We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great show, don't go for the food” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Luau Kalamaku

Luau Kalamaku
3-2087 Kaumualii Highway, Lihue, Kauai, HI 96766
1-877-622-1780
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Visit Luau Kalamaku like an insider
$108*
and up
Attraction details
Dallas
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Great show, don't go for the food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

The luau show was very good, although the sound system was poorly set up and you couldn't understand the story being told. When we went to sit outside the pavilion, we could hear just fine, but inside was bad. The dancers were really great. The food, however was just a regular buffet with a few choices, but not very good. There was no beach, no burying of a pig, or digging him up, just a small ceremony where they brought in something covered up that could have been a pig.
Quite disappointing and very expensive for crummy food and a show.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

603 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    290
    204
    60
    36
    13
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brea, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Show good food fair”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

We really liked the location of this luau. We knew most luaus are a little tacky, but this one is held on an old sugar plantation, very pretty. You get to tour the mansion. The show was very nice and tasteful, excellent hula and fire dancers. The food however was only fair. Especially for the money. Plus it was soooo hot in the tent thing we were roasting! Some ceiling fans would have done wonders!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashford, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Night of great entertainment”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

First visit to Kauai and this is a must see. Truly a well prepared show. From the wait staff to the over the top entertainers, it's pure Hawaii. Glad we went and would do it again. Plenty of food ,good too, and plenty to drink.
The fire dancers will have you on the edge of your seat.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Show is wonderful, food is not”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

I would highly recommend the ticket only option of this Luau. The food was not consistent in quality. Some dishes were good, others not so good. The pork should be skipped.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wyoming
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“True Hawaiian experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Short version: fun, authentic, not cheesy, lovely environment, terrific performers and most of all a wonderful glimpse into the beginnings of Kauai's first people. Not inexpensive, food is okay and you'll be in the company of lots of others, so be prepared. Go for the performers--they're worth it all.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Luau Kalamaku also viewed

 

Been to Luau Kalamaku? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Luau Kalamaku, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.