We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott's Kauai Lagoons

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Marriott's Kauai Lagoons to your Saves list
Marriott's Kauai Lagoons
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3325 Holokawelu Way, Lihue, Kauai, HI 96766   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Rewards Members Save 20%
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Lihue
Certificate of Excellence 2014
fairfield ct
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great stay.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

After much deliberation on exactly where to base ourselves for 8 days on Kauai, I decided on the Marriott Lagoons because it allowed us to visit all parts of the island fairly easily and was just 5 minutes to the airport. (It was also impossible to find a plain hotel room that accommodated 5 persons.) They have a fine shuttle service to and from the airport but you will still want a car.

I was on the verge of going with a rental home but stumbled onto this owner/timeshare condo arrangement after looking here on TA.
We arrived quickly to the Lagoons and given a beautiful 2 bed/2 bath condo on the second floor with a wonderful view. We were placed by choice in Building A which is closest to the water. Not a complete ocean view for our unit but half ocean, half bay. Perfect. We could also see from the large balcony the beautiful landscaping around the pool property though we were not immediately on top of it.

Beds were King in each room and extremely comfortable. There was also a large sofa for good sleeping as well as a floor futon for those who want it. The kitchen was completely equipped for cooking which we used to make two evening meals. Everything was high end and new. The cleaning service put the dishes through the dwasher daily. Coffee was continually supplied but no other food staples. Several beach towels were replaced daily. The staff was always available and helpful but never intrusive. We loved the accommodations! Having a laundry room in the unit was useful and they give you detergent.

The Lagoons is somehow connected to the Marriott hotel on the other part of the property. We went there for their beach which was fine for swimming and renting boards, etc... and for Duke's restaurant. Duke's is always an enjoyable and reasonably priced choice for dinner on the water. Downstairs is casual, upstairs a higher end menu. The shuttle runs constantly to bring you back and forth to the Lagoons, but we often walked the beautiful property back to our place.

We thought the grounds of the Lagoons were so nice, especially the pool area, that we had little reason to go to the hotel except for dinner and an occasional swim.
The Lagoons has a great little private beach reached by the golf course path and is nice for sunbathing and relaxing during low tide. Like many beaches on Kauai, it's rough for real swimming and I wouldn't. Many people also barbecued on the four grills/patio setups near the pool. We did this once and it was fun. My husband and son enjoyed golf on the 9 hole course one morning, but there is an 18 hole along the ocean, too.

I don't know if we were just lucky, but the Lagoons was not crowded at all. The pool area was lovely, never rowdy or overrun with kids, though there were several families. You can also request to take a couple beach chairs out with you for the day around the island. There are four nice mountain bikes to tour with around the property. The fitness center looked very well equipped and had full view windows facing the ocean.

We had mixed weather everyday and went all over the island to enjoy what Kauai has to offer. Some people on TA complained about plane and helicopter noise but we didn't mind either. Few flights come in to Lihue each day and being so near the airport far outweighed that. The helicopters could be bothersome to some in the morning when they all fly out for tours but after 9:30 or 10 we were usually out and about by then. It wouldn't deter me in the least from staying here.

I found the room on the Marriott site and plugged in my Marriott rewards number to get a great deal under 300 per night for this unit. It is so worth it for a larger family. Since Kauai has weather that can change, it was nice to have such a large place to relax after a long day or when the weather was off a bit. You couldn't find a hotel room, much less a condo, with these amenities for the money. Not by far. (Unless you had frequent flyer or hotel points)

Lihue is a pleasant town, not touristy but a regular small town where you can easily buy supplies at Kmart or Walmart, go to farmer's markets, get fresh fish, etc... Kapaa is a little more touristy but still nice.

We spent a lot of time in Hanelei Bay which is in the north side. The beaches are hands down the best of the island and Hanelei is a great little spot for dining and hanging around. Don't miss Tunnels beach for absolutely wonderful snorkeling, swimming and sunning- and Ke e beach for sunsets. We stopped at many other beaches around the island and the north is stunning. Salt Pond Beach in the West was very nice as well. I was not as impressed with the Poipu area beaches though we tried three.

Don't miss a Waimea Canyon hike: scary but thrilling- but go early morning as the clouds roll in by 11, it seems. Or go after 6 when the sun returns beautifully on the canyons. A nice time is also had doing a bit of kayaking on the peaceful Wailua River.
We didn't do the helicopter or airplane rides, nor did we take a boat ride. Next time!

When we return we will stay at the Marriott Lagoons. It was a truly great vacation!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    58
    16
    7
    1
See reviews for
95
64
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

We had 3 bedroom unit that was just wonderful. Beatuiful kitchen, balcony doors that opened up accordian style so the view of the ocean was not interrupted. We liks this resort so much that we are planning to return next year. Kauai is a very quiet Island, almost everything (except restraunts) close at 5 PM. The Grnd son had a great time chasing all of the wild chickens that inhabit this island.

This resort is very close to the airport but we did not notice any noise from airplanes.

The Resort is alittle hard to find, the address did not show up on our GPS, if you are going, call the Resort first to get instructions on how to find it. There are two Marriott Resorts at this location both are on the same street, this will be the second one you wil come to.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Colorado, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

We just spent 9 days in Kauai at the Marriott Lagoons and had a wonderful time! We typically go to Maui and stay at the MOC in Kaanapali but couldn't get a room on the short notice we booked our trip so we decided to try the Lagoons since it had almost everything we were looking for. It was our first time to this island and we were excited for the adventure. I have to be honest we were NOT happy with reviews and were very nervous to swim in such a small pool and listen to airplanes fly over constantly. I had anxiety over it as we were bringing my in laws for their first trip to Hawaii and I wanted it to be amazing for them. Guess what? It was FABulous!

The 9 of us arrived to the beautiful grounds and I had to smile. I was prepared to spray my kids with bug spray hourly and never did once. We arrived to our room and our mouths fell to the floor as the view was breathtaking! I realized we overlooked the pool and was concerned we would hate all the noise since everyone complained about it in the reviews. It wasn't a problem at all! I guess since we have 5 kids a little kid noise doesn't bother us. (do people really think a pool is going to be quiet?) The villas are amazing! Everything you need is available and if you don't have it with you...you don't need it or ask the front desk for help! (we bought flowers at one of the farmers markets and they even had a vase for me) We checked out the room and split up. Some ran to Costco and Times market (just a short drive away) to stalk up on groceries for our stay and the other half went to the pool. We were very upset because we were told on the phone (by marriott) that we could use the pool at the Beach club resort down the hill, but later found out it was $90 per day per person. That is outrageous! I wanted to be swimming in a pool by the ocean! Well...our 5 kids loved the Lagoons pool. Just the perfect size and it was soooo much quieter at the Lagoons pool. Whenever I mentioned trying out the bigger pool they just said no! We did end up having a day at the other pool (thanks to a nice couple at Dukes who gave us their pool cards) and it was fun, but we ended up taking the shuttle up and ending the day at our own pool. There is no pool service, but we were so close to our room we would take turns running up and bring ice and drinks down to the pool so really it wasn't a problem. We did have a run in once with an older couple not wanting our kids to splash in the pool. Seriously? My husband and I make sure our children behave while in public, but that really made me mad and I told them that if they didn't want to get wet they should be in or not sit by the pool and they went and complained about us. She came back and said they had turned me in and I was shocked. I thought someone would come tell us to leave by the smirk on her face but no one ever came so they left. We ran into them the next day at the pool and the older gentleman followed my kids all over the pool telling them to stop splashing him. He was harassing little kids...AWKWARD! I finally decided enough was enough and got my phone out and pretended to call the police. They left. Saw them at the airport when we left and offered a bottle of water to remember us by. Awwww Memories.

Every once in awhile you do hear a plane or helicopter, but honestly I imagined it so much worse according to the reviews. They pass by so quickly that you don't even think about it. Helicopters do fly over about every 10 minutes but it wasn't that annoying.

The BBQ's overlook the ocean and we cooked almost every night we were there on them. There are only 4 so we did have to wait a few times, but with the view you really didn't mind. We brought our own spices from home (way to expensive to buy in hawaii so just bring your own) and ended up helping other people out as well. Very homey feel at the Lagoons. We also made some friends while we were there. I know a lot of people complained about not having a lot of the amenities other resorts have, but we don't mind taking our own luggage to the room or not having a restaurant on site. It was so quiet and cozy we just loved this resort! Anything we asked they had an answer for. When we checked in we asked if they had any beach chairs we could use and they ended up letting us use 4 beach chairs, 2 beach umbrellas, 4 boogie boards and lots of sand toys! (they just look in the lost and found for those things). It was great that we didn't have buy those things! Thanks!

Eating out was easy...shopping is so close with lots of places to choose from, but it was great to be able to take the shuttle down to the Marriott beach and eat at Dukes. Tuesday is Fish Tacos and its de-vine! While we waited the kids ran around on the beach! The cruise ships leave about 5 so it was fun to watch them leave port! Be sure to try the Shave ice with a scoop of vanilla icecream on the bottom. To die for!

We had lots of adventures daily (highly recommend the kayak up Waiela river and hike to Secret Falls, Smith Luau or snorkel with sea turtles at Poipu beach) and it was nice to come back to the roomy villa every night and be able to to wash our clothes and have 3 showers going for us all. I didn't have to pack as much that way-they even provide the soap). The room was always so clean and loved we that we could cook our own food or have snack whenever we wanted for the kids. We were able to check out movies for the kids (each room has DVD players) and also check out games for the kids as well at the activity center. One morning we even went down and the kids were able to fish with bamboo poles in the Lagoon! What a blast! They got so many fish and tried to beat the record of 81 fish in half hour.

I would recommend this resort again. It was roomy enough for 9 of us. Downside is the early check out (10 am) and the fact that we weren't on the beach, but with the constant shuttle service that wasn't a problem. We left our luggage in our car (after we checked out of the room) and were able to swim at the pool all day. They have showers and a locker room next to the pool and were able to clean up before we flew out that night at 10. It was great! You can also use the kids club to hang out and print your tickets before you leave. They really made our vacation special for us!

Room Tip: 3 bedroom units have larger lanais!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Half Moon Bay, CA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

As owners, we have visited many MVCs over the past 10 years. The villas at Kauai Lagoons are hands down the nicest. Very upscale furnishings and high end (Sub Zero) appliances. This is certainly a small resort compared to many of the others, and it doesn't have an onsite restaurant or bar, just a small "Marketplace" mini-mart off the lobby. That said, the grounds are beautiful, with a great non-crowded pool, BBQ areas, and fantastic views of the golf course and out to the ocean. I'm pretty sure all of the villas have ocean views, as they all face south & east towards the ocean. This is a very relaxing resort, away from the hustle and bustle of the typical resort areas. The infinty pool and gardens overlook a golf course, and the ocean is beyond that (about 200 yards away). ThThe pool area wasn't too busy (there were always chairs and tables available), but it is centrally located, and the kids could get a bit loud. Fine if you have kids of your own, but you might want to stay further away (suggest building A) if you are looking for a quieter stay. The pool has a small water slide, and numerous shallow "shelf" areas that are great for young kids / toddlers. There is also a nice hammock between a couple palm trees, and a tether ball and badminton? net. The typical Activity Center has a foosball table, plenty of games, free DVD rentals, and video games for the kids. They also offer a decent "activity" schedule, although we didn't participate in any. The fitness center is also very nice.

The resort is somewhat isolated (nothing within walking distance), but there is a free shuttle that will take you to/from the nearby airport, as well as to the nearby Marriott Beach Club / Resort. This neighboring resort has several restaurants (including our favorite, Dukes), and is right on the beach at Kalapaki Bay. They offer reasonable paddle board, surf board, chair, umbrella, and other rentals. The only down side is that you are not supposed to use the Marriott pool (although plenty of people who weren't staying at the hotel did). Also within a short walk from the Marriott is a strip mall (with the typical ABC Store) and numerous shops and casual restaurants. There is a nice little beach just below the hotel, but it is hard to access as you have to walk across the golf course and down a somewhat steep path. Certainly not kid/grandparent friendly! And there are no facilities (bathroom, etc.) at this beach. Cool to explore, though.

Being a short (free) shuttle ride away from the airport and the Marriott / Kalapaki Bay areas, you could certainly get away without a rental car if you aren't the type that likes to explore. Be sure to either buy groceries and cook your own meals, or drive/take the shuttle to get to nearby restaurants.

In summary, beautiful grounds, pool, and villas(!). We'll be going back!

Room Tip: Building A is furthest from the pool (quieter). The ground floor rooms open up onto the grassy grou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County, CA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013 via mobile

This was an amazing 3 bedroom villa, perfect for our family vacation of 9 with the kids. The rooms were recently upgraded with very nice furniture, appliances and beds. The lanai overlooked the ocean and beautiful lush mountains. The pool had a water slide the kids really enjoyed. Airport noise did not bother us at all. Location was perfect as it was not far from north, south and west side, very central to see all of Kauai. Will definitely come back!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Coast USA
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Spent a week at Kauai Lagoons the second week in March with my immediately family and extended family. Let me just say the view with the lanai doors open was amazing. I could sit and watch the beauty. The cruise ships went by several times during the week. No issue at all with airport noise. The accommodations are top notch. The staff very responsive to any requests we had. Someone in our party burnt a pan, no problem they brought us a new one, brought extra pillows and blankets. They provided plenty of beach towels, no needing a towel card and having to guard your towel with your life. In unit laundry facility with large area to store empty luggage. The pool was never very crowded. The shuttle to the other Marriott facility on the property made going to Kalapaki beach convenient. Did not check out work out facilities. No issue with mosquitos, maybe they spray. Would definitely stay here again if we got the great deal like we got this time. We stayed last summer at Poipu and loved the location, but the Marriott Kauai lagoons central location made going to other island areas convenient and gave us more options for food shopping.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ, USA
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

This is our fifth different MVC (Marriott Vacation Club) we have stayed at in Hawaii (and 17th total). It is very different than the rest. The rooms and facility is a bit more upscale. The pool is less crowded and quieter. The property is a little smaller. There is no bar, restaurant, etc. There isn't easy beach access. BUT, we love it. If you are looking for a relaxing vacation ... this is your place.

The rooms are beautiful. The balcony/lanai is really spacious and nice. The grounds are perfectly manicured and the staff is VERY friendly.

We will come back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Marriott's Kauai Lagoons? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Kauai Lagoons

Address: 3325 Holokawelu Way, Lihue, Kauai, HI 96766
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Lihue
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Lihue
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott's Kauai Lagoons 3.5*
Number of rooms: 356
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Marriott, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Marriott's Kauai Lagoons reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Kauai Lagoons Hotel Kauai
Marriott's Kauai Lagoons HI

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott's Kauai Lagoons, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.