and really enjoyed the choices available at the buffet. The car promotion cost us approximately $10 per day in taxes and fees which was still a great bargain. We really enjoyed the very talented entertainers in the Lounge each evening and had several meals there. Sitting in the lobby checking emails was even more enjoyable listening to the music! Kudos to the front desk staff for answering questions with patience, and the housekeeping staff for keeping our room immaculate. The only sour note was the state of the parking lot which was rutted and muddy while construction of the new covered lot was completed- not a major problem but the lot could have been graded and gravelled during construction.
Overall, we LOVED this resort and the excellent and pleasant staff!! Thanks again to all for making our first visit to Kauai such a great experience- we'll be back!
Room 1331

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager808, Manager at Kauai Beach Resort, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Aloha and thank you for your very kind comments with respect to your recent stay here at the Kauai Beach Resort. We are so delighted that you chose the Kauai Beach Resort as your destination for your first trip to Kauai and that our accommodations and service met your expectations. We will share your feedback with all those you mentioned and again, we appreciate you taking the time to write your review. We look forward to welcoming you back to the beautiful Garden Island in the very near future. Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Kauai Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kauai Beach Resort

Address: 4331 Kauai Beach Drive, Lihue, Kauai, HI 96766 (Formerly Kauai Beach Resort - an Aqua Boutique)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Lihue
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 hotels in Lihue
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kauai Beach Resort 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kauai Beach Resort is a beautiful Hawaiian plantation-style resort situated oceanfront on 25 lush acres of Kauai's longest exploring and strolling beach. This hotel features stylish vintage accommodations with modern day amenities and Hawaiian ambience and is conveniently located close to the airport, shopping, championship golf and more. The hotel also offers complimentary airport shuttle service, 2 restaurants, lounge, entertainment, 4 pools, 75-foot lava tube water slide, fitness center, spa, business center, meeting rooms and ballroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Kauai Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kauai Beach Resort - An Aqua Boutique Hotel Lihue
Hilton Kauai Beach Hotel
Hilton Lihue
Hilton Kauai Beach Resort
Lihue Hilton
Kauai Beach Resort HI

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kauai Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.