We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kauai Lagoons: Impressive” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott's Kauai Lagoons

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Marriott's Kauai Lagoons to your Saves list
Marriott's Kauai Lagoons
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3325 Holokawelu Way, Lihue, Kauai, HI 96766   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Lihue
Pleasanton, California, United States
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Kauai Lagoons: Impressive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2014

This property exceeded expectations. I agree with others who have compared Kauai Lagoons to other Marriott time share properties, this one does stand out. Having been to Ko Olina, Lakeshore Reserve in Orlando and Newport Beach, the layout of the timeshare units at Kauai Lagoons is the most utilitarian and well thought out. We rented both the 2 and 3 bedroom units, the layouts were similar.

I was so impressed with the customer service at this property that I emailed the front desk supervisor and the general manager. I commended the general manager: "I have to compliment you on the consistent warm, friendly and welcoming service I experienced regardless of who was staffed at the reception desk. I was always greeted cheerfully by name every day. I was always asked by staff what they could do to help me." What is important is that the service is consistent!

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    54
    15
    7
    1
See reviews for
86
58
1
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
SF
Top Contributor
164 reviews 164 reviews
86 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
153 helpful votes 153 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2014

I am not a fan of Marriott properties and as well their timeshare market since they tend to be cookie cutter boxes with zero personality. However at their Kauai property I was quite surprised at both the layout and the quality of furnishings. The two bedroom model was well appointed and the kitchen better stocked then one normally finds at a timeshare with the exception of the cheap coffee maker which worked but the coffee was never that hot and so I used the microwave to heat it up once poured.
The bedrooms were large and their connecting bathrooms were nicely done as well. The tile and marble work were first rate. But what we loved the best was the open space design of the living room which faced the golf course, the water and hills on the island around Lihue. There is only one pool but it is fine since you can go to many different beaches close to the property. The Marriott Hotel is next door and while they officially tell you - you cannot use the pool you can without any problem. This is a very expansive pool at the hotel with food for purchase and a beach front. So just head over to the Marriott Hotel for a full resort effect.
Finally what we really loved is the ceiling to floor sliding glass doors which opened up to the lovely usable balcony and where we ate dinner every night outside on the full size table for four.
The only con to staying here is what you are in the direct path of the helicopters which take off at the airport behind the resort. Maybe 5-10 a day depending on traffic. It was fine since we were here as visitors but I would have been pissed if I had bought one of these timeshares knowing I paid for the sound of helicopters daily taking off. We used marriott points and it was the best value for hotel/timeshare exchange we had ever made.

Room Tip: If you are using points do not fall for the scam to turn in more marriott points for ocean front. A...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottVacationClub, Corporate Customer Care at Marriott's Kauai Lagoons, responded to this review, November 12, 2014
Aloha and thank you for your five-star review of Marriott's Kaua'i Lagoons! Your positive feedback is appreciated and we are glad to have exceeded your expectations. We hope to welcome back soon on your next trip to Hawaii.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ohio
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2014

We have stayed at other Marriott vacation resorts but this by far is the BEST. We came from Maui after spending five nights there and wish we would have spent more time at this resort. I was told this was built as a Ritz Carlton residence with an additional Ritz Carlton hotel planned for the site next door. When the recession hit, all plans were changed and it became a Marriott vacation resort instead. Lucky for us that we got to experience this wonderful resort. We used points to book our villa and we had a two-bedroom ocean view that included a view of the pool, mountains and golf course. It doesn't get any better than that! The villa is much nicer than any of the other Marriott villas we have stayed in. All the furnishings are beautiful and the kitchen is huge with a Sub-Zero!

We used all the facilities. We rode bikes, worked out in the great fitness room and swam and used the hot tub. Loved the pool area, the water was so clean and refreshing. We're not golfers, but the course looked top notch.

This is a great location for getting around the island. It's close to Costco, the airport and within walking distance to the Marriott. If I lived in California and visited Hawaii often, I would definitely buy a timeshare here and that is the first time I have ever said that about buying a timeshare.

All the staff are so nice and really go out of their way to make the guests happy. As a matter of fact, when we went over to the Marriott, everyone was so nice there, too.

Do yourself a favor and treat yourself to a wonderful vacation villa at the Lagoons.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Pedro Garza Garcia, Mexico
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2014

Seven of us stayed at a three bedroom villa for 4 nights. If up to me would have stayed for 2 weeks at least. There are many things to do in Kauai and if you add to that the enjoyment of just being there at the villas,walking its grounds, using the gym, riding a bike or just hanging around reading your favorite book, well, 2 weeks is a minimum.
As we have three preteens they were able to roam around by themselves, go to the pool, ride bikes. This is a place to relax and take your time.
The villas are first rate, very complete. The kitchen fully equipped, amenities of all kinds for kitchen and bathrooms, WiFi, beach towels, everything. At the front desk you can also rent beach chairs and those boards people paddle into the ocean with.
The front desk is always friendly and hospitable. They have a little shop there in case you need something fast but its very expensive. They brew Starbucks in the morning and its complimentary.
You can also walk down to the Marriot which is a sight in itself, very seventies and yet exotic.
One of the best things is to walk the many paths the grounds have and just appreciate and connect with nature. There a nenes, cranes, other birds everywhere; at of course also chickens and roosters!

Room Tip: All villas are great. There are 2 and 3 room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2014

Marriott's Kauai Lagoons is one of the nicest facilities I've ever had the privilege to visit. I'm an owner at the Marriott Beach Club and will have a very difficult time ever going back there. The grounds and service was all top notch. The rooms are spacious and very well laid out with really not a bad view. All rooms, regardless if you're Island View or Ocean View have a view of the ocean and surrounding golf course. We stayed by the pool and loved it as we had kids with us and was a short trip to the pool. The pool is very well laid out, as even though it's smaller it gives you space from other people. Deepest part is 4 feet, so is great for families with even smaller kids as there's separate sections that toddlers can use. As far as the complaints I've read about proximity to airport.... it's really not that bad. It's actually kinda cool to see the planes coming in. The helicopters start around 8am and usually about 3-5 during a short 5 minute window. They're up and gone in about 20 seconds from the time you hear them so not much of a distraction at all. They run about every two hours till early afternoon, but again we had no issues with it. The resort itself is very private and there were times when we had the pool all to ourselves. There's 4 BBQ's and so we made a Costco run the first day and just BBQ'd each of the days. If you want to go to a beach, just drive or walk the short 1 mile to just above the valet parking for the Kauai Beach Club and park down below. You can then just walk to the beach in front of that hotel. Great for swimming and paddle boarding. I can't wait to return, and highly recommend this place. Staff is top notch and one of the friendliest staff's I've ever encountered.

Room Tip: Ocean Front rooms will probably get more airport noise as they are on the point, but you get by far...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corona, California, United States
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2014

Breathe taking views from throughout our 1300 square foot villa. Located in the middle of the island, so it is convenient to reach any destination on the island. I have stayed at the Marriott down the hill but this was by far superior to the other property. Pool area is a bit small but the overall facility is small so nothing on this property is done on a large scale. The amenities in the unit area very nice, if your looking for a villa type vacation. There is no restaurant on the property only a very small market with a very small select amount of items. Costco and the local grocery store are not far, so once you check in, take a run, it's only about 10 minutes away.

The view from our unit was AMAZING! We had ocean view from every corner of our unit and overlooked the pool area too. The facility is located in the lagoons with a golf adjacent to the property. Great for walking. Bikes are offered for guests at two hour intervals. The furnishings are nice and appliances are modern. The balcony in the unit opens with a lanai (glass door wall, folds back completely) making the unit completely open to the balcony.

Great place, would have enjoy a few good restaurants on the property but you cant beat the location on the island, close to the airport and the views are great! PS. No private beach, the closest would be the Lagoons at the main Marriott hotel. A bit of a walk but you can drive or they have a shuttle.

Room Tip: Ocean View overlooking the pool area
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2014

The hotel is very nice and clean. They keep the place in tip top shape. The pool area was wonderful and relaxing. We had an awesome view from the 4th floor looking out to the ocean. Can't get to the beach from where you are but can see it. The pool is very shallow, mainly for relaxation and couldn't complain about that!

Stayed September 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marriott's Kauai Lagoons? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Kauai Lagoons

Address: 3325 Holokawelu Way, Lihue, Kauai, HI 96766
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Lihue
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Lihue
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott's Kauai Lagoons 3.5*
Number of rooms: 356
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Marriott's Kauai Lagoons reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Kauai Lagoons Hotel Kauai
Marriott's Kauai Lagoons HI

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott's Kauai Lagoons, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.