We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great property, bad murphy bed” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott's Kaua'i Beach Club

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Marriott's Kaua'i Beach Club to your Saves list
Marriott's Kaua'i Beach Club
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3610 Rice Street, Kalapaki Beach, Lihue, Kauai, HI   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Rewards Members Save 20%
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Lihue
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Tacoma, Washington
1 review
“Great property, bad murphy bed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

This property is one of the gems of the island. The grounds are fantastic, the restaurants are wonderful, and the the staff is helpful. I do have a quibble. This property has been converted for timeshare, and is primarily for that purpose. The murphy bed in our room was by far, the worst sleeping experience I have ever had outside of camping trips where I slept on the ground. It was so bed, my wife and I went to Wal-Mart, and bought and queen size inflatable air mattress to put on top of the bed just so we could get some sleep. That added about $20.00 a night to the cost of the room. At $2500 for a week, this is a good deal, but I did expect that I could use the the bed, as that IS what the room is for.....sleeping.

Room Tip: You won't be disappointed in this property, just the murphy beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

446 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    210
    133
    62
    24
    17
See reviews for
121
227
13
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

My sincere thanks to Bill Countryman and his staff for creating a warm hospitable stay on our very special occasion. The little touches were much appreciated, and we will be returning soon to further enjoy the amenities and bright smiles.
Mahalo,
Patrick Dolan

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evansville, Wyoming
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

Very beautiful gardens all around this property. A beautiful koi pond with lots of large koi. A nene and a swan that will eat out of your hand. A very large pool that is right next to the ocean. This is truely a slice of heaven. This is my second time staying here and I will be back in the future.

Stayed November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

Needed some real time off just to veg out and this certainly was the place. From the desk people the to rest of the staff they couldn't do more for us. This was our 40th anniversary and a bottle of champagne and strawberries were waiting in our room. Nice touch :) Rooms were typical Marriott. We did have them bring up a microwave (our unit was not a timeshare) so we made breakfast and the frig held enough for snacks as well. When you get there, ask the bell captain if anyone left any beach chairs. If you plan on touring other beaches (the one there is a protected harbor...no waves be great for other activities) you'll want to bring a chair. People go to K-mart, buy the chairs and leave them for others. We bought an umbrella and left that for others. If you're in the building by the pool, there is a "public" parking lot right behind the building. Tight parking but if you get a stop it will save on the 10 minute walk to the other main lot. In the morning they have an a'la' carte set-up at the upstairs bar overlooking the pool. Best deal is buy the $32/32 oz cup for coffee. You get free refills all week...coffee, tea and soft drinks at the ALC and all other bars all day. At $5.50 for a 16 oz cup of coffee and $3 for a soda...do the math. We actually had appetizers at the bar for dinner if we were at the hotel and it was delicious and more than filling. There are several nice eateries next to the hotel or a short ride away. If you are touring, go to Bubba's Burgers...there are three and they are all great. If you are playing golf, the course at the hotel is fabulous but there are also several in the area at 1/3 the price. Call the hotel to make tee times. Spa services are very good but the spa has no usual stuff like a steam and sauna. The gym which is not attached to the spa is better then most including a separate exercise and yoga room. Good equipment. Don't be concerned that the property is near the airport. Never saw or heard a plane plus it's only a 3 minute drive. Many prefer Princeville to the north or Pop'oi to the south but this is right in the middle so going to explore either is convenient. Definitely would consider a return.

Room Tip: If you book a pool room view, be sure it is above the 6th floor (which is actually the 20th floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, Washington
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013 via mobile

We own a time share here and just stayed the week. The remodel has done wonders for the rooms, and although they are still working on the rooms it has few side affects. The Marriott restaurant has improved a lot as they are offering more choices through their menu. The grounds are as always nice, and the pool is outstanding. The service of the folks who work there is impeccable.

Thanks for a great stay

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overland Park, Kansas
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

We used the resort as a hotel. The activities desk helped us with choosing the right excursions off property. We enjoyed the beautiful landscaping throughout the resort. The pool is the largest I have ever seen and is shaped in such a way that you felt like the pool was your own. The beach was wonderful and there are plenty of restaurants in walking distance.

It was a great way to stay in Kauai.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

I've stayed at this resort 3x -- 1x in the timeshare, 2x in hotel. The rooms come in various sizes. The suites are very nice with 1-2 bedrooms, and/or a wallbed (Murphy bed) in the living room. All beds, including the wallbed, are very comfortable. Kitchenette is small, with sink, microwave, small fridge, and dishwasher. No stove/oven. However there are plenty of excellent restaurants both at the resort or nearby. Everything is in walking distance. Hotel also provides a free shuttle to airport, which is just a few miles away (but there is no noise from planes, despite nearness of airport). Resort is located right on ocean, with beautiful views, nice beach, and nicely landscaped gardens. Resort pool is nice size, circular, not too deep, and has numerous (4?) hot tubs.
Service: When I booked my reservation online, I was asked my room preference. This was followed up with a personal email from a Marriott rep, confirming my request. They gave me exactly what I requested. And when I arrived on site, this representative contacted me twice more to confirm my satisfaction and offer any additional assistance. Nice customer service touch, Marriott! Keep it up!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marriott's Kaua'i Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Kaua'i Beach Club

Address: 3610 Rice Street, Kalapaki Beach, Lihue, Kauai, HI
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Lihue
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Lihue
#3 Family Hotel in Lihue
#4 Romantic Hotel in Lihue
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott's Kaua'i Beach Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 464
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Marriott, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Marriott's Kaua'i Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Kaua`i Beach Club Hotel Lihue
Marriott's Kaua'i Beach Club Kauai, HI

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott's Kaua'i Beach Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.