We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing stay above the crowds.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott's Kauai Lagoons

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Marriott's Kauai Lagoons to your Saves list
Marriott's Kauai Lagoons
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3325 Holokawelu Way, Lihue, Kauai, HI 96766   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Lihue
Certificate of Excellence
Santa Clarita, CA
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Relaxing stay above the crowds.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

This was our second stay at Marriott's Kauai Lagoons. Our first was in 2010, shortly after it opened. Kauai Lagoons is just up the road from Marriott's Kaua'i Beach Club--the livelier beachfront hotel with its fancy restaurants, shops, impressive gym, full-service spa, porters, etc. If you are looking to be pampered on vacation, Kauai Lagoons is not for you. If you are looking for something spacious, well-appointed and more on the quiet side you will enjoy this property. With 7 adults in our party, we booked their larger, 3 bedroom unit. The living area was spacious, and the lanai made it feel twice the size. The view is beautiful, excepting the abandoned construction site in the panorama. If you feel an eyesore like this (I'll post pictures of it from the first level and 3rd level) can ruin your vacation, this property is not for you. For $100 a night savings over the Beach Club, one can look right past those ruins.

Room Tip: Bring a non-stick pan if you don't want to spend precious vacation time scrubbing pots and pans...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    63
    19
    8
    2
See reviews for
114
73
1
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Great place to stay if you want a quiet place to stay, away from the crowds, privacy, a full kitchen with granite countertops and stainless steel appliances, a huge lanai [balcony] and great views of Nawiliwili Bay and the surrounding mountains. Not so great if you want a big pool, beach front, and closeness to restaurants, which are all available at the neighboring Kauai Marriott/Beach Club. There is free shuttle service between Kauai Lagoons and Kauai Marriott/Beach Club and free shuttle service to/from the airport, 24 hours per day. Just call the front desk and the shuttles always arrive in a short time. For those who want to cook some of the time and dine out other times, this place is perfect. One major shortcoming is the small kiddie-sized pool with very shallow steps and there is no usage right to the much bigger pool at Kauai Marriott/Beach Club. Parking at Kauai Lagoons is much more convenient though.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

If you come to Kauai for a beach or want a nice pool, this is not the place. They tease you with the option of using the Marriott Kauai Beach Club which is also on site. But after booking, if you read the fine print, it will say it is forbidden. My family was asked to leave when we sat in chairs by the beach. The attendant said "they are for hotel guest only" I wanted to strangle him knowing I was paying $350 a night and was being 86ed like a vagrant. The man said he has to do this all the time. Be advised, there is no beach at the Marriot Kauai Lagoons and Vacation Club and the pool is designed for small children.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breckenridge, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013 via mobile

The property is nice. The condos are large with very nice finishes. The overall grounds are not overly impressive and if you want a beech, do not stay here. Beech is not usable and the path to get there via the golf course is not good either. The one depressing view is the unfinished, abandon foundations of phase II of this property, but other than that, beautiful Mountain and Ocean views.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Borger, Texas
Level Contributor
45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

We are Marriott vacation club owners and the villas here are great! Clean, new rooms are spacious and all have great views. The only reason this doesn't receive the highest rating is the small pool on the property. We played golf and explored the island, so swimming was not a priority. Still this place is better suited for couples and adults without children.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Our family of six stayed for a week in Building B (1411). We had a great view of ocean and the garden area. The lanai really added to our living space everyday. The kitchen had all of the implements we needed for meals, we used the washer &/or dryer everyday and the beds we super comfortable. The grounds were immaculately kept ( including the grills). We loved the location in Lihue as we could easily access East or West Kauai. The choppers flew over ever day around 0800 but that was all. We absolutely loved this property and would come back!!!

Room Tip: Building B with room on top floor was great !! Close to pools without being immediately in front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Amazing is what my family is saying, this is our second time here, this time we did a three room villa. holy moly it was great, the view, the lanai, the kitchen and though we didnt golf a nice golf course that ran the whole resort. We had a amazing time on Kauai. We saw almost everything the island had to offer, as well as the resort. Wonderful staff, they were so kind. One night someone pulled the fire alarm, so we had to evacuate, my niece taped it, when we got back to the room we had a big laugh, but thats the kind of family we are, easy going. Though it shocked us at first. Very close to the airport as well. Only bad thing was probably the abandon looking building next to the health club. If fixed up would make a wonderful restaurant, they should think about it. besides that, we cant see ourselves staying any place else.

Room Tip: We haven't had a bad room yet, so I cant really help you. We have done a two and a three bedroom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lihue
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Koloa
Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club
Kauai Beach Resort
#5 of 11 in Lihue
4.0 of 5 stars 1,723 reviews
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott's Kauai Lagoons? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Kauai Lagoons

Address: 3325 Holokawelu Way, Lihue, Kauai, HI 96766
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Lihue
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Lihue
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott's Kauai Lagoons 3.5*
Number of rooms: 356
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Marriott's Kauai Lagoons reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Kauai Lagoons Hotel Kauai
Marriott's Kauai Lagoons HI

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott's Kauai Lagoons, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.