We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely new timeshare” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott's Kauai Lagoons

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Marriott's Kauai Lagoons to your Saves list
Marriott's Kauai Lagoons
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3325 Holokawelu Way, Lihue, Kauai, HI 96766   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Lihue
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Lovely new timeshare”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

if you have a chance to stay here, Go! this is a new timeshare property that is still being built, but the villas are high end and lovely. Kitchens have a SubZero refrigerator and and beautifully built. Bathrooms are high end, beds super comfy. If you love golf, the course looks fabulous!

Room Tip: High floor gives the best view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    54
    15
    7
    1
See reviews for
86
58
1
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

The Marriott Lagoons are located in Lihue and are associated with the Kauai Marriot Beach Resort located down the street. We stayed in a 2 bedroom villa that was around 2000 square feet. It was amazing! The bedrooms are seperated and each have their own bathroom. There is a full kitchen with dishwasher and all appliances. There was a full sized dinner table with a living area containing a couch and chairs. The room even contained a washer and dryer. All the rooms over look the grounds and face the ocean, in the early mornings you can see the cruise ships pulling into harbor. The pool is great and has a slide for entertainment. The pool was never overly busy or loud. The staff were overly friendly and willing to assist with all our needs.

You are also able to use the Kauai Marriott's pool down the road. There is a shuttle running 24 hours/day between the two hotels for your convience. The Lagoon does not have any restaurants so you will need to venture down to the other Marriott, were I would recommend some Hula Pie from Duke's or head to town. We went to Poipu almost every evening for drinks on the beach at sunset and then to dinner.

At the Kauai Marriott there are surfing lessons, stand up paddle boarding lessons and everything else you could want. But I will admitt it was nice to head back to the Lagoon where is was quiter and not so much hustle happening.

There are beautiful walking and running paths along the whole resort to make exercising easy and enjoyable. It is very nice to get out for an early morning run and listen to the birds. There is also a very nice golf course attached to the resort.

The helicopter tours do run over the resort about ever 15 min for the majority of the day, but I can honestly say that even when I was at the pool I drowned out the noise.

Lihue is on the rainer side of the island so remember if the weather is overcast and a little chilly head over to Poipu and the weather is probably a lot warmer!!

Enjoy paradise!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Loved the property. Just do not go if you expect pool service or any on property food establishments, there are none. We enjoyed the pool & went to the are grocery store to purchase a cooler & beverages to bring out to the pool. Very nice rooms & amenities. There is a shuttle to the Marriott property close by which has restaurants. I think there is a fee to use the pool there though.

Room Tip: Chose building 3, if you want to be close to the pool. Or building 1 if you want to be close to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san diego
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Kaui Lagoons is just minutes from the airport. Our 2 bedroom condo was outstanding. We had a beautiful kitchen, living room, dining room, patio , laundry room as well as 2 bedrooms with kingsize beds and baths.Although there is no beach on the property and the pool is not large it is only 0.9mile to the Marriott hotel. It is a great walk or you can take the free shuttle between properties.It's central location allowed us to go the the north shore one day and to Poipu the next.
We turned out rental car in the night before our flight so it was easy and stress free before our
flight.All units are 2 bedroom so if you have more than 2 people in your party it costs less than
2 hotel rooms. We go to Costco on arrival and stock up on water, cheese,crackers,fruit and wine
(of course) . Then we eat lunch out and enjoy our accomodations the rest of the day.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, CA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

The rooms are nicely appointed and lots of room. Views can be beautiful depending on your room location. Ours was a partial ocean/bay/unfinished vacant lot. The hotel is located right next to the airport. Check a satelite view of the property. I thought how bad could it be? If you like planes taking off and landing you will love it. My wife and I checked out after one night and went to the Marriot next door. I should have known better to book this location being a Marriott Platinum. I thought how bad could it be? No wonder Ritz Carlton dumped it. The pool area is nothing short of disapointing and no direct beach access. My first trip to Kauai and it is a wonderful island with lots of great beaches and properties (after driving around and seeing other properties on the north and south sides). This hotel and beach isn't one of them. Ten other trips to Hawaii to compare it to. The staff was very friendly however. I was on points and was limited on the Marriott choices for the time period I had to go on vacation. I love Marriott properties (190 nights this year so far) so this was a hard review for me to write. Disapointed in the location is the bottom line for us. Others like it but we won't go back.

Room Tip: Ocean view as far away from the airport as possible and on a high floor if you can get it. If you ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwood Village, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Uncrowded, luxury 2-bedroom with lanai doors that open completely wall-to-wall. Fans in every room, with air conditioning as well. Our ground floor had patio privacy because of the huge foliage, so you may wish to ask. Our unit was 1114. The golf course is incredibly beautiful and affordable. 3 nine hole courses uncrowded and unforgiving! Suggest rental car to enjoy the island...and get groceries from Costco or Walmart or Papayas Market in Kapaa or local fruit stands. We took the shuttle which is on demand to the Marriott below to enjoy Duke's Restaurant for lunch and dinner. Open air dining with terrific fresh catch and sashimi! Reserve the ocean front tables in advance if that's your wish. There are other restaurants and shops to walk to as well. Suggest buying beach chairs at Costco or Walmart to enjoy the beach there or elsewhere, as the Marriott Beach Club Hotel chairs are reserved for their guests and I believe the charge is $50 per person a day to enjoy their pool and beach chairs. Beach towels are in each of the Lagoons rooms. The pool at the Lagoons is fabulous, with sun and shade available! They have barbecue grills that are meticulously cleaned every morning with picnic tables and umbrellas overlooking the bay. Forgot to mention amazing bed linens and soaking tub in the master! I'll include some photos, and just a note. The construction seen in the photo is a Ritz property that was started in 2008 and is dormant since the economy tanked. It's going to be taken down due to deterioration...sad...a bit of an eyesore, yet hard to complain when everything else is so beautiful!

Room Tip: Glass balcony protection provides unabstucted views at all 4 levels. We loved the ground floor, but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Niguel, California
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Marriott's Kauai Lagoons Kalanipu'u Villas are the top of the line for Marriott time-share villas. Originally constructed as Ritz-Carlton Residences, the spacious villas are outfitted with world class appliances [Zero King refrig/freezer, Fisher Paykel d/w, etc.], and the views from our ocean front unit were to-die-for. The staff is incredibly friendly and helpful. The recently opened Activity Center includes a large, well outfitted fitness center. The only drawback–no on-property dining.

Room Tip: Dig into your pockets and pay up for an Ocean View. Incredibly beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marriott's Kauai Lagoons? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Kauai Lagoons

Address: 3325 Holokawelu Way, Lihue, Kauai, HI 96766
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Lihue
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Lihue
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott's Kauai Lagoons 3.5*
Number of rooms: 356
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Marriott's Kauai Lagoons reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Kauai Lagoons Hotel Kauai
Marriott's Kauai Lagoons HI

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott's Kauai Lagoons, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.