We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome! If you don't want a beech property.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott's Kauai Lagoons

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Marriott's Kauai Lagoons to your Saves list
Marriott's Kauai Lagoons
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3325 Holokawelu Way, Lihue, Kauai, HI 96766   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Lihue
Breckenridge, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Awesome! If you don't want a beech property.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013 via mobile

The property is nice. The condos are large with very nice finishes. The overall grounds are not overly impressive and if you want a beech, do not stay here. Beech is not usable and the path to get there via the golf course is not good either. The one depressing view is the unfinished, abandon foundations of phase II of this property, but other than that, beautiful Mountain and Ocean views.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    54
    16
    7
    1
See reviews for
86
58
1
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Borger, Texas
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

We are Marriott vacation club owners and the villas here are great! Clean, new rooms are spacious and all have great views. The only reason this doesn't receive the highest rating is the small pool on the property. We played golf and explored the island, so swimming was not a priority. Still this place is better suited for couples and adults without children.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Texas, United States
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Our family of six stayed for a week in Building B (1411). We had a great view of ocean and the garden area. The lanai really added to our living space everyday. The kitchen had all of the implements we needed for meals, we used the washer &/or dryer everyday and the beds we super comfortable. The grounds were immaculately kept ( including the grills). We loved the location in Lihue as we could easily access East or West Kauai. The choppers flew over ever day around 0800 but that was all. We absolutely loved this property and would come back!!!

Room Tip: Building B with room on top floor was great !! Close to pools without being immediately in front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Amazing is what my family is saying, this is our second time here, this time we did a three room villa. holy moly it was great, the view, the lanai, the kitchen and though we didnt golf a nice golf course that ran the whole resort. We had a amazing time on Kauai. We saw almost everything the island had to offer, as well as the resort. Wonderful staff, they were so kind. One night someone pulled the fire alarm, so we had to evacuate, my niece taped it, when we got back to the room we had a big laugh, but thats the kind of family we are, easy going. Though it shocked us at first. Very close to the airport as well. Only bad thing was probably the abandon looking building next to the health club. If fixed up would make a wonderful restaurant, they should think about it. besides that, we cant see ourselves staying any place else.

Room Tip: We haven't had a bad room yet, so I cant really help you. We have done a two and a three bedroom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

Here I am sitting on the lanai which accommodates two lounges and table and four chairs. Looking out at the turquoise water and the bluffs and green mountains as well as a very unique pool and a golf course. Washer dryer in the unit...huge refrigerator. Big kitchen with stove top and microwave built in...only two bedrooms. And a sleeper couch. King size beds. Stall showers and a bathtub. Birds chirping. On their website you can see the photos. I could live here...No bell staff or concierge little shop for essentials...no restaurant here but there are many to choose from. Parking is easy and the elevator is there at the push of a button....I do not want to leave

Room Tip: I would come back in a heart beat
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

The ocean front villa had all the upgrades any one would want. Modern appliances and fixtures. Great balcony with perfect view of the ocean. But also views of a not finished Ritz Carlton destination club. That does dampen the view a bit but is worth the upgrade. The pool was nice. The property is rather desolate and does need a restaurant or at least a bar by the pool. Besides the planes going by which aren't too loud inside the rooms it is a quiet location.

Room Tip: Ocean front rooms are best on high floors. Island view is pretty much first floor pool view but dist...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Laurel, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

We have been Marriott time share owners for 10+ years. With few exceptions all the time share properties we have visited were very, very nice. It helps to know a little about the property in advance (Do you want your "villa" to face a nice golf fairway or the very nice but very busy main street around the edge of the lace?) No question, this is the nicest Marriott property we have ever seen. This is not an ideal spot for a true beach vacation; the nearby Marriott beach club--a huge complex--might be that. But our Lagoons unit was terrific. A very nicely furnished 2-bedroom unit it featured a kitchen my wife and I would kill for: Subzero fridge, top-grade cabinets, nice appliances like toaster, blender etc. And beautiful beds. One thing that is a little odd is that they have "island view" and ocean view" units, but the only difference is that the ocean view units are on the upper floors. The view from our 'island view" second floor unit was terrific.

Other gripes we have read leave us scratching our heads. Yes, this place is next to the Lihue airport. We did not find the occasional airplane bothersome at all. Jets are a lot quieter than the buzz of tourist helicopters which you will find everywhere along the scenic Hawaiian shores. Small beds? I assume the lady who complained about the "small beds" was refering to twin beds. I have never encountered twin beds in ANY hotel *except one dump in Miami Beach where I stayed years ago for less than $100/night. All I have ever seen are king and queen beds.

No scenic views from the ground floor units because of all the Hawaiian flora? That's true, at least for he B and C buildings. On the other hand the glass wall-doors that fold away to open the living/dinng room to the outdoors mean that kids and family can easily go in and out.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marriott's Kauai Lagoons? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Kauai Lagoons

Address: 3325 Holokawelu Way, Lihue, Kauai, HI 96766
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Lihue
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Lihue
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott's Kauai Lagoons 3.5*
Number of rooms: 356
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Marriott's Kauai Lagoons reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Kauai Lagoons Hotel Kauai
Marriott's Kauai Lagoons HI

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott's Kauai Lagoons, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.