We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short Stay at a beautiful resort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott's Kaua'i Beach Club

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Marriott's Kaua'i Beach Club to your Saves list
Marriott's Kaua'i Beach Club
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3610 Rice Street, Kalapaki Beach, Lihue, Kauai, HI   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Rewards Members Save 20%
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Lihue
Certificate of Excellence 2014
VISTA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Short Stay at a beautiful resort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

This hotel is awesome, free shuttle to and from airport total lenght of trip 2 minutes... You can stay here and not need transportation! You can walk to several great places to eat.. Dukes, Feral Pig and others..

Room Tip: Oviously ocean view is preferred!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

443 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    208
    132
    62
    24
    17
See reviews for
120
227
12
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wilmington, Delaware
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013 via mobile

Fantastic resort. Beds were soft, service was impeccable, location perfect to see entire island. Food was very good. Prices were Hawaiian. All of the staff was fantastic. We will be back as soon as we can. Valet service was worth the extra $3 per day. Never had to wait.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
335 helpful votes 335 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

We traded our timeshare at Marriott Maui for this hotel and I will not recommend it.

On the plus side we were given a room that was ocean front, so it had a nice view. The beach in front of the hotel is rather tiny (comparing to Maui) and you can't snorkel there.

The landscape is beautiful, very impressive entrance with Koi pond but when we got to our room I was very disappointed with the size, furnishing and lack of amenities. The rooms like Maui Ocean club was renovated from regular hotel rooms, but unlike Maui it's rather small. A 1 bedroom may be OK for a couple with one young child but any higher occupancy results in a less than comfortable situation. The bed in the living area is a murphy bed, and there's not really any room for setting up a table for dining once the bed is down.

On top of it the furnishing was rather old and tired, and the sheer curtains had holes in them.

So if the expectation is a 2 regular hotel rooms (not very spacious at that), it's OK. But if the expectation is a timeshare, not so great.

On the plus side, for the first time visitor to Kauai, Lihue is a central jumping off point to either the north or the south. Just not many good entertainment or dining around Lihue. Next time I think I'll give the hotels at Poipu a try instead.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Full disclosure, we own a timeshare here but had never been prior to this visit. The short story is that we bought the timeshare second hand. We really enjoyed the location and the resort. The room was maybe not up to the size and standard that we normally expect, but the overall resort more than made up for that. We will definitely come back, vs just using this resort for trading. We loved Kauai! We really liked the overall resort, the beach is great for ocean activities including surfing, SUP and Body Surfing. A variety of restaurants within walking distance including Dukes. Excellent golf course right behind the resort also great for walking with excellent views. Good Fitness Club, beautiful wife enjoyed Yoga on the Beach. Lots of activities! Staff were friendly and helpful. You really should go here!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milpitas, California
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

My friend and I got a really great price on our room so I hate to complain; however, for those of you who won't get such a good deal...

I have read other reviews saying the hotel is dilapidated but I wouldn't go that far. It is an older hotel though. The grounds are beautiful, the pool is fantastic and the beach is amazing.

The poolside service - horrible. We even asked someone to check in on us and they still didn't. They would only check in on certain people - my friend and I tried to figure out their strategy but after a week, we couldn't manage to come up with a good reason why they only waited on certain people.

The food is overpriced like any hotel. We bought sandwich stuff, snacks and sodas when we got onto the island. I am glad we did because our sandwiches were much better than what they were serving.

The guys in the front of the hotel (do you still call them bell hops?) were fantastic and very helpful. The people at the front desk? Not so much.

I had a massage and facial here. I definitely would recommend the beach side massage. I don't normally fall asleep during a massage but between the sounds of the ocean and the massage, I was lulled to sleep.

Room Tip: We did the room with a kitchenette which was helpful so we didn't have to pay for their overpric...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

Room was a little dated, but comfortable and clean. Perfect oceanfront view. Within walking distance to some shops. Walk right next door to the Kalapaki Beach hut for fabulous, inexpensive breakfast with a killer view. Great pool and beautiful grounds. Can sit at the pool, beach and they have chairs on the grass in between. Staff is very friendly.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, UT
Top Contributor
398 reviews 398 reviews
76 hotel reviews
Reviews in 119 cities Reviews in 119 cities
384 helpful votes 384 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

First you need to know that Marriott's Kaua'i Beach Club and the Marriott Kaua'i Hotel are the same place. I'm not sure how the rooms are listed as one or the other but they are all at the same location, with the same check in, same pool, same everything as far as I could see. If you check the address on Google Maps the 4 buildings surrounding the pool are the guest rooms.. There are two buildings that are parallel to the beach. We were give rooms in the one behind the pool, which was call ocean view, and it was beautiful. I am assuming that the other building that was very close to the beach is considered ocean front. This resort is built on a cliff. The front of the resort looks only about 6 floors tall, but you enter on the 5th floor. The "lower" floors are built down the cliff with great views of the beach. Not only is the hotel built on a cliff, it's also built on a hill. Up the hill from this resort is another Marriott resort call Marriott Lagoons. That resort is built on top of the hill and cliff. It has a small pool and no beach. This one is a much better choice. This was one of the first hotels, so it is in one of the best locations and has a lot of "grounds". Our "room" was actually 2 adjoining former hotel rooms. The furnishings were new and in good condition. One room had a full bathroom, bedroom area, small eating table with chairs, good sized flat screen TV, and a refrigerator. The other room had a full bathroom, kitchen area with microwave, refrigerator, dishes, etc, a small eating table with chairs, same size flat screen TV, sofa, and a wall bed behind the sofa (which we didn't use). It was a very nice accommodation. The pool is large and flower shaped. There is also a smaller pool to the side with a slide for children. There is a poolside grill with servers - the turkey sandwich for $11 is very good and large enough to share. They serve at the tables and also poolside and on the lawn by the beach. There is a strip of lawn with palm trees between the pool and the beach which has several lounges on it. The lawn area is full on small hills so not all the ground is suitable to place a lounge on. They have a very nice view of the beach and the ocean. The beach is long and wide with carmel colored sand. The resort sits on a fairly large bay. On one end of the beach the waves come in, so they surf there, but the other end is quite calm so is great for paddle boarding and body surfing. They have a few volley ball nets set up also for those that want to indulge. The harbor is a short distance away on the other side of a breakwater. Cruise shops come and go often. There are two good sized self-parking lots just down the hill from the main entrance. The parking spaces are pretty narrow but the surprise for us was that there is no charge for guests. They do give you a placard to put on the dash. The lobby is past the bell hop area down the very long escalator and to the left. There is a beautiful garden area with a fish pond to the right. They have a few restaurants on property. We ate at Duke's several times - this is really two restaurants - the upstairs dining room and the downstairs barefoot bar (our favorite). There are also barbecues available to use on the grounds. I had never heard for Kalapaki beach, but it's really beautiful. This is a great resort. Well managed. Friendly staff. Kauai is our least favorite island, so we won't be back, but if you are going there, this is a very good choice.

Room Tip: We loved the view from the building behind the pool. Our rooms were #685 & 686
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marriott's Kaua'i Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Kaua'i Beach Club

Address: 3610 Rice Street, Kalapaki Beach, Lihue, Kauai, HI
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Lihue
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Lihue
#3 Family Hotel in Lihue
#4 Romantic Hotel in Lihue
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott's Kaua'i Beach Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 464
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Marriott, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Marriott's Kaua'i Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Kaua`i Beach Club Hotel Lihue
Marriott's Kaua'i Beach Club Kauai, HI

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott's Kaua'i Beach Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.