We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott's Kaua'i Beach Club

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Marriott's Kaua'i Beach Club to your Saves list
Marriott's Kaua'i Beach Club
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3610 Rice Street, Kalapaki Beach, Lihue, Kauai, HI   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Rewards Members Save 20%
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Lihue
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“Great hotel, location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

Room was a little dated, but comfortable and clean. Perfect oceanfront view. Within walking distance to some shops. Walk right next door to the Kalapaki Beach hut for fabulous, inexpensive breakfast with a killer view. Great pool and beautiful grounds. Can sit at the pool, beach and they have chairs on the grass in between. Staff is very friendly.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

448 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    211
    134
    62
    24
    17
See reviews for
121
228
13
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, UT
Top Contributor
408 reviews 408 reviews
77 hotel reviews
Reviews in 119 cities Reviews in 119 cities
390 helpful votes 390 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

First you need to know that Marriott's Kaua'i Beach Club and the Marriott Kaua'i Hotel are the same place. I'm not sure how the rooms are listed as one or the other but they are all at the same location, with the same check in, same pool, same everything as far as I could see. If you check the address on Google Maps the 4 buildings surrounding the pool are the guest rooms.. There are two buildings that are parallel to the beach. We were give rooms in the one behind the pool, which was call ocean view, and it was beautiful. I am assuming that the other building that was very close to the beach is considered ocean front. This resort is built on a cliff. The front of the resort looks only about 6 floors tall, but you enter on the 5th floor. The "lower" floors are built down the cliff with great views of the beach. Not only is the hotel built on a cliff, it's also built on a hill. Up the hill from this resort is another Marriott resort call Marriott Lagoons. That resort is built on top of the hill and cliff. It has a small pool and no beach. This one is a much better choice. This was one of the first hotels, so it is in one of the best locations and has a lot of "grounds". Our "room" was actually 2 adjoining former hotel rooms. The furnishings were new and in good condition. One room had a full bathroom, bedroom area, small eating table with chairs, good sized flat screen TV, and a refrigerator. The other room had a full bathroom, kitchen area with microwave, refrigerator, dishes, etc, a small eating table with chairs, same size flat screen TV, sofa, and a wall bed behind the sofa (which we didn't use). It was a very nice accommodation. The pool is large and flower shaped. There is also a smaller pool to the side with a slide for children. There is a poolside grill with servers - the turkey sandwich for $11 is very good and large enough to share. They serve at the tables and also poolside and on the lawn by the beach. There is a strip of lawn with palm trees between the pool and the beach which has several lounges on it. The lawn area is full on small hills so not all the ground is suitable to place a lounge on. They have a very nice view of the beach and the ocean. The beach is long and wide with carmel colored sand. The resort sits on a fairly large bay. On one end of the beach the waves come in, so they surf there, but the other end is quite calm so is great for paddle boarding and body surfing. They have a few volley ball nets set up also for those that want to indulge. The harbor is a short distance away on the other side of a breakwater. Cruise shops come and go often. There are two good sized self-parking lots just down the hill from the main entrance. The parking spaces are pretty narrow but the surprise for us was that there is no charge for guests. They do give you a placard to put on the dash. The lobby is past the bell hop area down the very long escalator and to the left. There is a beautiful garden area with a fish pond to the right. They have a few restaurants on property. We ate at Duke's several times - this is really two restaurants - the upstairs dining room and the downstairs barefoot bar (our favorite). There are also barbecues available to use on the grounds. I had never heard for Kalapaki beach, but it's really beautiful. This is a great resort. Well managed. Friendly staff. Kauai is our least favorite island, so we won't be back, but if you are going there, this is a very good choice.

Room Tip: We loved the view from the building behind the pool. Our rooms were #685 & 686
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver, BC
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

This resort is so grand - big columns and huge gardens. It's really amazing. The rooms are what you would expect from a marriott. All come with a mini fridge. Rent surfboards right on the beach. Not a good beach for snorkelling, too murky. Dukes was great, went there quite a few evenings. Apparently it was full to capacity when we were there, but it did not feel this way at all because there is so much property for everyone to spread out I guess. Never felt to busy. Very quiet. We drove up to Princeville to see if we would want to stay up there next time. Nope. You can't beat the short drive from airport and beach right out front. Definitely rent a car though, well in advance if you can because there is lots to explore on this island.

Room Tip: Ask for a large balcony - some our very narrow.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, OR
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

We recently spent a couple of nights at the Marriott Kauai Beach Club in Lihue and were pleased with our choice of hotel. It has a great location right on Kalapaki Beach, a beautiful pool area, and several restaurant options all with in walking distance.
The room itself was a garden view lock-off (meaning it was part of a larger unit that could include this room if needed). It was a sufficient room for the two nights that we were there, nothing spectacular, but we did not spend much time in the room anyway. A smaller bathroom area and a small furnished balcony were also included.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Marriott Kauai Beach Club is one of the best resorts we've stayed at. We loved so many things about this resort - the location, the views, the beach, the pool, the restaurants, the spa and the service. Note that the Marriott Kauai Beach Club is part of the same property as the Marriott Kauai Resort and shares all amenities including the pool as well as the beach.

The resort location is convenient, fantastic and special. It's located on the east side, on Kalapaki Bay. Kalapaki is just a couple of miles from Lihue airport. Kalapaki must be the best kept secret in Kauai. It is spectacular, has a lot to offer and yet it's always serene and never crowded like Poipu on the south side. Even though its close to the airport and close to the major highway, the location is tucked away among hills and mountains. Kalapaki bay has a long, sandy beach, with a cliff on one side and mountains on the other. The resort is directly on the beach. Just the view of the bay, the beach and the mountains makes this resort a great place to stay.

The bay has a quite side and a surf side allowing for all kinds of fun water activities - swimming, snorkeling, surfing, paddle board. A surf shop on the beach provides lessons and rentals. Or, you could just take it easy, relax on the beach and take in the sun and the view. Tip: the resort spa offers excellent massage treatments on the beach,

In addition to the wonderful beach and the bay, the resort also has a picturesque swimming pool. It's a large swimming pool, surrounded by beautiful landscaping, a center island and five jacuzzi hot tubs. The pool-side grill serves excellent snacks and drinks.

Staying at the Resort or the Beach Club is a choice. We chose Beach Club because it offered two room, two bathroom "villas". One room is the bedroom and the other a living room with a small kitchen area. The living room also features a queen-size wall bed. Both rooms have flat screen TVs and hi-speed wireless Internet. But the best thing about these rooms is the view. They all directly face the bay and the moutains.

The resort also has good restaurants. Duke's in particular is highly rated and very popular on Kauai. In addition there are several eating spots walking distance from the beach. Tip: try Splash Cafe for crepes and Mariachi for Mexican. Both are in Harbor Mall. Avoid the Thai place.

There is also some good 'touristy' shopping in Harbor Mall and close to the beach entrance. The resort has a decent gift shop and a well stocked convenience store that features shockingly reasonable prices and stays open unil 11 pm.

While one can easily spend days in and around the resort, remember there is much to see and do on Kauai. When you do decide to venture out, the resort location makes it relatively convenient to drive to the key spots in the north, south or the center of the island. You can rent a car at the airport, or from Enterprise on-site at the resort. 

The service throughout our stay was great. The staff is very friendly, helpful and courteous. 

Final tip: Marriott Kauai Lagoons is an adjoining property and golf club. Drive up to it, past the scenic golf courses and through the road towards the Marriott residences. Stop where the road dead-ends and step out for a spectacular view of the Lihue lighthouse and the Kalapaki Bay!

Room Tip: Rooms on level 4 or levels 7-12 have the best views. Palm  tree tops obstruct the view on levels 5 a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arvada, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

We are Marriott timeshare owners and have stayed at this property three times and will be back again this year. Over the years, we have stayed on many different parts of the Island. Each area has it's pros and cons. As other reviews have noted, if you are looking for granite countertops and stainless steel appliances this is not the right choice for you. Some of the things we like about this hotel is that it has a very central location to all parts of the island and is just a few minutes to the airport. My hubby loves the fact that it sits in a cove which makes stand-up paddle boarding and surfing easier because the waves are generally more calm. We also love the pool area along with both the beachside grill and the nicer restaurant which overlooks the pool area. We also enjoy walking around the many acres of property each morning. Unlike many of other reviewers, we don't mind the chickens and roosters...we figure that's what makes Kauai...well Kauai :o). This last time, we stayed in an ocean front parlor room which was very small, but met our needs with the small kitchen, etc. We loved the ocean view and sat on the balcony often. For whatever reason, we really enjoy watching the cruise ships coming in to dock and then departing...it's really pretty cool. We also like walking over to Kalapaki Joe's to watch our Denver Broncos play each Sunday. My in-laws also joined us on the trip and they love this place and can't wait to get back. The cons are that this is an older property and Lihue isn't known to be the the most glamorous part of the island...that would be Poipu and Princeville. Anyway, I guess it's all what you make of it...we're happy just to be in Hawaii!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Overall, based on our experience, this is a very nice resort. The pool and beach are great for kids and the resort is well run. The housekeeping, groundskeeping, and bell staff all are personable and helpful. Its clear, based on how beautiful it was kept that they care. The beds were fine and comfortable. We stayed in an ocean view room and had the screen door to the lanai open the entire stay (high 60's to low 80's during our stay). It was great to fall asleep listening to the crashing of the waves! The onsite food service staff were also very nice and attentive, although we did get an out of the way table at the poolside restaurant, we think due to dining with our two daughters, ages 8 and 10. There are also a lot of restaurant choices within walking distance of the resort. Dukes is great for a evening cocktail and dessert.

The hotel is a great location to use as a launching pad to visit the rest of the island, sort of located equidistant from the two ends of the highway that almost rings Kauai (the Na Pali coast prevents the highway from connecting on the northwest side of the island).

The extra activities from torch lighting ceremonies to Santa's visit on the beach via outrigger canoe made this a memorable visit for our family over the holidays. Our only complaint is the cycle on which the housekeeping staff "touched up" the rooms. We ran out of soaps and shampoos and had to ask a couple of times to get additional supplies.

Other than that, we had a really enjoyable visit and the Marriott Kauai Beach Club contributed greatly to our experience.

Room Tip: Absolutely get an ocean front or ocean view room. The mountain or garden view rooms seem lacking an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marriott's Kaua'i Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Kaua'i Beach Club

Address: 3610 Rice Street, Kalapaki Beach, Lihue, Kauai, HI
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Lihue
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Lihue
#3 Family Hotel in Lihue
#4 Romantic Hotel in Lihue
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott's Kaua'i Beach Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 464
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Marriott, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Marriott's Kaua'i Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Kaua`i Beach Club Hotel Lihue
Marriott's Kaua'i Beach Club Kauai, HI

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott's Kaua'i Beach Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.