We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good property - good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kauai Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added Kauai Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kauai Beach Resort
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4331 Kauai Beach Drive, Lihue, Kauai, HI 96766 (Formerly Kauai Beach Resort - an Aqua Boutique)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Now, Save up to 10%!
Ranked #3 of 9 hotels in Lihue
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Good property - good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

For a hotel located in the middle of the island, this hotel is very nice. It is not a Hyatt, St Regis or Marriott, but it doesn't try to be either. The property is in the final stages of a major capital improvement that should be completed before the end of December which was needed. The final stages is a new covered parking lot which probably makes it the only covered lot in Kauai, a nice feature for the hot days. The rooms are well appointed, the pools are beautiful with water falls, and the area by the beach is great as you can walk on a 3-mile beach. Breakfast is quite good and the bar is a good place to spend some time with a nice tapas menu. They have now opened an outside area with a fire pit which makes it nice for those sub 70's evenings!

The hotel is almost equal distance from the North Shore as it is from the other end of the island and less than 10 minutes from the airport. I left the hotel at 8:15pm for a 9:30pm flight and had all kinds of time to spare.

I think it is a good place to stay if you are looking for a nice but not spendy hotel and when they finish with all the construction and painting it will be a very nice product. I'd go back!

Room Tip: All the hotel balconies are slanted towards the ocean so you don't see others from your building...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager808, Manager at Kauai Beach Resort, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Aloha and thank you for taking the time to give us your valuable feedback on your recent stay here at the Kauai Beach Resort. We are delighted that you found our location to be convenient and the accommodations comfortable. As you mentioned, we are nearing the completion of some property enhancements and we are positive that the resort will be the number one choice for guests coming to the Garden Island. We look forward to welcoming back in the very near future. Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,329 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    559
    516
    190
    45
    19
See reviews for
242
773
60
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (412)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Concrete, Washington
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

I needed a place for my family for couple nights between at the end of our vacation and we happened on this beachside resort. We did a walk in and were given a very good deal on side by side rooms. The service was friendly and thorough. The pools were fun and there were lots of tour options if that is your thing. We enjoyed the pools, poolside service and fantastic beach walking. There was sunrise parasailing in front of the hotel and incredible sunrises. We will absolutely include more days at this hotel the next trip to Kauai. I will pass on the breakfast buffet it was mediocre but you are minutes from Kapaa and lots of excellent eating options.
They were doing some massive work to the south of the hotel but we were not bothered by noise or other inconveniences because of it. Being minutes from the Lihue Airport is also a big bonus.

Room Tip: We were looking for value and are room was still great. Closer to the ocean and you get a faster el...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager808, Manager at Kauai Beach Resort, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Aloha and thank you for taking the time to give your feedback on your recent stay here at the Kauai Beach Resort. We appreciate your wonderful comments on the facilities, location and our service. It gives us great pleasure to know that you plan to return to our beautiful resort and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Garden Island! Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012 via mobile

This resort was very nice but they charged for 13 dollars for parking every day in a dirt lot. Also they charge for clean towels and maid service along with a non refundable 55 dollar cleaning fee at check in.I was also charged a mystery 25 dollars when I got my receipt and had them take it off and it just reposted to my bank account again.internet also costs extra and there was almost no cell signal in the area exactly where the resort is

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Mills, Pennsylvania
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed here in August for a week. KBR is in a great location, easy to get to all areas of Kaua'i. The grounds are lovely, the pools are gorgeous! We did not eat at the restaurant, instead we chose to go out and eat locally every day. We did take advantage of the laundry facilities on premises, which were very helpful and convenient. We put our laundry in and had a drink or two in the lounge while waiting for it to get done. We rented from a private owner and the only negative thing I have to say is that we didn't have any housekeeping the entire week. The housekeeping staff were so nice though, they exchanged our towels for us a couple of times and gave us new ones. Otherwise, we had a fabulous stay at KBR.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager808, Manager at Kauai Beach Resort, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Aloha and thank you for taking the time to give us your feeback from your recent stay here at the Kauai Beach Resort. We are delighted that enjoyed your visit to Kauai and that our accommodations were perfect for you. I will share your kinds comments with our staff as well. We look foward to welcoming you back to the Garden Island! Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, WI USA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

We had the pleasure of staying here in September 2012. It was clean, relaxing and the staff was very friendly and helpful. So many activities to see and do on the resort and around the island. Perfect weather. The specials were great. Breakfast was always amazing. The property is well kept. I would definately return!

Room Tip: I would suggest the second floor with the beach view. Although the poolside was nice as well. Sunset...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager808, Manager at Kauai Beach Resort, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Aloha and thank you for your kind review of the Kauai Beach Resort! We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and found the property to be comfortable and close to all the activities here on the Garden Island. We look forward to welcoming you back soon! Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

I stayed one night with my family at the Kauai Beach Resort before heading down to Poipu for a week at a timeshare. Kauai Beach Resort is about a 5-10 minute drive North from Lihue Airport. This was my first time at this Resort and I left absolutely pleased. The open air entrance is very welcoming with all the employees always offering an "Aloha" with a smile! There is a charge for valet parking AND for self parking. I choose the self parking which was on a dirt lot next to the Resort. I was okay with it but with small kids it can be a pain so I would suggest the valet parking for a little more if you prefer not to walk. There is currently construction on a lot next to the resort where they are installing solar panels. This in NO way interferes with any views nor was it loud. My father who is older and has a hard time walking had no problem making his way around the resort. There is a nice convenience store on site and a small jewelry store which is quite affordable. The resort has a few pools with one having a volleyball net and another having a great slide for kids. The pool water is a bit chilly at first but the ocean view is amazing! The resort is ocean front which has a nice dirt path to walk along the ocean. It also has a beach though the water was always too choppy to enter. My room had a mountain view. It was VERY clean and VERY comfortable. All in all, I would recommend staying here at any age. Both my parents and my kids had a wonderful time on our short stay at Kauai Beach Resort!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager808, Manager at Kauai Beach Resort, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Aloha and thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay here at the Kauai Beach Resort. We are delighted that you found the resort to be in the perfect location and the accommodations were comfortable for your family. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Garden Island! Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
princeton, nj
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
79 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012 via mobile

We stayed one night in the resort ( returning from princeville) and choose it based on proximity to airport. We spent the day looking for beaches in poipu and kalapaki only to discover that the best beach was right by the hotel, beyond the wailua golf course! What an undiscovered secret- wonderful beach, completely empty, surrounded by lush vegetation...we wish we knew sooner and not waisted a day looking for what tourist books recommended. Other than the beach- this hotel is clean and basic and great value for the money. Not sexy, not fancy - but does not lack any of the standard amenities more expensive hotels provide.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager808, Manager at Kauai Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Aloha and thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback on your recent stay at the Kauai Beach Resort. We are delighted that you enjoyed the three mile stretch of beautiful beach right in front of the property! This beach "Nukolii" is actually one of the longest strolling beaches on the east side of the island. Your kind comments will be shared with the staff and we look forward to welcoming you back to the beautiful Garden Island!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kauai Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kauai Beach Resort

Address: 4331 Kauai Beach Drive, Lihue, Kauai, HI 96766 (Formerly Kauai Beach Resort - an Aqua Boutique)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Lihue
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 hotels in Lihue
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kauai Beach Resort 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kauai Beach Resort is a beautiful Hawaiian plantation-style resort situated oceanfront on 25 lush acres of Kauai's longest exploring and strolling beach. This hotel features stylish vintage accommodations with modern day amenities and Hawaiian ambience and is conveniently located close to the airport, shopping, championship golf and more. The hotel also offers complimentary airport shuttle service, 2 restaurants, lounge, entertainment, 4 pools, 75-foot lava tube water slide, fitness center, spa, business center, meeting rooms and ballroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Kauai Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kauai Beach Resort - An Aqua Boutique Hotel Lihue
Hilton Kauai Beach Hotel
Hilton Lihue
Hilton Kauai Beach Resort
Lihue Hilton
Kauai Beach Resort HI

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kauai Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.