We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott's Kaua'i Beach Club

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Marriott's Kaua'i Beach Club to your Saves list
Marriott's Kaua'i Beach Club
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3610 Rice Street, Kalapaki Beach, Lihue, Kauai, HI   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Lihue
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
“Nice place!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

We stayed here and the hotel and its staff as very welcoming and friendly. The room was really clean and nice. The swimming pool and surrounding areas were really green and beautiful. Our stay here was pleasant, quiet and very relaxing. Recommend this place!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

422 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    199
    124
    58
    24
    17
See reviews for
116
215
12
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Windsor, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

We have stayed here three times and always enjoy our stay. It has everything we want with the pool, rooms, beach, and restaurants. We always come away relaxed and refreshed. We are timeshare and vacation owners of the two bedroom ocean view units. We like that it is not just a condo place but also a resort with pool service and restaurants. We have always received courteous service and they have always made every attempt to accommodate our requests. I was there in September with my sister, and will return again next week with my family.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Mirada
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

This was the second time for me and my wife to spend a week here. We had traded our time share and were given a one bedroom on the second floor. The room was spacious and very clean and the king sized bed was comfortable. The room was a little dated with popcorn ceilings, and no fan in the bedroom so we had to run the air conditioner all night. The couch in the front room was sagging and uncomfortable. We had two bathrooms , a microwave and small refrigerator enough to have breakfast on some mornings. Costco is close by and so we picked up some water and other essentials. The pool was great and the beachfront was beautiful to sit watch the waves in the evening while dining at Dukes Restaurant which we enjoyed. The resort is close to all locations on Kauai which meant that we had to rent a car to get around.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

We stayed at two hotels on Kauai, with this as the first one. I think we booked two places to stay at just in case we were disappointed with one, never having been to Kauai, hoping it unlikely both would disappoint.

Lihue is one of the main population areas on the island. It has the port and airport. Neither has enough traffic to be of any concern. Before staying here, we were cautious about that, given what airports could be like on the mainland. After staying here, we would return. Often if we could afford it. Over the course of 5 days I think we watched one cargo ship and one cruise ship. And more of the air traffic is tourist helicopter flights than planes.

Room looked over the pool and to the beach beyond it. The only separation between the hotel and the beach is a paved sidewalk, so it was very convenient to swim in the ocean and then in the pool for a change of pace. The beach has a sandy bottom, so sandals are optional. (On more rugged beaches in HI you'll want something to protect your feet even in the water.)

Room was not large, but was large enough. The balcony was a good size, and nice place to sit and look out. We never used the TV -- we either looked out from the room, swam in the water, had meals, or drove to other spots on the island.

Service at the hotel was just right. Attentive, but not intrusive.

Food at the hotel was great. The breakfast buffet always had good options, well cooked. (The omlet chef deserves a share of the tips.) Lunch at a place that opened poolside mid-day was also good. Dinner was good as well.

If you sign up for the on-site luau, expect a good fixed-configuration fixed-price meal. Don't expect the meal portion to really be like a real luau, just a nice decision-free meal. Or skip the hotel's restaurant that night and try something different.

The on-site entertainment portion of the luau is similar. Pleasant with good performers, but not an extended picnic on the beach. (It is in a courtyard.) Some years ago we went to a luau on another island via a bus to/from the hotel. We still remember the drunks puking in the back, which is why we went this route this time.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean City, Maryland
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

I stayed here for 47 days spanning April and May. The drive onto the grounds takes you down a short, winding road through shade trees. The calming feeling is a little jarred though when you have to park ... a nightmare. The lot is always crowded and the spots are for compact sized cars unless you let the valet park for you (an entire section of the parking lot is for valet parking only).

There are lots of pillars and stone when you walk up, followed by an escalator ride down two floors to the lobby and courtyard area. The lobby has no ramp to make it easy on you when you check-in, and I heard quite a few people remarking about it.The courtyard is big with a koi pond, lush greenery, and winding pathways. Around the courtyard are shops and galleries. Check-in and every other experience I had with staff was easy and comfortable ... all quickly asked what they could ever do to make my stay more pleasant.

My room was in the Kilohana Tower (a one bedroom villa). Two elevators are centrally located. One of them always smelled sour and musty. The hallways have a counter/cabinet type thing running their length. These have nothing on them and restrict the width of the hallway by half. The furnishings in the rooms are standard Marriott furnishings. The king bed was comfortable. The bedroom has a micro-fridge and the kitchen area only has a micro-fridge and microwave ("kitchen" is a little misleading). The rooms were clean, though the furnishings and draperies were in some disrepair due to wear and had not been replaced. The view from the room is outstanding ... looking out over the beach and the bay with mountains in the background.

I tried two of the restaurants ... Duke's and Kukui's. For the first time in six years I was impressed with the quality of the food at Duke's. Let me say, it was really good (and this is coming from someone who has blasted them in reviews in the past). Kukui's is a nice sit down restaurant poolside. Their Friday night buffet is quite popular and costs $50.00. It is good, though not worth the price in my opinion and I tried it twice. The morning buffet costs $25.00 and is better than the one on Friday night. My favorite though is the Sunday morning buffet. At a price of $32.00 it is still a pretty good deal and the offerings are varied and tasty. For an additional $8.00 you can also get free-flowing champagne.

Okay, since you've read this far let's now sum things up with the Pros and the Cons. PROS 1) A beautiful entrance way, lobby, grounds, pool, and beach 2) Large flat screen TVs in the rooms 3) Friendly, attentive staff ... no ... AMAZING staff 4) The Sunday morning brunch
CONS 1) Somewhat dated hallways in the building 2) State of the furnishings and draperies in the villas (and I stayed in two of them during the 47 days I was there) 3) The prices of the food and drinks overall 4) Guest noise. The walls do very little in the way of restricting any noise from other guests in other rooms and in the hallways

Would I stay here again? Yes, though for the price that you pay, it does fall a little short of being really, really good.

Room Tip: Stay away from the elevators if possible. The noise level is high.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

Well, we are seniors. But before I get to that part...it is a huge resort...we had an ocean view and that was awesome. Getting from the front door anywhere does not take disabilities into account...you do a lot of mileage getting around. And if you want to go for brunch or dinner at their restaurant then you have steps....Dukes and Portofino are long walks and steps too...but great food. The staff are all very pleasant throughout the resort. Oh yes only bathtubs no stall showers at least where we were.

Room Tip: As for the view that you want. There is a pool view too
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moorpark, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights at the Marriott Kauai Beach Club after going through our choices of Marriotts on the Kauai Island. I figured others might be interested in knowing our comparisons. It was an absolutely stunning location. We stayed in one of the 1 BR Villas with an oceanfront view that was absolutely breathtaking! We had a view overlooking the ocean, in this case I would actually recommend a lower level. We were on the 5th of 12 floors (which really meant it was the 3rd level and this was just perfect, because we feel asleep to the sound of the waves. If you were staying in the Marriott Resort, the rooms are on the other side of the pool so I would recommend a high room, as these are further away from the pool noise and with a better view of the ocean. Also for those debating between this and the Marriott Lagoons, the lagoons are right on the golf course, but they are off away from the beach. The villas up there at the Lagoons put the Beach Club to shame, but you are away from the pool and beach. Finally, the pool, it was absolutely amazing, biggest pool I think I've ever seeen and clean and at least in May, not overly crowded by the kiddies, great fun.

PROTIP: The drinks at the poolside bar are going to run you $9-10 a beer, or $13-15 for a mixed drink, and while not as delicious, you can buy beer, alcohol and snacks at the ABC store, at the shopping just down the walkway from Duke's.

In addition if you want to avoid paying a ton of money at the restaurants, there are several at a 5 minute walk at the Mall across the street. Good tasting too. Recommend the happy hour at Kalapaki Joe's from 3-6.

Room Tip: If in the Oceanfront suites, choose a lower floor room to get the sound of the waves as you're f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Marriott's Kaua'i Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Kaua'i Beach Club

Address: 3610 Rice Street, Kalapaki Beach, Lihue, Kauai, HI
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Lihue
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Lihue
#4 Family Hotel in Lihue
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott's Kaua'i Beach Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 464
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Booking.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Marriott's Kaua'i Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Kaua`i Beach Club Hotel Lihue
Marriott's Kaua'i Beach Club Kauai, HI

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott's Kaua'i Beach Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.