We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful vacation ath Kauai Beach Resort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kauai Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Kauai Beach Resort to your Saves list
Kauai Beach Resort
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4331 Kauai Beach Drive, Lihue, Kauai, HI 96766 (Formerly Kauai Beach Resort - an Aqua Boutique)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Now and Save 15%!
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Lihue
Milwaukee, WI USA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful vacation ath Kauai Beach Resort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

We had the pleasure of staying here in September 2012. It was clean, relaxing and the staff was very friendly and helpful. So many activities to see and do on the resort and around the island. Perfect weather. The specials were great. Breakfast was always amazing. The property is well kept. I would definately return!

Room Tip: I would suggest the second floor with the beach view. Although the poolside was nice as well. Sunset...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager808, Manager at Kauai Beach Resort, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Aloha and thank you for your kind review of the Kauai Beach Resort! We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and found the property to be comfortable and close to all the activities here on the Garden Island. We look forward to welcoming you back soon! Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,493 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    619
    585
    217
    48
    24
See reviews for
269
869
65
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (466)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

I stayed one night with my family at the Kauai Beach Resort before heading down to Poipu for a week at a timeshare. Kauai Beach Resort is about a 5-10 minute drive North from Lihue Airport. This was my first time at this Resort and I left absolutely pleased. The open air entrance is very welcoming with all the employees always offering an "Aloha" with a smile! There is a charge for valet parking AND for self parking. I choose the self parking which was on a dirt lot next to the Resort. I was okay with it but with small kids it can be a pain so I would suggest the valet parking for a little more if you prefer not to walk. There is currently construction on a lot next to the resort where they are installing solar panels. This in NO way interferes with any views nor was it loud. My father who is older and has a hard time walking had no problem making his way around the resort. There is a nice convenience store on site and a small jewelry store which is quite affordable. The resort has a few pools with one having a volleyball net and another having a great slide for kids. The pool water is a bit chilly at first but the ocean view is amazing! The resort is ocean front which has a nice dirt path to walk along the ocean. It also has a beach though the water was always too choppy to enter. My room had a mountain view. It was VERY clean and VERY comfortable. All in all, I would recommend staying here at any age. Both my parents and my kids had a wonderful time on our short stay at Kauai Beach Resort!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager808, Manager at Kauai Beach Resort, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Aloha and thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay here at the Kauai Beach Resort. We are delighted that you found the resort to be in the perfect location and the accommodations were comfortable for your family. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Garden Island! Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
princeton, nj
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
84 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012 via mobile

We stayed one night in the resort ( returning from princeville) and choose it based on proximity to airport. We spent the day looking for beaches in poipu and kalapaki only to discover that the best beach was right by the hotel, beyond the wailua golf course! What an undiscovered secret- wonderful beach, completely empty, surrounded by lush vegetation...we wish we knew sooner and not waisted a day looking for what tourist books recommended. Other than the beach- this hotel is clean and basic and great value for the money. Not sexy, not fancy - but does not lack any of the standard amenities more expensive hotels provide.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager808, Manager at Kauai Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Aloha and thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback on your recent stay at the Kauai Beach Resort. We are delighted that you enjoyed the three mile stretch of beautiful beach right in front of the property! This beach "Nukolii" is actually one of the longest strolling beaches on the east side of the island. Your kind comments will be shared with the staff and we look forward to welcoming you back to the beautiful Garden Island!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

The nightly rate was a good deal for Kauai, and we got a discount on top of that so I can't complain too much. But I also can't give it rave reviews.

However, I did leave with the overall feeling of being nickle-and-dimed. Some examples:

- Daily charge for the privilege to self-park in their dirt lot (since at the time they were doing construction)
- You have to sign-out for beach towels, and they'll charge you $20 per towel if you don't return them. Can't they just build in the cost of lost towels to the nightly rate? Are there really so many people trying to steal towels?
- Since it was our honeymoon, we got upgraded to an Ocean View, which was actually a view of the aforementioned parking lot undergoing construction.
- Also we received a voucher for complimentary champagne at their restaurant. The champagne ended up being twist off and it was not exactly the most romantic thing. I'm not asking for fancy champagne here, but twist off just felt kind of lame.
- I'm pretty sure the $12 cocktail I ordered at the bar had literally no rum in it at all. It was tasty though so I'll call it an expensive smoothie.


Some good things:

- Ample pools
- Nice grounds and friendly people
- Clean room
- Good location


We didn't spend much time at the hotel, and I would recommend this place as a decent home base. I wouldn't bother with the restaurant/bar though, or any of their other services - there are a lot of good food options within a short drive.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager808, Manager at Kauai Beach Resort, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Aloha and thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit to the Kauai Beach Resort. We appreciate your comments and we will work to make improvements on the items that you had concern with. We are delighted that you found the resort to be in a convenient location and that your accommoations were comfortable. We hope to have you return to our beautiful resort in the near future. Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ledyard Center, Connecticut
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

We spent Thanksgiving weekend at this resort and had a very nice time. Our room was clean and the staff was very nice. Self parking was available so we had no problem with that although I have to admit that paying for parking in a dirt lot was just a tad annoying. Check in was easy. We ate dinner in their bar because we go there late due to a flight delay (don't fly GO! airlines) and didn't want to go into the restaurant as it was almost their closing time. The food was good and the service was as well. The grounds are beautiful and the pool area is very nice although it would have been nice if there had been an adults only pool (or parents who actually watched their children!) The view from our room was of the pool area and the ocean - it was a very nice view to wake up to. Although we were close to the elevator and the stairs we were never disturbed by any noise. I would return to this resort.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager808, Manager at Kauai Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Aloha and thank you for your valued feedback on your recent visit to the Kauai Beach Resort. We do apologize for any inconvenience you may had experienced during our parking renovation project. We appreciate your kind comments on our facilities and service and we look forward to your return to the Garden Island! Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
haugesund
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Last time we visited Kauai we stayed at Kauai Marriot resort but because this was a little bit cheaper we wanted to try kauai beach resort.
To start with the positive things, the grounds are very nice, good location, short way to the beach and the swimming pool area is beautiful!

But when if comes to service, parking, hotel staff, room cleanliness and so on there is a lot to improve!

To start with parking facilities. At the time we checked in they where doing some construction at their self parking so we had to use the valet parking.
That would have been okay if we didn`t not have to pay the valet price for something that we didn`t choose.
But the hotel would not budge here,
To retrieve our car we were told to call down 15 minutes ahead to have the car ready when we got down. Several times we did this and we ended up waiting in the lobby up to 20 minutes and when we asked the valet people where our car was they had not got the message. So not very good communication.
We experienced that a family got their car back with a huge dent on the side. The valet people claimed that the dent was there already and left. The family seemed so surprised that we believed them. The only people who have access to the parking lot is the valet people so it had to be them.
So if you use the valet parking at this hotel always take pictures of your car before you leave it.
We also experienced that a lot of the times they did not find the keys to the cars, and sometimes not find the cars. The hole thing was very messy and unorganized.
Also there is the valet staff itself. They are really pushy to "help" you get out of the car, and a few times thet almost drove away with the car before we were done unloading it. And one of the (for lack of a better description) head valets was extremely rude. One night we had been waiting for ever on our car, I decided to ask him for help. After explaining the problem, he simply looked at me for a few seconds, turned around and left without doing anything. Fantastic service!!! The same man tried to be funny one day when we delivered the car. We were told to just leave it outside the hotel, roll down the windows and leave the keys in the seat. This seems like a fantastic way to get your car stolen. Actually it does seem like a very nice place to be if you are looking for a new car. If you see something you like, just walk up to it as they bring the car, say yes to whatever name the attendant asks you and drive away. A poor system...

The next problem was the elevator. After checked in we where heading to our room the elevator didn`t work and alarm was ringing. None of the staff did anything about it, they just walked past. After ten minutes we were escorted to the service elevator who took forever to arrive to our floor, even though its only 4 floors.
We heard from some of the other guests that this was a common problem and you are probably better of just taking the stair because the elevator is extremely slow.

Then there is the room. We booked an ocean wiev room, we got that, but we mainly had a wiev over a dirt parking lot.
The room itself is ok, but be prepared to hear every noise from the hall.
Another thing is that we were located at the end of the hall near the exit to the exterior stairway. The doors leading out was always open, this led to a lot of insects in the hallway and in our room. We closed the door a few times but someone always opened it again.
This door being open also means that anyone can enter the hotel from outside. Not very secure.
We also experienced a few times that the locking mechanism on our door did not work, we had to lock and unlock our door several times to get it to lock. So if we had not checked the door anyone could have walked in,
The last morning we woke up to a lot of ANTS in the bed. We also found ants crawling on the night stand and on the floor. Not the kind of thing you want to wake up to!! But since we were checking out we executed them ourselves.
This itself is a good enough reason to never stay at this hotel again!!!
The maid service was pretty bad to. One time when we came back they had left a dirty wash cloth on one of the night stands, not very hygienic.
A lot of the time we did not get a refil on the toilet paper, and we never got the same amount of towels. This was also the case with coffee cups and other things.

The staff in the hotel has not understood the meaning of do not disturb.
We have stayed in hotels all over the world and if we decide to take a nap during the day we simply put out the do not disturb sign and we dont get disturbed.
This hotel has another policy obviously. We decided to do this one day and were awokened by a call from the maid service to tell us that they had not made up our room because of the do not disturb sign. If you put out this this sign, you usually do not want to be disturbed by things such as phonecalls!!! I mean, come on..... Are they rookies at this???
Several other times we were awokened by calls, just ringing 1-2 times before leaving a message about something uninteresting. If it was so important to give us these messages, slide a note under the door or something...
An other thing is that every day when the maid left, they shut of the air condition. Beeing Hawaii, it gets pretty hot in the room during the day. We are all for being eco-friendly but this is a service you expect to get from a decent hotel.

The tv in the room seems to be from about the year 1840. To change the channel takes about forever, so hopefully you are not a channel zapper...

To sum up, we will never stay at this hotel again. Perhaps if we could pitch a tent right next to the pool, but never have anything to do with the staff. We have not discussed any of these problems with the hotel, because we did not want to spend our vacation arguing with these incompetent people.
Next time we visit Kauai, and we will do that because it is one of the most beautiful places on earth, we will be staying at Marriott. It is a little bit more expensive, but definitely worth it. And has a better location.

A lot of the things we have mentioned here are little problems, and if we only had experienced a few of them, we would not have bothered making this review. But we want to make sure that if you are a person that have more than one or two hotel stays under your belt, expect to be let down.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danville, Illinois, United States
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Stayed for seven nights. Was centrally located.

However, like everyone else parking is a huge complaint. No self parking, valet only. Took awhile to get the car and hard to just stop back by the room for a quick five/ten minutes and leave again. Rented the car through the resort, so kinda felt like should have gotten little bit of break on the parking since clearly they have a spot for the rental car regardless of if it is rented or not.

Ate at the breakfast buffet twice. Only complaint was could have opened a tad earlier. Since we come from the mainland and for us it is a four hour time difference. eating breakfast at 630 or later feels more like lunch. I think others would agree. One morning there were at least 10 people in line before the opening time.

We paid xtra to have a late checkout. No complaints there but that could be why some cant get a room as timely as they would hope.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager808, Manager at Kauai Beach Resort, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Aloha and thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay here at the Kauai Beach Resort. We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced during the construction of our photovoltaic parking structure. Unfortunately, we did have an unforseen setback in the construction phase which resulted in the only alternative of valet parking only. With little preparation, our staff did the best they could to accommodate our guests. We are happy to report that the parking project is nearing completion without any further interruptions. We hope to have you return to our beautiful enhanced property in the near future. Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kauai Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kauai Beach Resort

Address: 4331 Kauai Beach Drive, Lihue, Kauai, HI 96766 (Formerly Kauai Beach Resort - an Aqua Boutique)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Lihue
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Lihue
#3 Family Hotel in Lihue
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kauai Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kauai Beach Resort is a beautiful Hawaiian plantation-style resort situated oceanfront on 25 lush acres of Kauai's longest exploring and strolling beach. This hotel features stylish vintage accommodations with modern day amenities and Hawaiian ambience and is conveniently located close to the airport, shopping, championship golf and more. The hotel also offers complimentary airport shuttle service, 2 restaurants, lounge, entertainment, 4 pools, 75-foot lava tube water slide, fitness center, spa, business center, meeting rooms and ballroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, BookIt.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Kauai Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kauai Beach Resort - An Aqua Boutique Hotel Lihue
Hilton Kauai Beach Hotel
Hilton Lihue
Hilton Kauai Beach Resort
Lihue Hilton
Kauai Beach Resort HI

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kauai Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.