We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Villas and Views” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott's Kauai Lagoons

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Marriott's Kauai Lagoons to your Saves list
Marriott's Kauai Lagoons
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3325 Holokawelu Way, Lihue, Kauai, HI 96766   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Lihue
Sammamish, Washington
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great Villas and Views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Of all the various Marriott (and other) vacation timeshare / villa oriented properties we have visited over the past 10+ years, our 3 bedroom ocean view villa at Kauai Lagoons was just amazing. While on paper it didn't sound like the villas would be much different than other locations (such as Marriott's Waiohai or Ko O'lina resorts) the amount of space was amazing and the quality of funishings were wonderful.

Upon arrival, we were initially unsure which of the 3 bedroom was considered "the master", as all were so nice. The lanai area was quite large with 2 seperate access points, and with the living room's full wall, all-glass doors being able to be "folded open" to create an extend the living space onto the Lanai, the feeling was an immense space. The huge dinning room table + kitchen island/bar area easily accomodated 10 adults with room to spare (just ran out of chairs).

Overall the funishing provided (sofa, chairs, ottomans, lanai chairs & loungers, tables, and of course - the beds) were very comfortable (and everyone slept great). The additional ammenities included large flat panel LCD HDTV's & cd/dvd players (in living room + each bedroom), in villa washer & dryer, dishwasher, built-in SubZero fridge/freezer, tons of countertop space, etc. I really appreciated the large storage closet (could easily handle 6 sets of golf bags) to keep uncluttered and out of the way), just added to this being an amazing place designed to let you stretch out, relax and enjoy the views
.
we had both Lagoon views (from one of the BR's) and probably 120 degrees+ of ocean, golf fairway and some Na Pali coast-LIKE mountain views (i.e. the moutains come right to the water).

The BBQ areas were pretty well lighted for grilling past sunset, and the pool area had multiple levels and plenty of lounging space. While the Spa was very nice and quite large, the property could benefit from having a 2nd spa (e.g. located closer to the ocean end of the property).

My one concern about staying at this location was the proximity to the flight-path of Lihue's airport. We were very happy that this proved to be a non-issue. In the mid-morning you would hear the scenic helicopter tours as they flew towards the coast, but they really didn't bother us either.

There are quite a number of very lightly traveled roads that meander around the property, golf courses, beaches, airport fence lines, etc, providing excellent opportunities for even better ocean / coastal views (e.g. Ninini Point and lighthouse) and there is a pretty recently added, mostly paved running / biking trail that runs between from Ninini point to the Ahukini Landing road that is located on the back-side of the airport (i.e. ocean side).

The grounds are well maintained and the staff was wonderful, very friendly and always helpful.

We will definitely return to this resort - especially if we have a number of friends or family traveling with us. It's a wonderful location.

Room Tip: All buildings have very nice views. If you want closer to the water, choose building A. Close to t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    55
    15
    7
    1
See reviews for
86
59
1
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Castle Rock, Colorado, United States
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We stayed here over a week in March 2013 in a 2 bedroom villa as part of a timeshare. The villas are very modern, comfortable for 4 adults, and we had a gorgeous view from the 4th floor. We used the hot tub 2 nights, but there was too much to do on the island to hang around the pool and rest of the property. We did ask about using the neighboring Beach Club pool (which is larger) and was told it was a $50 fee per person per day. I would absolutely stay here again, however my complaint is with the mowing of the golf course early in the morning. 4 of the 5 mornings we were there, the mowing started between 5:30/6am. We slept with the windows open to enjoy the trade winds and sound of the ocean, but had to get up and close them once the mowing started. We also had a problem with the internet that stopped working which we reported to the front desk but no one came to check on it that I know of.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

This is our family's first time to visit Kauai, HI. My brother-in-law booked this property because there were 10 of us traveling Kauai. When we first arrived at the property, our GPS indicated that we have arrived but we couldn't find the property. It turns out the property consists of Marriott Beach Resorts and Spa, the Golf Course and the Marriott's Kauai Lagoon. It's a very HUGE property indeed. After asking the valet at the Beach Resort, he directed us to continue to follow the road until it ends and sure enough, we found the place. Our first impression of Marriott Kauai Lagoon was a typical Courtyard by Marriott or Residences by Marriott. However, after we checked in, to my surprise....it's more like the Ritz Carlton Residences. My bro-in-law reserved the three bedroom villa and it was very spacious for a family of 10. They have high quality furnitures, well equipped kitchen, LCD TV in all three bedrooms, all rooms have its own bath or full bath, all king beds, spacious closet, two out of the three bedrooms have a GREAT VIEW of the ocean/beach/mountain. WONDERFUL terrace with plenty of seatings for dining out in the terrace or for just lounging on the terrace. AMAZING view from the terrace. One day we even saw a cruise ship disembarking the nearby port. The villa is also equipped with laundry room. Had we knew it earlier, we wouldn't have packed so many clothing!

The facility at Kauai Lagoon also included a well equipped gym and activity room next to the gym. The gym has a GREAT view as well and the equipments were well maintained and most looked brand new. The activity room is equipped with a Wii System, a projector and screen, with atleast 6 speakers, fooseball table, sectional sofas and a desktop computer. Also, they have a kid friendly pool and barbecue areas in which their staff cleans it every day!

All in all this facility is a great facility, well maintained and beautiful. I would definitely come back to this facility if we plan to visit Kauai again. Don't be fooled by the close proximity to Lihue Airport. You don't hear the jet at all when staying at this resort. You do hear the helicopters buzzing by every few minutes but all those are silenced by the wonderful property, AMAZING views and great company!

Thanks Marriott Kauai Lagoons for a very pleasant vacation!! To all the staffs...a job well done for keeping the facility as beautiful as it is and being friendly and pleasant at the same time!!!

Room Tip: Building B has a great view of the ocean, golf course and the pool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucknow, Uttar Pradesh, India
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

My experience at Marriott's Kauai lagoons was great. I am very happy with them. THey have such a beautiful views. I love the ocean breeze and I love http://kauaiphotographer.com for taking such nice photographs for me.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lihue
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013 via mobile

I'm a local who had the opportunity to stay here in October 2012. It was an absolutely beautiful property and the views were amazing. This place is one of the best places I've had the opportunity to stay on the island. It's a new facility but very spacious and modern. We stayed in a 3 bedroom unit. The pool is small and you don't have automatic access to the Kauai Marriott pool. You have to pay an additional fee for the pass. Not a lot of amenities but if you're looking for somewhere the views are breathtaking, the landscaping is beautiful and rooms that are clean, lavish and modern, this is the place to go.

The one downfall was the check out was early. I believe it was 10:00 and because it was a busy weekend and of course t takes a while to clean a 3 bedroom unit. they were only able to accommodate a 1 hour extension which helped us out.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

I was extremely impressed by the upscale rooms and beautiful views. The lanai is huge and features a full-length glass sliding door that opens the living room and kitchen up to the ocean breeze. This is definitely a very peaceful and relaxing location. The pool area was nice, but did not have as much to offer the children as some of the other Marriott Vacation clubs. In order to access the beach, one must take the shuttle (very convenient and frequent) to the Marriott resort. I heard that sometime very soon they are adding stand-up paddle boarding and kayaking options to the lagoon. I can't wait to go back again.

Room Tip: The airport shuttle is very convenient. If you don't plan to leave the property much, just rent...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
176 helpful votes 176 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

The Marriott Kauai Lagoons on the south shore of Kauai, Hawaii is a beautiful place with great views of Nawiliwili Bay and the mountains beyond. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here in early November 2012. If I wanted to nitpick I guess I could complain about the resort being too close to the airport, not serving food and drinks poolside, a boarded-up building in the backyard, and so on. But none of those things affected our enjoyment of the place. Not one iota. Although Lihue Airport is nearby, not once were we disturbed by planes flying overhead. They flew over the bay, not over our heads.

In our backyard was a beautiful recreation building with a game room and a health club surrounded by tinted windows and with brand new exercise equipment, and nearby was a golf course overlooking Nawiliwili Bay and the Lihue Lighthouse. In our front yard was one of the most gorgeous views of an island paradise you could ever imagine. (Check the photos for yourself).

I actually preferred the Marriott Kauai Lagoons to the more crowded Marriott Kauai Beach Club which shares the same property. We were treated to a three-bedroom condo on the top floor of the Kauai Lagoons. It had all the modern conveniences, new furnishings and a balcony that covered the width of the living space. The balcony became an integral part of the condo when the glass doors were folded open, and they remained open most of the time.

I’ve been to many resorts courtesy of my brother’s time-share program with Marriott and I’ve never been disappointed. The Marriott Kauai Lagoons is no exception.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marriott's Kauai Lagoons? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Kauai Lagoons

Address: 3325 Holokawelu Way, Lihue, Kauai, HI 96766
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Lihue
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Lihue
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott's Kauai Lagoons 3.5*
Number of rooms: 356
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Marriott's Kauai Lagoons reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Kauai Lagoons Hotel Kauai
Marriott's Kauai Lagoons HI

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott's Kauai Lagoons, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.