We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice place but lots of fees” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kauai Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Kauai Beach Resort to your Saves list
Kauai Beach Resort
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4331 Kauai Beach Drive, Lihue, Kauai, HI 96766 (Formerly Kauai Beach Resort - an Aqua Boutique)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Now and Save 15%!
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Lihue
Certificate of Excellence 2014
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Very nice place but lots of fees”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

This resort was very nice but they charged for 13 dollars for parking every day in a dirt lot. Also they charge for clean towels and maid service along with a non refundable 55 dollar cleaning fee at check in.I was also charged a mystery 25 dollars when I got my receipt and had them take it off and it just reposted to my bank account again.internet also costs extra and there was almost no cell signal in the area exactly where the resort is

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,607 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    657
    637
    234
    52
    27
See reviews for
287
942
68
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (516)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glen Mills, Pennsylvania
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed here in August for a week. KBR is in a great location, easy to get to all areas of Kaua'i. The grounds are lovely, the pools are gorgeous! We did not eat at the restaurant, instead we chose to go out and eat locally every day. We did take advantage of the laundry facilities on premises, which were very helpful and convenient. We put our laundry in and had a drink or two in the lounge while waiting for it to get done. We rented from a private owner and the only negative thing I have to say is that we didn't have any housekeeping the entire week. The housekeeping staff were so nice though, they exchanged our towels for us a couple of times and gave us new ones. Otherwise, we had a fabulous stay at KBR.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager808, Manager at Kauai Beach Resort, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Aloha and thank you for taking the time to give us your feeback from your recent stay here at the Kauai Beach Resort. We are delighted that enjoyed your visit to Kauai and that our accommodations were perfect for you. I will share your kinds comments with our staff as well. We look foward to welcoming you back to the Garden Island! Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, WI USA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

We had the pleasure of staying here in September 2012. It was clean, relaxing and the staff was very friendly and helpful. So many activities to see and do on the resort and around the island. Perfect weather. The specials were great. Breakfast was always amazing. The property is well kept. I would definately return!

Room Tip: I would suggest the second floor with the beach view. Although the poolside was nice as well. Sunset...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager808, Manager at Kauai Beach Resort, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Aloha and thank you for your kind review of the Kauai Beach Resort! We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and found the property to be comfortable and close to all the activities here on the Garden Island. We look forward to welcoming you back soon! Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

I stayed one night with my family at the Kauai Beach Resort before heading down to Poipu for a week at a timeshare. Kauai Beach Resort is about a 5-10 minute drive North from Lihue Airport. This was my first time at this Resort and I left absolutely pleased. The open air entrance is very welcoming with all the employees always offering an "Aloha" with a smile! There is a charge for valet parking AND for self parking. I choose the self parking which was on a dirt lot next to the Resort. I was okay with it but with small kids it can be a pain so I would suggest the valet parking for a little more if you prefer not to walk. There is currently construction on a lot next to the resort where they are installing solar panels. This in NO way interferes with any views nor was it loud. My father who is older and has a hard time walking had no problem making his way around the resort. There is a nice convenience store on site and a small jewelry store which is quite affordable. The resort has a few pools with one having a volleyball net and another having a great slide for kids. The pool water is a bit chilly at first but the ocean view is amazing! The resort is ocean front which has a nice dirt path to walk along the ocean. It also has a beach though the water was always too choppy to enter. My room had a mountain view. It was VERY clean and VERY comfortable. All in all, I would recommend staying here at any age. Both my parents and my kids had a wonderful time on our short stay at Kauai Beach Resort!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager808, Manager at Kauai Beach Resort, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Aloha and thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay here at the Kauai Beach Resort. We are delighted that you found the resort to be in the perfect location and the accommodations were comfortable for your family. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Garden Island! Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
princeton, nj
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
94 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
146 helpful votes 146 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012 via mobile

We stayed one night in the resort ( returning from princeville) and choose it based on proximity to airport. We spent the day looking for beaches in poipu and kalapaki only to discover that the best beach was right by the hotel, beyond the wailua golf course! What an undiscovered secret- wonderful beach, completely empty, surrounded by lush vegetation...we wish we knew sooner and not waisted a day looking for what tourist books recommended. Other than the beach- this hotel is clean and basic and great value for the money. Not sexy, not fancy - but does not lack any of the standard amenities more expensive hotels provide.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager808, Manager at Kauai Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Aloha and thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback on your recent stay at the Kauai Beach Resort. We are delighted that you enjoyed the three mile stretch of beautiful beach right in front of the property! This beach "Nukolii" is actually one of the longest strolling beaches on the east side of the island. Your kind comments will be shared with the staff and we look forward to welcoming you back to the beautiful Garden Island!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

The nightly rate was a good deal for Kauai, and we got a discount on top of that so I can't complain too much. But I also can't give it rave reviews.

However, I did leave with the overall feeling of being nickle-and-dimed. Some examples:

- Daily charge for the privilege to self-park in their dirt lot (since at the time they were doing construction)
- You have to sign-out for beach towels, and they'll charge you $20 per towel if you don't return them. Can't they just build in the cost of lost towels to the nightly rate? Are there really so many people trying to steal towels?
- Since it was our honeymoon, we got upgraded to an Ocean View, which was actually a view of the aforementioned parking lot undergoing construction.
- Also we received a voucher for complimentary champagne at their restaurant. The champagne ended up being twist off and it was not exactly the most romantic thing. I'm not asking for fancy champagne here, but twist off just felt kind of lame.
- I'm pretty sure the $12 cocktail I ordered at the bar had literally no rum in it at all. It was tasty though so I'll call it an expensive smoothie.


Some good things:

- Ample pools
- Nice grounds and friendly people
- Clean room
- Good location


We didn't spend much time at the hotel, and I would recommend this place as a decent home base. I wouldn't bother with the restaurant/bar though, or any of their other services - there are a lot of good food options within a short drive.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager808, Manager at Kauai Beach Resort, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Aloha and thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit to the Kauai Beach Resort. We appreciate your comments and we will work to make improvements on the items that you had concern with. We are delighted that you found the resort to be in a convenient location and that your accommoations were comfortable. We hope to have you return to our beautiful resort in the near future. Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ledyard Center, Connecticut
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

We spent Thanksgiving weekend at this resort and had a very nice time. Our room was clean and the staff was very nice. Self parking was available so we had no problem with that although I have to admit that paying for parking in a dirt lot was just a tad annoying. Check in was easy. We ate dinner in their bar because we go there late due to a flight delay (don't fly GO! airlines) and didn't want to go into the restaurant as it was almost their closing time. The food was good and the service was as well. The grounds are beautiful and the pool area is very nice although it would have been nice if there had been an adults only pool (or parents who actually watched their children!) The view from our room was of the pool area and the ocean - it was a very nice view to wake up to. Although we were close to the elevator and the stairs we were never disturbed by any noise. I would return to this resort.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager808, Manager at Kauai Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Aloha and thank you for your valued feedback on your recent visit to the Kauai Beach Resort. We do apologize for any inconvenience you may had experienced during our parking renovation project. We appreciate your kind comments on our facilities and service and we look forward to your return to the Garden Island! Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Kauai Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kauai Beach Resort

Address: 4331 Kauai Beach Drive, Lihue, Kauai, HI 96766 (Formerly Kauai Beach Resort - an Aqua Boutique)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Lihue
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Lihue
#3 Romantic Hotel in Lihue
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Lihue
#4 Family Hotel in Lihue
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kauai Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kauai Beach Resort is a beautiful Hawaiian plantation-style resort situated oceanfront on 25 lush acres of Kauai's longest exploring and strolling beach. This hotel features stylish vintage accommodations with modern day amenities and Hawaiian ambience and is conveniently located close to the airport, shopping, championship golf and more. The hotel also offers complimentary airport shuttle service, 2 restaurants, lounge, entertainment, 4 pools, 75-foot lava tube water slide, fitness center, spa, business center, meeting rooms and ballroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, BookIt.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Kauai Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kauai Beach Resort - An Aqua Boutique Hotel Lihue
Hilton Kauai Beach Hotel
Hilton Lihue
Hilton Kauai Beach Resort
Lihue Hilton
Kauai Beach Resort HI

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kauai Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.