We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“VERY Sweet Marie sells delicious GF treats.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sweet Maries Hawaii Inc.

Sweet Maries Hawaii Inc.
3-3204 Kuhio Highway, Lihue, Kauai, HI 96766
808-823-0227
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 98 Restaurants in Lihue
Cuisines: Coffee Shop, Bakeries, Healthy, Eclectic
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Takeout
MM90402
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“VERY Sweet Marie sells delicious GF treats.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2011

Delicious, unique GF muffins, brownies, etc. sold by the VERY sweet Marie. In a new larger location in Lihue near the airport.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    18
    11
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Fort Langley, Canada
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Health food, Shmealth food. This place is good for everybody.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2011

Stopped here to grab a light breakfast. Both had the breakfast sandwich with scrambled egg, turkey bacon and cheese. Very tasty.
While we were waiting for our breakfast outside on the lanai (the only place you can wait) the owner asked if we liked chocolate. Are the Kennedy's interested in politics?
She gave us a Lava cake that had some invisible visual impairment. It was beautiful!!
Everything is Gluten Free, what ever that means. Taste was fabulous and just like the real thing only apparently healthier.
If you see the McDonald's, this place is right across the road.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Marie's Muffins made my vacation!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2011

I had just discovered I was Celiac in January and here we were in Hawaii and I couldn't find anything to eat but fish and rice. My husband had booked a kayak trip and Sweet Marie's was in the same building.............I was THRILLED to finally have some bread!!! We bought a ton to take home with us and loved every bite!! Thank you!!

  • Visited March 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Yummy treats, great prices, lg tasty breakfast sandwich”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2011

Marie is awesome! Her muffins are fresh, breakfast sandwiches made while u wait, and her energy is off the charts. There isn't anywhere to sit, but there's a coffee bean and a Starbucks across the street.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highlands Ranch, Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“I CRIED TEARS OF JOY!!! Seriously I Did!!! GF diners REJOICE!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2011

Finding Sweet Marie's was like finding the pot of gold at the end of the rainbow when it comes to eating Gluten Free on vacation. My Valet at the hotel tipped me off about this little place.
It is just that, a little cubby in a little building next to where you rent kayaks and stuff. You walk up to the screen door and read the hand written menu and order right there. Almost every day, Marie herself will be there baking and cooking Gluten Free (and more) products.
I started to cry, I do that when I find new GF places and things to eat, and Marie came out and gave me a hug! She made me the best breakfast sandwich with Udi's GF bread and Turkey bacon. I haven't had a breakfast sandwich in years. I also got her last piece of Coffee Cake, which was so moist and delish and BIG that I ate on it at the hotel for 3 days.
I had breakfast there every day almost, and bought muffins for some others at the hotel that were GF.
The muffins were so tasty and moist and wonderful!
Most GF food is usually crumbly and dry and tastes funny with an aftertaste. NOT SO with Marie's baked goods.
If I lived on Kauai I would eat there every morning. Totally worth the 5.25 a sandwich!!!
If you are GF and near Kapa'a (which is near anywhere on the island really) on Kauai, you MUST go here and get some muffins and things to take with you on your treks or beach visits!!!
Tell her Elizabeth sent you!!!! And that I will be back soon!!!!

  • Visited July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sweet Maries Hawaii Inc. also viewed

 

Been to Sweet Maries Hawaii Inc.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sweet Maries Hawaii Inc., register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.